We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time in Cartagena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel stay was truly a pleasure. The staff attention to detail and overall service is second to none. My wife and I were impressed with how friendly and personable everyone was from the doormen to the housekeeping personnel.

The concierge staff- Camilo and Luis - took great care of us. They were incredibly attentive to making sure we enjoyed our stay.

We also had great time visiting the hotel's property in Baru with Nadia being a fabulous hostess. She has a great attitude coupled with a genuine customer service focus.

Great service and great staff make this a must stay hotel when you visit Cartagena.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtraveler1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure have you in our hotel, we hope you enjoy Cartagena, Casa San Agustin and Baru.
Thanks for those special comments to the staff

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were here for 2 nights and had high expectations.

PROS //
Incredible service + staff
Delicious food and room service
Rooms are exquisitely appointed, private and luxurious
Steps from the best restaurants and eateries
Flawless wifi in rooms and throughout hotel
Spectacular pool in the hotel's centre

CONS //
none. There is good reason why this is the number one hotel in this city. Hard to beat.

Highly recommend. Worth every penny.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank PassionDrivesSuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped

Nos llena de Satisfaccion escuchar sus Comentarios, Gracias por tomar de su tiempo para Escribirnos, Fue un placer haberlos tenido en nuestro hotel

Cordial Saludo

Gustavo Santoscoy
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived at Casa San Agustin and were promptly met with a cold wash cloth and a refreshing drink as we guided through the effortless check-in process. The staff showed us a map and pointed out a few places of interest and helped us make reservations for the next day at a white beach and for dinner that night. Given the fact we were going on a boat ride the next day they sent someone to go get me motion sickness medicine so I could enjoy my day which I thought was very nice.

We walked into the room, and after travelling as much as I have I was blown away by this room. Heated bathroom floors, the ceilings were, I don’t know how tall, a private plunge pool….it was beyond words.

The next day was not great as the beach and the company that took us was not on par. On finding this out, Nadia from the hotel took immediate action and prevented another couple from going to the same place that following day, and she took us to their other hotel Agua Baru. We went there as a get away and it was amazing. There was a wonderful beach the water was wonderful, the food was amazing. It was a very relaxing day and what we were looking for.

I will never be able to say enough good things about the staff at this hotel, true customer service. To a level most will never achieve. Sadly we were only able to book 2 days at the hotel and had to leave for the Hotel from Hell

Room Tip: 102...private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattPayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

We Appreciate your time to write us those Excellent comments, we are so happy that you enjoy our hotel and Agua Baru, Our Staff works hard to make our guest a magical stay

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My fiancé and I had a lovely 2 night stay at the casa San Augustin. The rooms were clean and well-furnished and we were somehow given a duplex with 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms and a very spacious living room complete with balcony although I think this Was because no one rented the 2nd bedroom and they left the door open for us (when we shut the door one night, we couldn't reopen, even with our key). Regardless, the one bedroom and living room provided plenty of space for the 2 of us. Aside from the room, there were many nice little touches that made us feel like our living quarters extended beyond just our suite. The 2nd floor lounge felt like a living room and featured espresso machine and bottles of brandy/scotch for guests to help themselves to. Also, there were pitchers of infused water at every turn--which was especially nice while we were there given the July heat, and the fact that much of the hotel is open to the air. The breakfast (included) was decent although not spectacular. The fruit was very fresh and abundant but otherwise just an average continental breakfast. Pool was very pretty although we did not go in. Supposedly the wall it sits under is an aqueduct from colonial times. 1 snafu on our trip-- the Afternoon concierge messed up a few of our meal reservations.. but this was fixed easily by our "butler" (aka AM concierge). Not a huge inconvenience, but make sure you confirm, all reservations, especially on weekend nights. All in all, had a great stay. We choose it again if we ever return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lizclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for all your comments, we appreciated your time to write us, It was a pleasure receive you in our hotel. we hope a soon return

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice classic style hotel right in the centre of a very touristy but interesting Cartagena. Good quality and service. An excellent place to stay. The rooms at the back are probably the best as it is quieter than the front. We stayed in Room 102 has its own small but nice private swimming pool. The concierge were very good. Very comfy bed, good linens, excellent quiet air-con, high speed internet and almost no neighbour noise creep. The restaurant gets good reports and the lunch we had was fine. I always have to comment on negatives as no hotel is ever absolutely perfect. In this hotel they are really very minor and only for constructive comment.
Maintenance and housekeeping could be better. Grim elevator music blasting around the pool all day. Why do nice hotels of this style have to ruin the sanctuary of a quiet courtyard? No in room tea/coffee making facility, which for me is a mortal sin!
The private tour the hotel organised is not for Europeans who know history. I found it very difficult not to correct the guide who was either incorrect, basic or more accustomed to herding sheep/tourists…including the Emerald shop....sorry, museum!
Overall certainly at the top end of all the small hotels I have stayed at and would return without hesitation. Almost reached an excellent mark but for the few small issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rotate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

We Appreciate a lot all your comments, thanks for taking your time to write to us and share your experience

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved it. Close to everything but still quiet and relaxing. The property was fantastic. We had a private jacuzzi in our room. The staff was very helpful in getting dinner reservations and helping us plan our day trips. Pool felt great. I can't say enough about the staff. Attentive to all of our needs. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private jacuzzi. There are only three!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fresnans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many Thanks for share to us those amazing comments, we hope a soon return to keep enjoying our staff and services

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spend few days in this hotel, all the staff is very nice and very helpful with everything you asked. The concierge will help you with all your requests, Luis one of the concierges is very kind and took care of us. All his suggestions were exactly what we were looking for. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, beautiful large room, and very well trained staff and also not a huge hotel where no one knows you or take care of you like family style, this is the hotel you should definitely choose for your trip in Cartagena. We will come back again and we will come back to this hotel for sure. Thanks to all the team at the San Agustin. Alex and Estelle

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for all your positive comments, it was a pleasure help you in all your request, we hope you enjoy our hotel and also our city, the Staff work hard to give our guest the best

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 156 in Cartagena
1,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 156 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 156 in Cartagena
1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Agustin

Address: Calle de la Universidad No. 36 - 44 | Centro, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £265 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Casa San Agustin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Agustín is a luxury boutique hotel of 20 refined guestrooms and 10 spacious suites in the city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Three colonial homes have been totally renovated and lovingly restored to create the sense of staying in a well-curated and appointed home of a sophisticated best friend. Situated within the historic walled city, and dating from the 17th Century, the charm of the buildings has been enhanced with a respect for maintaining original frescoes in the library and wooden beamed ceilings. This hotel offers 1 restaurant with three different environments, bar, pool-bar, pool, solarium, 1 meeting room up to 40 people, library, concierge desk 24 hours, room service and massage service in a beautiful outdoor terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing