We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It was very nice to be there. The location was great. We walked in the afternoon in the beach. Wish we had stayed longer. You take a cheap taxi to go to the restaurantas in downtown but you enjoy the beach right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cabinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    367
    175
    73
    45
See reviews for
276
348
37
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orange
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a good hotel choice for staying in Cartagena

We got a good deal over the january holiday period

Rooms large and spacious

Breakfast very good and a good selection to choose from

Taxis are cheap in cartagena so getting around is easy

Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue with the remodeling in several areas of the hotel, this includes common areas and rooms, respecting of course the tranquility of our guests and customers .

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook, we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was bothered by the poor value this hotel provides. Normally, hotels in Colombia that bill themselves as “5 star” provide a level of service and comfort that a mid-to-high end North American chain would. This one however, in spite of insisting on charging a comparable rate to these hotels, simply does not measure up.

I will give credit where it is due, the staff for the most part were helpful and check-in service is provided in English. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated, and the hotel is well located if you insist on staying in Bocagrande. However, I have more jeers than cheers for this hotel; there was paint peeling everywhere in our room, and the sliding door to our balcony was completely seized, requiring a maintenance call. Meanwhile, after a long day traveling and trying to take a shower to refresh, there was no hot water available and this problem persisted throughout our stay. The TV did not work properly. Perhaps our biggest and most unpleasant surprise came when we woke up after the first night, another guest had opened his door across the hall, and our door mysteriously opened at the same time much to our horror. The mechanism to keep the door shut, clicked when we entered the room, but it was obviously not enough to keep the draft from opening the door. I noticed that the pool water was the colour of miso soup and thankfully they were in the process of closing it for “repairs”. Lastly, in the middle of the afternoon, my wife noticed a strange musical tone coming from a slotted hole in the ceiling of our room. Again, maintenance was summoned to investigate. This mysterious speaker was disabled, but by this point we were already wary of what other surprises may have been in store for us.

If you’re looking for a one-word summary, “avoid”.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GFDVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario en Trip Advisor.

Aprovecho esta ocasión para comunicarle que con el objeto de hacerles sentir más cómodos y prestarles un mejor servicio, continuamos con los trabajos de remodelación en varias áreas del hotel, esto incluye áreas comunes y habitaciones, respetando por supuesto, la tranquilidad de nuestros huéspedes y clientes.

Somos un hotel moderno con nuestra arquitectura interna inspirada en la época colonial de la bella Cartagena de Indias.

Nuestra piscina, ubicada en el quinto piso, brinda una vista panorámica espectacular, desde la terraza se puede ver la majestuosidad del Mar Cartagenero y el enigmático y hermoso corralito de piedra.

Le invitamos a que nos contacte y nos reserve cuando decida regresar a esta maravillosa ciudad, para nosotros será un honor atenderle nuevamente y brindarle el mejor servicio.

Síganos en Twitter y Facebook, le mantendremos al tanto de todas nuestras actividades.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a nice hotel, no luxury, but nice. Service is great, staff is very helpful, it is clean, safe, and well located. Good breakfast. Pool is small but nice. You get to the public beach by just crossing the street. It is a 5 to 10 minute taxi ride to the walled cityt (6000 pesos). Small gym with basic equipment. Very family/kids friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Cobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Google Translation
Respetado Huésped,

Agradecemos su comentario en Trip Advisor, la mayor red social de viajeros de todo el continente americano.

Dando alcance a su publicación, le comento que hemos sido certificados bajo las normas y estándares internacionales BASC Versión 3 - 2008 RMS C-TPAT en su operación como: servicios hoteleros en Cartagena, Colombia.

BASC: Business Alliance for Secure Commerce (alianza de negocios para el comercio seguro)

Somos el primer hotel en el Mundo Certificado bajo estas normas y estándares,

Le invito a que nos siga prefiriendo cada vez que regrese a nuestra hermosa Cartagena de Indias, contáctenos y síganos en Twitter y Facebook.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Realy nice hotel in the wonderful town of Cartagena! just flew by for the night
and hit the Bull eye will this selection. Nice Big clean rooms and centrally
located -- perfect! Nice people and staff. Can´t go wrong here!

Room Tip: Get a corner room they are bigger (I LIKE bigger)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time You come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We found the following mistakes in 2 days:

* One of the elevators was not working properly in the highest season of spring brake.

* room had deficiencies, A/C made humidity on the roof, bath tub was broken and water splashed out everywhere (we reported that and it took them 1 day to fix it), curtains were short and not all the window was properly covered against day light, bathroom light swich was linked to the miranda's light (the same switch turned on miranda and bathroom lights).

* in the pool area there is not enough room for everyone (it is very little), music is extremely loud, food is terrible, beverages are ok.

* There is no direct acces to the beach, you have to walk on the street to get there.
* Breakfast could be better, but it is just ok.

* Service is ok expect for some employees, Bar tender was very agresive when we asked for an upgrade in the welcome cocktail they offer (we asked for piña colada he said, NO NO!!!! IMPOSIBLE, I CAN ONLY GIVE YOU THIS ONE, YOU WANT IT OR NOT??? ) even though one of the receptionist was sitting in the bar and saw everything he did not do anything.

* I heard someone staying on one of the topest rooms complaining about a machine on the roof that was making a very loud noise, they had to ask for another room by 4 am on their first night.

In conclusion, even though though Almirante sell their selfs as a 5 star hotel. It is FOR SURE not!!!!!! It is a 2 star Hotel that would be a good idea if you plan to use the hotel only for sleeping.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank joserubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue with the remodeling in several areas of the hotel, this includes common areas and rooms, respecting of course the tranquility of our guests and customers .

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook, we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I resided in the Hotel Almirante for a little over a month in 2013. My first night, I was put in a tiny room with a bathroom that was tiny and lacking in appearance. I had transferred from the Hilton after a long-term stay there, and I was very sad about the downgrade when I first arrived at the Almirante. However, on day 2, I spoke with the manager and explained my long-term situation, and they put me up in the biggest room on the 8th floor. The tile on the floors was still a little cruddy looking and the linens could've used updating, but overall the room was much better. I had a large sitting area, a fridge, and a nice, very large bathroom that was all marble! The only issue was that the restaurant in front of the hotel plays live music each night from about 7 p.m. until midnight, so I was serenaded with the same song-set each night for a month. The windows are thin at the Almirante, so you will hear lots of street noise from the busy Boca Grande neighborhood, but if you get one of the larger rooms, you will have a much nicer stay. So if you're looking to stay, get as large a room as possible and bring ear plugs!
Staff are polite but a bit distanced, which was fine as a longer-term guest. I can imagine that a vacation traveler would feel that customer service was somewhat lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger corner rooms facing the main strip. They may be loud but they're much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Google Translation
Respetado huésped.

El Hotel Almirante Cartagena ofrece a todos nuestros clientes un amplio portafolio de servicios empresariales que permiten realizar cualquier tipo de eventos, contando siempre con la asesoría de nuestro personal calificado. Disponemos de 7 salones de eventos, un centro de negocios y una sala de junta; todos dotados con tecnología de punta, internet Wifi y equipos audiovisuales.

Nuestro gimnasio, se encuentra ubicado en el quinto piso, cuenta con equipos óptimos para ejercicios abdominales, cardiovasculares, de fuerza y spinning, además con la asesoría permanente de instructores capacitados y rutinas de aeróbicos dirigidos. Abierto al público de lunes a viernes desde las 5:30 am a 9:30 pm. Sábados de 6:00 am a 9:00 pm, domingos y festivos de 8:00 am a 5:30 pm

Música variada en vivo de Lunes a Sábado desde las 6PM hasta las 10PM

Le invito a que nos contacte cuando decida regresar a nuestra hermosa ciudad y a que nos siga en Facebook y Twitter.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 153 in Cartagena
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 153 in Cartagena
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#34 of 153 in Cartagena
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 153 in Cartagena
1,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#70 of 153 in Cartagena
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Property: Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Address: Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a five star hotel in historical Cartagena. Front beach located in the Bocagrande neighborhood,Almirante Cartagena Hotel is a modern hotel with elegant rooms and common areas to enjoy, an excellent place in the Caribbean for business and leisure. New Service: Satellite Television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing