We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we stayed at the Charleston!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed at the Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

When planning our trip, we were deciding between the Sofitel and the Clarleston. (We had looked at many of the high end boutique hotels, but knew we wanted a good pool area (beaches in Cartagena proper are not that great and it's hot!) and the smaller hotels don't have much in the way of pools.) Because we would have had to change rooms at the Sofitel, we booked the Charleston Santa Teresa. So glad we did! Not only did we save a few dollars, but we loved our room, the pool, the service, and the location (which, in our mind, is probably the best in the city). We recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinghamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the service provided by our staff to be excellent. We hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future!

Best regards,
Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    128
    42
    21
    16
See reviews for
92
220
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Bay, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

we stopped into this hotel while in cartagena on a cruise at the advice from our daughter who had been here previously. great location at the edge of the old city. our visit was for one purpose, to try their coconut lemonade, which was out of this world good. worth a stop if you are in the old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, especially the coconut lemonade, we hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
Ana Maria Tello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent hotel. Beautiful, great location (easy walking distance to anywhere in the old city, even to the Castillo was only about 20 min), very nice large rooms. Breakfast in the first floor courtyard was excellent, service also very good. Lunch at the terrace pool is wonderful - cool water, and excellent view. The brochettes grilled right there were so good we had them every day. We had a couple requests after we checked in (an extra bathrobe and to fix the ipod player). We mentioned it to the front desk after breakfast, and shortly after we got back to our room, housekeeping showed up with the robe, followed by the man to fix (he just replaced) the ipod player. We were there during the New Year/3 Kings celebration, but our room (2nd floor) was quiet. Did not use the spa, so I cannot remark on that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaminMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, liked our breakfast in the courtyard and lunch at the terrace pool. We hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located right inside the "walled city". The entire area of El Centro was alive with people. There was live music in the streets but once you were on your room you couldn't hear it. Amazing old world architecture. Beautiful- big- clean rooms. My only issue is that the mattress could have been a little more comfortable. The staff did their best to assist me since my Spanish is not that good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, liked the architecture of the hotel and found the service provided by our staff to be excellent. We hope to see you in our hotel again and your suggestion will be taken into account for future room restyling.

Best regards,
Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in December. Cartagena is spectacular, the hotel truly amazing, great time of the year to visit. Perfect weather. Concierge was helpful in organizing daily activities. Rooftop pool was spectacular with panoramic views of the entire old city. We will definitely return next year. Wonderful experience, no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieD112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, specially the rooftop pool and found the service provided by our staff to be excellent. We hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future!

Best regards,
Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I normally wouldn't write such a tough review, but the hotel service for us was simply awful. Also, speaking to other guests from various parts of the world who were staying there, they had similarly bad experiences. It's depressing when hotel guests exchange negative stories poolside. Can we have an iron? NO. Can we put two tables together for lunch? NO. The long list goes on and on. Frankly it looks like the new owners dont care about their employees so why should they care about their guests?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mauricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are sorry to hear about your inconveniences, your opinions will be taken into account to improve our hotel services in order to offer a better stay for you and future guests.

Best Regards,

Ana Maria Tello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The property is gorgeous. Even the regular rooms are luxurious. The service from everybody was great - we barely lifted a finger during our stay. I received a fresh fruit juice upon arrival; I arrived early and my room wasn't ready yet, so they invited me to sit out on the rooftop terrace while I waited. They got us a table at La Vitrola and we easily arranged a trip to the beach with their travel agent downstairs. I went to their spa for a body treatment and they were great (again, more fresh fruit juice). There are some complaints in the reviews about not getting free water bottles, but I haven't stayed in any hotel in Colombia that gave free water. (Also, water is really cheap to buy.) This hotel at least had a bowl of fresh fruit waiting in the room. The rooftop and pool have the most amazing view; most of the time we were actually at the hotel, we would just go up to the roof.

Room Tip: we had room 304, facing the inner courtyard, did not hear any outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear about your experience at our hotel, in particular about your opinion on the service provided by our staff. We thank you for sharing your review and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Property: Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Address: Carrera 3 # 31-23 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing