We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem in Cartagena!”
Review of El Genoves Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Genoves Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Gorgeous hostel: sparkling clean, beautiful pool space, quiet, helpful staff, on a wonderful little side street makes it a perfect find. A bit of a tight space in the dorms, but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nstar6c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiefriday, General Manager at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for the review! all the best from CTG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a nice small hostel with two dorms (4 and 12 people) and some private rooms. It's a very pretty building in a beautiful and safe part of Cartagena center. Breakfast and towel are included, there is a pool, and the wifi works very well. There is also a small roof terrace. You've got your own locker in the dorm and the dorm has AC. When I was here it was pretty quiet. No noise at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoMeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camc1984, Owner at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your comments, It has been a pleasure to have you here sharing with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards!

El Genoves Hostal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My background - I have been travelling through Central and South America for the past five months with my boyfriend, three months to go.

This hostel has so much potential!! The street is gorgeous, as is the building. Unfortunately there is just no atmosphere though and the staff are not very well trained or attentive. The only exception is the cleaner/night doorman who seems to work 24 hours and is very friendly. The manager has also been helpful when he has been here. Unfortunately the other staff members sit around on Facebook or eating and watching the guest television and it seems as though a big bother when you ask them for something.

With a bit of work and energy this hostel has the potential to be excellent. Some additions to the terrace and the communal television area would go along way. Also there is a bar area which isn't used.

The free breakfast is good by comparison though - cereals and toast with homemade jams.

I did feel bad for the man who seems to work 24 hours a day though. He could use some help from the other staff I think.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siân E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camc1984, Propietario at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello, first we would like to say thanks for the review.

We would like to clarify the situation about Jesus (the concierge) and his job. He doens't work 24 hours (that is exploitation), is illegal in our country working more than 8 hours and in case that happens, we as employers must pay extra hours. I our case Jesus live here, thats why you saw him at all time at the hostel. As I said before the working day consist in 8 hours per day 5 days a week.

In the other hand, we are new on the market, we are working on all the aspects that you mentioned. thats why we are not using the bar because is not finished and we have other details as you said before but we are working hard on all those aspects.

About the attitud of our employes, we are working on that problem and we are very sorry if you had a bad experience with us, we are going to try our best on that aspect because we want to give to our guest the best experience in Cartagena de Indias.

Thanks for the advises and the good energy!

Carlos Moreno
Owner/Manager
El Genovés Hostal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I loved this place but would hardly call it a hostel. This place is like a private villa! Super cool staff made our stay even better. Wi-fi is fast, nice kitchen, air conditioning and a small swimming pool made this hostel better than the bigger hostels in the area and it's still located in the old town. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: 12 bed dorm, 4 bed and some privates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camc1984, Propietario at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, It has been a pleasure to have you here sharing with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards!

El Genoves Hostal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I loved staying at the El Genoves hostel, very clean, great staff very friendly and helpful, nice rooms, a small swimming pool which is great to relax in, i fully recommend this hostel to anyone staying in cartagena, it would be stupid not to stay here!!! out of all the hostels i have stayed in this is my favourite by far!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian85M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camc1984, Propietario at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, It has been a pleasure to have you here sharing with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards!

El Genoves Hostal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ramon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank pollo1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#27 of 248 in Cartagena
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#7 of 248 in Cartagena
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#8 of 248 in Cartagena
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Arsenal Hostel Boutique
El Arsenal Hostel Boutique
#29 of 248 in Cartagena
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 248 in Cartagena
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#31 of 248 in Cartagena
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Genoves Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Genoves Hostal

Address: Calle Cochera de Hobo # 38 - 27, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: £9 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a colorful colonial-style hostel located in the city center in Cartagena. Magic for get-away weekends and group holidays at el Genoves Hostel there are rooms and dorms for everyone ... A roof terrace great for barbecues, predrinks and meet new people along your stay in Cartagena. And best .. Located in the city center, or as we call it locally in the "ciudad amurallada" everything is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Genoves Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing