We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must visit restaurant”
Review of Marea By Rausch

Marea By Rausch
Ranked #65 of 718 Restaurants in Cartagena
Price range: US$20 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Marea is in front of a canal and is right next to a convention center. We reserved the whole place for dinner since we were in a big group. We started with drinks outside on the terrace as soon as we arrived. It was a set menu with a couple of options and everything was excellent. I had the shrimp cocktail for appetizer and the salmon for main course. The place had a nice ambiance and classy decor. The only problem was that they only have one toilet for each, and it was inconvenient since we were in a big group.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank combat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccartagenaco, Public Relations Manager at Marea By Rausch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Deat combat66, thanks for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the Marea by Rausch experience and your comments help us to improve our daily service. We would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Cartagena.
- Team Marea by Rausch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Marea By Rausch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I was in Cartagena for business and there was a trade show at the convention center. Looking for a place to eat, I found this restaurant right at the same convention center.
Excellent food, excellent service and very nice ambiance

Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccartagenaco, Public Relations Manager at Marea By Rausch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Alex B, thanks for sharing your experience with the Marea by Rausch team, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and would like to welcome you again on your next visit to Cartagena.
- Team Marea by Rausch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We really enjoyed the food at this place, however it was a bit hard to locate. It is inside the convention center and requires you to enter and walk through a courtyard to the other side of the building to get to the restaurant. Once inside we had great service and a nice view of the bay. If you can, call ahead of time to get a spot outside (if it isn't too hot that day!) which has the best view. My favorite dish was the appetizer; an octopus carpaccio, which came with an olive sauce and was absolutely delicious. They also provide fresh bread (pretzel dough, honey/yogurt, wheat) which was great. I ordered the squid ink risotto which came with squid, octopus, and shrimp in it, It was excellent and the serving size was perfect. For dessert I had the key lime cheesecake which I felt was a bit small ( it was sort of a deconstructed style dessert with a key lime marshmallow and a small square of cheesecake along with it), but it tasted pretty good. Overall the meal was fantastic and I'd return again. The appetizer and main dish were mouth watering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccartagenaco, Public Relations Manager at Marea By Rausch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Camille M, thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the Marea by Rausch experience and your comments about the access and dessert size will help us to improve our daily service. We would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Cartagena.
- Team Marea by Rausch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

When we arrived to the restaurant the waiter was very attentive. We ordered drinks and looked at the great selection of food. They were out of lion fish but we ordered something else. The food was great! One of the top 5, in Cartagena. A little loud, bad acoustics. Totally recommended

Thank Jpjarami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccartagenaco, Public Relations Manager at Marea By Rausch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Jpjarami thanks for sharing your experience with the Marea by Rausch team, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and would like to welcome you again on your next visit to Cartagena.
- Team Marea by Rausch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The best thing about Marea is the atmosphere. It's set on the water with a beautiful view of the walled city across the way. The service was wonderful. That said, the food is quite typical for a fancy restaurant. There was nothing very impressive for a supposedly standout restaurant, and there was nothing distinctively Cartagenan about the cuisine. For the prices they charged, we expected a lot more, and we came away disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robotmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccartagenaco, Public Relations Manager at Marea By Rausch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Blaw10, thanks for sharing your experience with us, we are sorry you did not enjoyed the whole Marea by Rausch experience. Our chefs are aware of them and will make adjustments to improve our service. We would like to welcome you again before you leave Cartagena de Indias. - Team Marea by Rausch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marea By Rausch also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Marea By Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing