We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is located inside the "walled city", the old part of Cartagena, Colombia, well located, beautiful rooms and its restaurant has a nice outdoor setting; but don't let this fool you, because the room prices are extremely high and watch out! they charged you even the supposedly complimentary water and the telephone calls you received (not just the ones you did). Ther wi-fi internet is just terrible, you got better wi-fi in some public squares in the city.
The breakfast buffet never changed, not bad, but it was expensive, didn't worth the money you paid for it.
And be careful when you're doing your check out, they try to charge a supposedly non-show night to another participant of the seminar, even when he probed he called to say he was going to get later.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the central patio and in the lower floors, you got better wi-fi signal (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    128
    42
    21
    16
See reviews for
92
220
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I were attracted to this restaurant because of its beautiful outdoor setting. But the remarkable ambiance is all this place has to offer. The food was the worst I had during my entire trip to Colombia - literally. The service was also awful. Our waiter practically ignored us to stand at attention at another table where the guests seemed to be ordering expensive champagne and were more nicely dressed than we were (still in our clothes from the day). I'm not sure if that was about the gratuity, or what, but we couldn't even get salt for our underwhelming food because of his complete inattentiveness. There are so many wonderful restaurants in this beautiful city, don't waste your time or money here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Food at the outdoor restaurant was bland and overpriced.

Tomato gazpacho tasted like a can of cold pizza sauce. Patacones were uninteresting and overly salted. Beef carpaccio was decent quality meat but parmesan flavoring unhelpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Gerente at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are sorry to hear about your inconveniences in the restaurant, your opinions will be taken into account to improve our hotel services in order to offer a better stay for you and future guests.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is an enchantment, full of colors, vibrations and spectacular services. It is positioned in a great part of town and it is clearly a 5 star hotel. I recommend the place without reservations.

Room Tip: I recommend superior rooms specially those in the Republican area of the hotel overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGJCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the service provided by our staff to be excellent. We hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

When planning our trip, we were deciding between the Sofitel and the Clarleston. (We had looked at many of the high end boutique hotels, but knew we wanted a good pool area (beaches in Cartagena proper are not that great and it's hot!) and the smaller hotels don't have much in the way of pools.) Because we would have had to change rooms at the Sofitel, we booked the Charleston Santa Teresa. So glad we did! Not only did we save a few dollars, but we loved our room, the pool, the service, and the location (which, in our mind, is probably the best in the city). We recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinghamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the service provided by our staff to be excellent. We hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future!

Best regards,
Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Bay, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

we stopped into this hotel while in cartagena on a cruise at the advice from our daughter who had been here previously. great location at the edge of the old city. our visit was for one purpose, to try their coconut lemonade, which was out of this world good. worth a stop if you are in the old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, especially the coconut lemonade, we hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
Ana Maria Tello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent hotel. Beautiful, great location (easy walking distance to anywhere in the old city, even to the Castillo was only about 20 min), very nice large rooms. Breakfast in the first floor courtyard was excellent, service also very good. Lunch at the terrace pool is wonderful - cool water, and excellent view. The brochettes grilled right there were so good we had them every day. We had a couple requests after we checked in (an extra bathrobe and to fix the ipod player). We mentioned it to the front desk after breakfast, and shortly after we got back to our room, housekeeping showed up with the robe, followed by the man to fix (he just replaced) the ipod player. We were there during the New Year/3 Kings celebration, but our room (2nd floor) was quiet. Did not use the spa, so I cannot remark on that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaminMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, liked our breakfast in the courtyard and lunch at the terrace pool. We hope to see you in our hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Property: Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Address: Carrera 3 # 31-23 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing