We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Decameron Cartagena
Ranked #93 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I returned from Cartagena on March 27. I stayed at the Decameron and was very happy with the overall quality and service. I put a rating at 3 1/2. The hotel and environs were always clean and the rooms are comfortable, i was not too happy with the bed as it was very firm...ok it was hard but everything was always clean. Talking about sleep. If you want a quiet room go high. I was on the 4th floor and the road noise and entertainment at pool side was very loud, I moved up to the 10th floor and it was much better.

The great thing about this hotel is the staff and the proximity to the old city. Take the walking tour and get to know your way around then hop a taxi (6000 pesos or about $3 us bucks) and you are there. The Walled city is amazing, historic buildings and lots of little shops and bars and eating places all over. Cartagena is a beautiful city but beware, it is HOT and humid.

Let's talk food. The breakfast and lunch buffets (the only buffet meals) were always good, lots of fruits and a selection of main courses to suite most people. Fish was almost always offered as a choice along with the usual rice and beans which i happen to love. Dinner is a choice between 3 restaurants, two in the hotel and one in the old city. My preference was the sea food restaurant on the 23rd floor. Excellent food and a spectacular view with dinner. The Italian restaurant on the 3rd floor was also good but the fancy San Pedro (sp) down town is a must. Reservations must be made and the reservation desk opens from 11 am to 7 pm every day.

I can't say enough about the amazing staff, they are really friendly and always helpful. Most don't speak english and those that do are very limited but between my little spanish and their little english everything always worked out.

Here is a tip for you. Visit the jewellery store at the hotel and swing a deal with Soraya, she is a great help and most pieces can be custom made in a few days. She speaks english very well and is always willing to help out even outside of her duties at the store.

Another tip. Beware of the vendors on the beach, they can be very persistent. The hotel does not let them on the compound but they are plentiful just outside at every entrance and exit. These beach vendors can be a real pain but just be firm.

Overall i enjoyed the hotel, staff and city.

Room Tip: For lovers of quiet go high facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

While this hotel was average the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was fantastic, very helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and there was good selection of fruits and vegetables if you didn't care for the selection of meats offered. I'm not a fan of fried and sauces so more my problem than theirs.

Room Tip: When I arrived I was given a suite over the pool. I knew that this would not be good so I immediate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor02842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the all inclusive idea. You get 5 meals a day! The food was ok. All meals except dinner are buffet style. You have to reserve your dinner every day. We never had a chance to get the seafood dinning, it was always booked up! The staff were partly friendly. As of the resort, the room was clean and had a very nice view to the beach! A very nice experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Lildeepblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Rooms lower than the average, but the worst this is the food. You can dine just once in one decent restaurant called San Pedro, but for that, you have wake up 6 am. or so, go to the lobby and do a long line to get booking. (see picture, it reminds me free food places for homeless in Toronto). They don't accept the booking process online, nor by telephone, no. You have to line in person 6 am. and you can not to book for all in your room, it is a limited amount of bookings for person.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank carlospena513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

GREAT VALUE AS THE US DOLLAR CONTINUES TO Slowing but surely rise at the exchange bank. My wife and I and our 11 month old son just arrived from another great stay at the decameron cartagena Colombia.

nothing has changed only that their are many more tourists in cartagena and more people hustling their china goods to you. I personally love to support artists who build or draw their own art/items. Many of these people are selling their items/talent to the tourists in cartagena. its up to you to consider where you buy.

the beach across the hotel is indeed a pain when you are just wanting to lay on the sand. people would come from east and west south and north offering me and the family sunglasses. I stated no gracias amigo we have them on already. then came the water shoes,towels,fake Rolex,fake gshock,etc etc....you get the point. people are just trying to make a living.

the only service I love to accept on the beach is the massages from the older ladies. they tend to be thick and strong and so I prefer the massages. also their was one gentlemen who was from choco. he was a fortune teller/ evil eye bracelet amulet seller. before he even tried to sell you something,he would tell you to blow into his sun hat. I did and then so did my wife. after you blew in it he was able to see your future.im not a believer in this but this guy,told me things from the past first to get my attention then he told me about some projects I was working on, then he told me the final result on what would happen. same with my wife and we were thrilled. he then offered no obligation to buy a nice selection of homemade amulets for protection.

we opted for the bracelets ,and he stated to give him what I think was fair. being that we just got an awakening thru his vision I decided $10 bucks for 2 bracelets was cool, he was extremely humbled and happy.

he explained their are many talented people like him, but many will take advantage of people.

long story short.the predictions he made are coming reality as I sit down to write this article.

cartagena is great and full of culture. I just hope that next time I get to go cartagena ,it isn't spoiled by rowdy tourists ,looking for cheap thrills,drunk and high on all kind of substances.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cindy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Its a 3 star experience: hotel, room, food, drinks, atmosphere, amenities, staff, location, entertainment are all either old, dated or average or all three. Nothing was terrible or shocking or unpalatable. But equally nothing was great or amazing or memorable.

The hotel would do one thing badly and then one thing well and it was frustrating. For example the room furniture was very old and of poor quality....but the bed was comfortable and the cleanness was excellent; The (unlimited) food was only OK but the fruit was fresh and delicious; The hotel is a city hotel (just on a main street), not a destination or resort, so you can hear traffic passing constantly, the pool is small, there is no greenery and its just not very relaxing...but its close to the old city. You get the idea..

Ultimately Cartagena is just not (for us) worth spending a week in. The Old City is super-touristy but pretty and makes a nice romantic long weekend (no more than 3 days). But stay and eat in the old city itself and do a decent city tour. The rest of Cartagena, including where this hotel is located (Bocogrande), really has nothing to offer. The beaches are poor and the new city is 'ugly'. The trips and tours are really overrated and expensive. You have been to nicer beaches and nicer islands elsewhere. Don't bother going here. But you feel forced to do so as they is so little else on offer in Cartagena. The fact that the 'volcano' excursion was actually the most fun and value for money (its just a 20m tall man-made mud hill) says everything about this place. A week is too long period.

We had an OK vacation but we would not go to this hotel or this location again and would not recommend it to others. We would suggest the following instead: 3 days in Cartagena Old City. followed by moving to either one of national parks on this coast for trekking (or history or culture or beaches) or to Bogota and the south for the real Columbia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank acrossthepond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Crowded, noisy, no private beach. The beach acoss the street is not atractive and the peddlers and feet masseurs can became annoying. The food is good. the bar pianist is excellent.The shows are nothing special. To have a reservation for an a special reataurant you have to queue very early in the morning and even so sometimes there is no room. There are taxis to go to downtown.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 158 in Cartagena
738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#26 of 158 in Cartagena
2,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 158 in Cartagena
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
445 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 158 in Cartagena
1,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#81 of 158 in Cartagena
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Cartagena

Address: Carrera 1A # 10-10, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £151 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city of great conquests and conquistadors wait for you in the magical Colombian Caribbean. We open the doors to a strategic hotel tower located facing the renowned ‘Bocagrande’ beaches, overlooking the Cartagena Bay and combining the modern city with the majestic colonial city. Fun and enjoyment are guaranteed in a Caribbean and Cosmopolitan corner, loaded with history that will infuse you with its everyday tropical and “Garcia-Marquezian” reality. During the day you may visit the historical center with its colorful architecture, its monumental walls and narrow streets. Don’t forget to make a stop at the San Felipe de Barajas Castle, a huge building that has witnessed the heroic Colombian battles. Additionally, an intense night awaits with many emotions with music, shows and an exquisite gastronomical offer that you may enjoy at our hotel or booking a romantic evening at our Café de la Plaza de San Pedro restaurant, located in the best area of the walled city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Decameron Cartagena
Cartagena Decameron Hotel
Decameron Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing