We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful friendly place with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Ranked #24 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. A big thank you to Miguel and everyone else who helped make our stay in Cartagena so pleasant. Short taxi ride from airport yet only 5 minute walk to Historic Centre. Quiet haven to return to after long hot walks (pool was a bonus) Small hotel (6 rooms) so peaceful and very secure in a discreet way. Large rooms with good storage and fans and a/c. Good choices for breakfast on peaceful patio by pool. In interesting old house with original furniture on display in entrance hall and run by a descendant of the original owners. It's situated on a historic street just outside the old town walls and the house of famous Columbian and local lad Raphael Nunez is a few doors down the road (free entrance and well worth a visit) opposite a lovely old church. This area is in stark contrast to the modern frenetic Boca Grande area which is full of modern skyscrapers. English spoken if necessary and it seemed excellent value for money compared to other places. We felt very well looked after here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

It was a pleasure to have in our home, thank you for your feedback. Our employees are very pleased to have met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Make no mistake, this is not a luxury hotel. It was an excellent value though. Luxury hotels were five to six times more expensive at the time that we booked. Important things to know are that the rooms are large and comfortable. There is air conditioning. The included breakfast was very good, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Try the juice of tomate en arbol. New fruit juice for me, but excellent. I mentioned that I liked it, and the young lady who prepared the breakfast came out and showed me what the fruit look like before it was juiced. The front desk person speaks fluent English by way of Finland and Minnesota who also gives geography lessons. Convenient location.

I never had a "hot" shower, but its Cartageña so the water was never cold. Exceptionally nice staff.

Do not go to Boca Grande! Que sucio!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bigvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much, your comments encourage us to continue working for the benefit of our guests and to achieve them feel at home. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Located close enough to the "walled" city to walk or a $3.00 cab ride away. Beds were comfortable and staff was fantastic. The place is gated and locked and staff was always available to let us in or out. Breakfast was fresh and well done. Special props to one of the staff named Miguel. My advice is to avoid Boca Grande beach though.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank xrgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback, we will continue to always ensure excellent service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have stayed several times. The staff provide individualized help and are friendly and available. Very close to the historic district- can walk or can take a short cab ride. Close-walking distance to the ocean. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious. Nice area and atmosphere around the pool, quiet and great to rest, read.

Room Tip: The room closest to the pool is very large and comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

As always has been a pleasure to serve you, hope to have you back again. Thank you for trusting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Partner and I stayed there in January 2014 in celebration of our anniversary. Excellent boutique hôtel walking distance at day time to walled city. Take cab ride at nite but only $5000-$6000 pesos. Customer service by staff was 5 star quality and 24hr front desk/attendant speaks fluent english. Room 5 is huge and incredible bathroom!!!. Pool is small but we didn't care. Free Breakfast is outstanding, we skipped lunch. Menu covers continental, American/omelettes, to colombian - fruits and juices all included. Close enough to walled city but quieter than staying inside. Only 6 rooms, but 3 staff members most of the day - felt like it was our home. If you're OK staying a short cab ride away from the best beaches, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Comments like this motivate us every day and make our work more enjoyable, thanks for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Casa Bustamante. The property is located a block away from the ocean and a 10 minute walk to the old town "San Diego" where you'll find numerous shops/restaurants.

Property is a converted family residence into a small hotel. It was very well maintained and the staff was very friendly and took good care of us. Room was simple, clean and comfortable. Shower was really nice :) Breakfast in the morning was delicious and served to us fresh.

All in all, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PupPenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Your comments are very important to nosotoros, challenge us to grow every day and work to provide them with excellent service, thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Bustamante in January 2014.Our first impression was that it was na old hotel but as soon as we got into the house everything changed. Rooms are renewed and with everything you need, mainly a good air conditioner, a confortable and clean bed and a clean bathroom. The rooms have a lot of space!
The location is excellent: walking distance from ciudad amurallada (I would say 400 - 500m). Staff are really friendly and while we were there they've tried to do everything to make us feel confortable. I'll definetly come back!

Room Tip: Rooms near the recepion seems to be larger.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Priscila1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaOrBus, Propietario at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are delighted your comments, it helps us to continue working to make your stay a truly pleasurable experience. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#51 of 155 in Cartagena
542 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#56 of 155 in Cartagena
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 155 in Cartagena
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique

Address: Carrera 2 # 42-67 | Calle Real del Cabrero, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a Republican-style house built in 1913, located in the traditional neighborhood of the goatherd, three minutes from the historic center, five minutes from the International Airport "Rafael Nunez" and steps from the beach.The house retains all the features and quality of the original architecture and is listed as architectural heritage district. It has rooms of generous spaces equipped with mini bar service, wireless internet and cable TV, a spacious living room, garden, terrace, parking and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing