We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Excellent service from first enquiry to checking out. This hotel is a real gem and the rooms are immaculate. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The reception area has a library and infornation on Cartagena.
Outstanding customer service and can't recommend this enough.
Pat & Pete Manchester UK

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat120745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
TA ranking for Cartagena hotels leaves us very frustrated. Hotel Casa la Fe outstrips any other hotel in the number of reports it has received, the number of these which have been 5 Star and the consistency of service we have delivered over a five year period. So what other criteria is Trip Advisor applying that relegates us to 8th place? We asked, they won't tell us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    285
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
188
422
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We arrived at the hotel at 11 AM in the first day, ready to leave our bags in the reception and go for a walk and lunch until check-in time, but the staff was nice enough to let us check-in early without charges.

The room itself is nice but nothing too impressive. We were on the 2nd floor -- no windows but you get used to it, a big AC more than compensates it. The bed is very comfortable and we found the hotel quiet at night. For the first night, we were given two water bottles as a gift. Don't get too excited about it -- you will find your minibar empty on the second night, which is a bit of a disappointment.

I felt the hotel was rather impersonal for a place that small. Never seen the owner. Other guests mostly didn't even greet us, let alone have a conversation. Every time we asked for a recommendation, the staff handed us a map of Old Town, where "the" nicest places in Cartagena are marked, most with English-speaking staff (and, of course, US prices). Don't get me wrong, we've checked some of them and were not disappointed there, but they were expensive and didn't have a "Colombian" feel. If you ask for directions to go anywhere outside Centro/San Diego, their answer will be "I'll call you a taxi". The staff will book boat trips and excursions for you, but I've noticed that their prices were about US$ 15-20 more than you can get if you negotiate yourself, if you speak Spanish well.

Bottom line: if you want to hit the tourist places in Cartagena without speaking a word of Spanish, and don't mind paying a bit extra for that, go for Casa La Fe, absolutely. But if your idea is to blend in with the locals, you'll have a nice place to sleep, but this hotel will not help you.

(Note: I would advise against booking the cheaper lower rooms, unless you have difficulty climbing stairs. Breakfast tables are put literally inches from their doors.)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Ribeiro80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
We have received criticisms on various points over the last six years but this is the first time the hotel has been called impersonal. We have also been criticised before for inadequate English at reception, now it seems we are speaking too much! In common with all other small hotels in the town centre our rooms (other than balcony rooms) encircle an internal patio/ corridor as shown in our web pics. the rooms have huge (20 sq ft) glass paneled windows set in the doors. If you swing open the shutters a lot of strong tropical sunshine will stream in but you will also lose privacy to passing guest traffic. With the shutters closed there is still sufficient natural light entering the room to for it to be pleasant and cool. All bedrooms have a fridge which we used to keep stocked with a selection of drinks at very reasonable prices. Almost no one ever used this facility and many people would turn out the stock and refill the fridge with their own purchases. So we recently discontinued this service and leave you with an empty fridge to use as you wish. Finally we totally refute the suggestion that boat trips booked through reception are more expensive than booking the same trip yourself. There are a myriad different trips and of varying quality. We only deal with the reputable operators and this guest is not comparing like with like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

A perfect place to stay IF you are in one of the 4(?) rooms with a balcony that overlooks a plaza right out of a Gabriel Garcia Marquez novel - REALLY- the house in "Love in the Time of Cholera" is across the plaza! Location is ideal -walk to everything in the old town and the convent of Santa Clara. You MUST read "Love and other Demons" by Garcia Marquez which takes place at the convent - his home is across the street from the convent. Our room had a loft for the 2 young adults, the decor was authentic, colorful and local - not for people who like standard american hotels. Breakfast was very good in courtyard with fountains - enough choices both american style and regional. Down the street from a stone chapel with several weddings - bride and groom arrived in house drawn carriages. I would not recommend the rooms without balconies as they have little natural light. Yes, it's hot in Cartagena - year round- but end of August was doable and room is air conditioned. We will return to the wonderful city of Cartegena and this little gem of a hotel! Thank you, Trip Advisor, for steering us (yet again) to a great place!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary02445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Casa La Fe is everything you dreamed of and then more.
La casona is centrally located, rooms are impeccably clean, décor is welcoming and staff can make you feel like home away from home.
During this my first visit to Cartagena and Colombia, I have to admit that I was impressed by the beauty of the city and the warmth of the Cartagenenses.
I cannot recommend this place enough for a lovely stay in Cartagenas.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cargoants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We arrived in Cartagena and had arranged for airport pick up through the hotel. Our lovely driver was waiting for us outside the terminal. Casa la Fe was the perfect hotel for our first stay in the city. The location is fantastic, and I found the hotel to be charming and full of soul. There is a lovely courtyard for delicious breakfasts each morning, a small pool on the roof to cool off in the afternoons and a very courteous staff. I would absolutely return to this hotel. It was full of conveniences and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Just to add that our pick-up service is very nice but it's a contracted service and relatively expensive. Consider using a cab, they are always plentiful, well-regulated and safe to use by day or night. The journey time is 10 mins and they will drop you right outside the hotel door. The charge is 10,000 pesos (do not pay more) and if you don't have pesos the hotel will pay the driver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genova
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I stayed in Casa la fe for 4 days. Good position but:
the price p/night with breakfast was 150 euro in duble room (the price was blown up cause "obligatory tip..."!)The room was very small, full of mosquitos, 1 beetle in bathroom and a bit of dirty. Last day my boyfriend and I left very soon in the morning and informed the reception that told us: "No problem! Would you like breakfast anyway?" But no breakfast was ready and no one available in the reception to open the door! We waited20 minutes! ...For 150 euro p/night!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gio74Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

After a long trip from Finland to Cartagena I stayed in this small idyllic hotel 4 nights in July. The location is great for exploring the old town of Cartagena. There are many nice restaurants close to the hotel - try La Cocina Carmela which is fantastic!. The hotel itself is very well maintained, rooms are clean and bathrooms quite spacious and the shower had good water pressure. The hotel has a small rooftop pool with nice view over the city where you can relax after hot and humid walking trip to the city. The lobby and breakfast patio are stylish with small nice details like waterfall on the wall of the inner patio. Staff at the hotel is great, really friendly people and made the stay even more comfortable. All together a great visit, keep up the good work Geoff! And give my best to the true Madam of the house, the Yorkie Susie. Best regards, Tomi

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle segunda de Badillo # 36-125 | Centro Histórico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa La Fe is an oasis of calm and good taste located in the very heart of the city and our services come recommended in the NYT and London Times Group Newspapers. Visit our webpage in Trip Advisor and take a Virtual Tour of our rooms and facilities. Ensure that you obtain the best rate and free airport pick-up by booking direct with the hotel using promotion code SDBOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing