We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints! perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Decameron Cartagena
Ranked #88 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“no complaints! perfect vacation”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The only thing one may not like about this place is the fact you have to share dinner tables wioth other guests at dinner time. I was always hesitant and uncomfortable at first but every dinner shared wioth guests was very pleasant and i learned so much about other people. ALso, not many staff speak english so it def. helps to leanr basic spanish phrases. FOod was varied and excellent, a la carte restaurants were great and had a nice salad bar and dessert bar. nighttime entertainment was really professional dancers and live bands. Close cab ride/horse ride to the walled city. very safe we never felt scared walking (2 females)...hotel was clean, beach was so-so. the vendors can be overwhelming so it helps to blose your eyes so they don't try to sell you stuff. I pretended i was sleeping and was not bothered.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookienani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    597
    663
    178
    123
See reviews for
531
789
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The location of this property is excellent - right on the beach in Cartagena. But don't expect to relax on the beach, because the vendors are so annoying. They will pester you endlessly and sit right up next to you to try to sell anything from sunglasses, to massages, braids, and drinks. They will not take 'no' for an answer, regardless of whether you are polite or rude, they keep coming at you. Colombians don't seem to mind this, but there is no getting away from it unless you swim in the amazing water while someone watches your things. The hotel is busy and a bit chaotic in the lobby. Very few people speak English, so brush up on your Spanish. You will wait for an elevator, especially during daytime hours. Food is always available (but not very good, other than the fruit). Security is good. Staff is always helpful and genuinely responsive. Activties were fun, such as Salsa lessons, and beach volleyball. Rooms were breezy, bright, simple and clean, but the water dribbled from the shower head and the sink stayed plugged. There are very few outlets to charge electronics, other than one in the bathroom. Views from the top floors were stunning. Temperatures with the breeze were perfect. Internet? What internet? OK, so they have internet in the lobby if you get a code from the front desk (code is valid for only one hour). You are on vacation, so....

Room Tip: Remember you are on a different continent with different customs and expectations. Rooms up high ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just got back for Decameron Cartagena..its a city hotel..clean and with a great location..but thats it..nothing fancy and a bit outdated. The staff is very friendly and the food is ok for an all inclusive. We took several tours and used Guianza Express..they were great!!! Walter was very well informed and even knew which were the best places to take pictures!!! They have Nico which was chosen and the best guide in Cartagena last year.!! highly recommended

Room Tip: all rooms have a ocean view..try not choose a room in a high floor because its a torture using the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsaida20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Hotel was okay and the staff was friendly. The best breakfast or lunch you can get on pool restaurants buffet. There are three restaurants for dinner but if you are a vegeterian you have only one choice: Italian.
But best thing in this hotel is the night show (and the dancing boys) LOL!!!

Room Tip: Ask your room from upper floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we stayed here over easter only because we wanted to visit the Decameron in Isla Baru and they would only let us stay there if we booked an extra night. As we had to catch a flight early the next day our only option was to stay in Decameron Cartagena. We had heard bad comments about it from friends in Colombia so we werent expecting much. But it was worse than we expected.

We had no choice of restaurant and had to share a table, on arrival at 5pm we just wanted to get in our room. We have seen Cartagena and we had our flight in the morning but on arrival we had to wait 2 hours in an ugly room. Once a group was larger enough we were told about there tours and the hotel services including the fact that we needed to let them know before 6pm where we wanted to eat. rooms were dirty and the furniture was old.

There is no need to stay in a place like this in Cartagena. Why would you want to eat this poor bistro food when you have a choice of lovely restaurants and bars.

Cannot think of one good thing to say about this place... on the other hand the Decameron in Baru is lovely but this joint gives there whole chain a bad name.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MZ2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We spent two weeks in January 2012, the food was good. There are 4 restaurants for dinner wich we need to reserve the spot for any of them each day. For breakfast and lunch we don't have to. There is a variety of tropical fruits and food. The staff is frienly. Beautiful shows by the pool each night. Clean rooms. Good view of the water, if in a balcony. Vendors around the hotel n beach are pushy. Lots of steps to trip over. Barking dogs next building. No changing room, or wahsroom at the beach. There are washroom but no changing room at the pool. This hotel as well as the others in Bocagrande are in front of the beach, people have to cross a busy street and this was very anoying for us. If we forgot something, or to leave something, or go to the washroom we have to go back and cross the street again. Not fun. In December and January is a high season there, you need to share a table in the restaurants at dinner time. The culture in Colombia is very Service oriented, so you will find that they will serve for you, take care of your suitcases, serve you coffee etc.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room to get a good view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Este hotel esta ubicado en la zona de bocagrande.... relativamente cerca del centro historico. Un taxi te lleva en 5 minutos y el valor es aproximadamente de 3.5 dolares. El hotel es viejo pero alcance a ver que algunos cuartos estan siendo remodelados. La habitacion que me toco fue muy basica con un pequeno y antiguo televisor. El bano no es de lujo pero suple las necesidades basicas.
El lobby del hotel es bonito pero el personal que atiende carece de experiencia en atencion de clientes, personal muy joven (creo personalmente que pueden ser estudiantes de hoteleria), que casi nunca pueden tomar decisiones si usted tiene un problema.
El primer cuarto que me dieron no funcionaba el aire acondicionado y tuve que pedir que me cambiaran de cuarto... despues de un tiempo tratando de pedir autorizacion fui autorizado a cambiar de cuarto. El segundo cuarto que me dieron tampoco el aire acondicionado funcionaba bien pero opte por resignarme. La temporada que fui (noviembre) no es caliente y es soportable con un aire acondicionado a medio funcionar pero no se si en pleno verano esto seria soportable.
El internet no es gratis .... hay que comprar, dos horas cuesta aproximadamente 6 dolares. Solo es disponible en el lobby y es muy pero muy lento aunque la publicidad dice que disponen de una velocidad alta. Es imposible lograr comunicacion con cualquier servicio de telefonia via internet con el ancho de la banda que brindan. Si usted piensa mantenerse en contacto via internet, no es el hotel que debe escoger.
La comida es buena y le mezclan cosas tipicas colombianas pero si usted esta mas de cuatro dias comienza a ser repetitiva. El hotel dispone de tres restaurantes, uno italiano, uno de carnes y otro de mariscos pero la carta no se cambia. Hay posibilidad de ir a un restaurante en la ciudad antigua, este fue excelente pero solo puede hacerlo una sola vez por estadia.
El servicio no es bueno en los restaurantes, la mayoria de las veces usted tiene que rogar para que le sirvan alguna bebida.
Este hotel incluye las comidas, bebidas y licor. Esta parte es excelente, los que atienden el bar siempre estan atentos a darle el coctel o licor que usted pida.
Ofrecen un menu de 12 a 2 am pero este es igual todas las noches y realmente es muy basico.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GJLLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 155 in Cartagena
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#33 of 155 in Cartagena
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#20 of 155 in Cartagena
406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Cartagena

Property: Decameron Cartagena
Address: Carrera 1A # 10-10, Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Decameron Cartagena
Cartagena Decameron Hotel
Decameron Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing