We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Ranked #6 of 167 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place is amazing- the decoration of the hotel, the location, the service. Everything makes this hotel a wonderful place to enjoy Cartagena. We stayed three nights in April - May and absolutely loved it.

The price is amazing for the location and the quality of the hostel.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Deluxe Room. The view is amazing, two bathrooms and the decoration is beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paca93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Calamari Hostal Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Located right in the old town and a beautiful old colonial building with gorgeous rooms! Had a breezy roof terrace with shower which is a nice place to chill out. The staff let us leave our bags to go and stay a night on playa blanca and even let us use the roof terrace shower when we returned. Some language difficulties at times but just wish my Spanish was better! Such good value for the location and quality of accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddlestoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Best location town, perfect spot, clean, incredible price! If you have the chance, if its available book it you wont regredit .

we stayed in calamari for a couple of days, for a small fraction of the price of the hotels near by (of course you wont be in a 5 stars hotel) be it is worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crowmariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Location is great, everything easily accessible. Place was clean, staff was very kind, and also the design is nice. Only minor complaint could be that we didnt have a room with a window or balcony and the wifi didnt work in the room itself. Of course in a city like this you will not spend a lot of time inside so for us it was not a big issue plus in that room we didnt have any issues with noise as some people mentioned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmackyTheFrog_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location is awesome! The hotel is beautiful and clean. We had a balcony in our room and I thought it was so romantic and nice.
However, when I read the reviews I knew there were some complains about the noise. I thought I could sleep with some noise. I live in one of the busiest areas in Nyc so I can deal with it. But this is beyond loud! We could hear every single conversation and noise from the room above us. We could hear all the music and noises from the street. I literally couldn't sleep at all. Another down side was that the cleaning people didn't change our towels or even left us without toilet paper and a trash can once. This is not very professional, and as much as I loved the location I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I would not call this place a hostel; it only has a handful of rooms and is designed with such class and elegance that you simply can’t compare it to other hostels! The deco is fantastic!! As all the other reviewers have covered the location just cant be beat, right next to some of the best bars and restaurants in town and easy walking distance to all the main squares in the wall. A true gem in this amazing magical city!

Room: We stayed in room 3 that is located on the 2nd floor, away from the road. A large room with two beds, TV, desk, wardrobe, air-conditioning, toilet/shower and a minibar (very well priced, 4,000 for beers and they have a wide selection from local to international as well as snacks and nibbles) we did find it hard to locate the power outlets to charge our electrical items. They could do better (modern day travellers love their gadgets) Room 3 had no windows, BUT it was not a problem. It has been designed so that you do not notice the missing windows and with the great air conditioning it is not a problem. You will spend most of your time OUTSIDE anyway, sleeping quality is perfect, as you don’t get the noise from outside and the beds are super comfy! Apart from the lack of power outlets, they also don't have a SAFE (perhaps not needed in such a small place) but this would have been a nice added touch. If you are however looking to store your valuables then you can do so at the reception.


Location and safety: I’ve stayed in several places in Cartagena over the years and hands down Calamari has the BEST location. Right smack bang in one of the most popular and safest zones in the city! You are only a few minutes walk from two of the most popular bars on the wall, my favourite being Café Del Mar – perfect for a sun downer or two and people watching.

Staff: We managed just fine with out broken Spanglish as did they. Very relaxed and friendly!

Atmosphere: If you are looking for some chill time, alone time or romantic time then this is a perfect place for you. It only has a small number of rooms, so you hardly ever see the other guest! It’s very quite! We loved it!

Facilities and access: Wi-Fi is FREE and strong. We did not use the coffee and tea facilities, but they looked good! It’s such a beautify city. Get out and enjoy it! ATM can be found just around the corner, ask the staff for exact location! You will also find many taxies and a good tip is to take the Calamari business card, so that you can hand this to the driver as to avoid any confusion.

Overall this is in a class of it’s own and we loved it! Very well priced and the location can’t get any better! This is now one of my favourite “hostels” in Colombia. If you are thinking about booking it, book it now! You will not regret it… I have every intention to return! Enjoy Cartagena

Ohhhh one last thing, you can also order food from the lovely Italian restaurant directly across the road. We arrived tired and late, so ordered some food that was delivered right to our room. Another great touch to a fantastic hostel!

p.s don't pay more the 10,000 from the airport to the hostel!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a twin room with two very comfy beds! Get a card from reception so that you can hand i...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAyeAyeOptimistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This boutique hostel was the last stop before our flight back home and we were so glad we stayed here. It is difficult to find reasonable prices in the old city and we were very pleasantly surprised when we were led to through to our generously sized room supported by large wooden beams and beautiful dark wooden furniture. Unfortunately I fell sick on our first evening from eating at the restaurants in the nearby piazza (not recommended!) but the staff in the hostel were so kind in directing us in where to pick up the best medicine. The roof is small but cute and the cosy cafe area on the floor below is perfect for grabbing a coffee. Overall the hostel is very clean the staff are excellent and I would have been very happy to stay more than a few nights here.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytotravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 155 in Cartagena
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#59 of 155 in Cartagena
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#35 of 155 in Cartagena
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamari Hostal Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamari Hostal Boutique

Address: Calle Ricaute # 31-38 Cartegena de Indias colombia Carrera 3, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: £38 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calamari Hostal Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calamari Hostel Boutique its located in Cartagena de Indias, in Colombia´s Caribean sea, declare by the UNESCO historical and cultural heritage of humanity, the historic center of Cartagena allows visitors evoke colonial times and visit in walking distance the best spots, restaurantes and shows offered by this magical city. Stop looking for a play to stay, Calamari Hostel Boutique is best hostel in Cartagena, Make your reservation now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Calamari Hostal Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing