We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Well Located Hotel, Starting to Suffer from Noise Blight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

First the good side. Casa La Fe is solidly managed. Someone has thought through what travellers need: a hotel map shows where to find ATMs and recommends and locates some good restaurants. Check in is efficient. The happy hour, with a free glass of wine or beer every evening is a welcoming touch. The hotel is relatively good value for Cartegena, where rooms and meals are more expensive than the rest of Colombia.

Now the not so good. Most of the standard rooms have little or no natural light apart from through their door that faces onto a courtyard. Most rooms are small and waste the architectural possibilities of the old building. As rooms are packed in the hotel can feel very cramped when it is full. There is really no atmosphere here. For me, the only rooms with a feeling of space and air were on the top floor facing the square. This is where I had another problem. Still facing trans-atlantic jet lag, I really wanted to sleep. Amplified music from the square blared on late into the night. Not even some sort of salsa soundtrack, but euro-vision karaoke. This was repeated the following night and I went to check into another hotel to get some respite. This is not the fault of Casa La Fe, however there is little point to having a room if you cannot sleep in it. This would not be a problem for a night owl wishing to sample Catagena's nightlife. The noise blight stops sometime between midnight and 2 am.

Another problem was despite being a family (two bookings with the same surname and a request for adjacent rooms,we were given rooms at opposite ends of the hotel, with lots of narrow corridors and staircases. This got to be a chore.

I also found breakfast to be the most meagre of my trip through Panama and Colombia. I reckon this property probably stood out in the early days when it was first opened. It is still solid and well managed, but has been falling behind newer rivals. I would prefer to pay more for some genuine Cartagena ambience and a quieter nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the square, if you can tolerate the noise from the hotel's neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrismcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

This client booked two rooms on two different floors as precisely described in the room descriptions and then complains about their relative locations! Similarly our balcony rooms are advertised as being occasionally at risk from street noise but this did not stop the client from booking one then complaining (much over-egged at that). We make a point of providing accurate room descriptions including sizing, natural light and noise. If in doubt call or contact the hotel for more information before booking because our overriding desire is to have satisfied customers.
Incidentally we have just hit 500 client reports. Only one hotel in Cartagena has received more coverage, its over twice the price and has 200 rooms against our 14.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

I was staying in this unique hotel, which is located in the center of Cartagena. More center you wont get. The food was great and the staff very friendly and helpfull. The manager Freddy took really good care of us and his attention to detail was much appreciated! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatgola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Great location, excellent value, very clean and the hotel staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaquinCarlosMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great location in safe area. Close to all nightlife and good restaurants. Breakfast includes local fruits, made to order eggs, and strong coffee. Staff has great recommendations for the city - definitely go to las Islas de Rosario. We left behind a jacket and the staff reached out to mail to us back in the States.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We loved the casa and our room that had a balcony looking over Plaza Fernandez de Madrid. The airconditioner was quiet! and excellent, and bed was comfortable. Very helpful staff; excellent breakfast and a happy hour in late afternoon. A little "pool" on the roof for soaking and a shower and toilet there and towels as well. .

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little music and talking that takes place around the plaza, then we advise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moofkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were used to be warly welcomed in other columbian hotels, that was not the case in Casa la Fe. Staff not available and indifferent to their customers. No services. Disappointing breakfast. small rooms and small and crowded swiming pool. Weak air conditionned. Very weak wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 75VAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I really loved my stay at Casa La Fe. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the walled city. The interior courtyard is beautiful. The biggest plus, though, was the helpful staff, who arranged travel to and from the hotel, as well as a day trip out to the Rosario Islands. I highly recommend Casa La Fe to anyone planning a trip to Cartagena.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 159 in Cartagena
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 159 in Cartagena
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 159 in Cartagena
1,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 159 in Cartagena
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Address: Calle Segunda de Badillo # 36 _ 125 | Old Town, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £90 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing