We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located & charming boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfectly located & charming boutique hotel”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We spent 4 nights at Casa La Fe and, in retrospect, it was one of our favourite places in Colombia. The hotel is in a great location conveniently located to all the sights (but then again, the historical centre of Cartagena is tiny and it is relatively easy to walk anywhere you need to go to), restaurants and bars. We had a ground floor room, which meant that it could be a little noisy with guest foot traffic but after the first night, we got used to it! It was one of the cheapest rooms at the hotel so it was definitely a trade off. I didn't check out the pool either although my travel buddy tells me it wasn't really a pool. Apart from those very small negatives, I loved this place. The staff are excellent, the breakfast was really good and it was a wonderful, quaint and charming little respite from the heat that is Cartagena. The free wi-fi connection was also one of the best I encountered. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    282
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
185
418
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This hotel was a great value. My boyfriend and I had the opportunity to stay in both the double and family balcony rooms. Due to our tardiness in booking our reservation, we were able to stay in the double balcony room for 1 night only. We were given the option the following morning to relocate to a room on the interior courtyard, but it was dark and faintly musty smelling and we chose to move on. Our room, however, was everything that I wanted on our first night in Cartagena...so much so that we booked an additional night later in the week. Of the 3 hotels that we stayed at on our stay in Cartagena, this one boasted the best location, with our small terrace overlooking what turned out to be our favorite plaza. We loved that we could hear the music from the neighboring bar, the clop of the horse drawn carriages and the sounds of the street...a warning for those who prefer peace and quiet. Breakfast was superb, and we really enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers. Service was friendly, and helpful when there was an English speaking staff member on hand. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sselhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We booked a balcony room, and we loved sitting out overlooking the fun in the street and leafy park below. We felt we were right in the middle of the action, and surrounded by colonial houses, but it was not too noisy. My earplugs easily drowned out the salsa music from a bar nearby (and it did not go on all night). The street is quiet, with occcasional taxis and "tourist" horses and coaches. The room was superb, with really quiet aircon or fan (we prefer a fan) and a fridge with complimentary water on arrival. Excellent choice of breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff. It was great having a small pool (separate towels provided) to dip into after we had been walking around the old town in the heat for hours.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
The building dates from the mid 1930s which is the Republican rather then the Colonial era. We are the only city centre hotel, grand or humble to have balcony rooms opening onto a leafy plaza rather than a narrow noisy street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Amazing little property well located on a quiet tree lined square in heart of the Old Walled City. The rooms with the balconies over looking the square are the best. We had room 305. Nice breakfast is included and the hotel has a small plunge pool on rooftop. Staff are super attentive and helpful. Cartagena is an amazing city, be sure to visit the Cathedral, Church of San Pedro Claver, Naval Museum, Museum of Inquisition, walk on top of the walls around the whole old city, Fort of San Felipe and La Popa Convent. Best restaurant serving consistently excellent meals is La Mulatta

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFARIMAN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
There are many restaurants in the centre which although not 'haute cuisine' offer value for money. Currently leading the pack are:-
la Mulatta - a favourite with locals
Cocina de Carmela - buffet lunch, all you can eat
El Bistro - two locations, the newest is opposite the hotel
Crepes and Waffles - restaurant chain, excellent menu and great value
Mila - imaginative menu, great desserts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at Casa La Fe for 6 nights. The room (second floor balcony) was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful view of the plaza in front of the building, which made made it a bit noisy sometimes. Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions, arranging drivers for day trips etc. Very good breakfast. We looked at MANY other small hotels in the area but this B&B offers by far the best value for the price, not cheap but worth it, considering that the historic center of Cartagena is generally fairly expensive

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
By booking directly from our website you will save at least 25% on the rates quoted in TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Excellent service from first enquiry to checking out. This hotel is a real gem and the rooms are immaculate. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The reception area has a library and infornation on Cartagena.
Outstanding customer service and can't recommend this enough.
Pat & Pete Manchester UK

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat120745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
TA ranking for Cartagena hotels leaves us very frustrated. Hotel Casa la Fe outstrips any other hotel in the number of reports it has received, the number of these which have been 5 Star and the consistency of service we have delivered over a five year period. So what other criteria is Trip Advisor applying that relegates us to 8th place? We asked, they won't tell us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We arrived at the hotel at 11 AM in the first day, ready to leave our bags in the reception and go for a walk and lunch until check-in time, but the staff was nice enough to let us check-in early without charges.

The room itself is nice but nothing too impressive. We were on the 2nd floor -- no windows but you get used to it, a big AC more than compensates it. The bed is very comfortable and we found the hotel quiet at night. For the first night, we were given two water bottles as a gift. Don't get too excited about it -- you will find your minibar empty on the second night, which is a bit of a disappointment.

I felt the hotel was rather impersonal for a place that small. Never seen the owner. Other guests mostly didn't even greet us, let alone have a conversation. Every time we asked for a recommendation, the staff handed us a map of Old Town, where "the" nicest places in Cartagena are marked, most with English-speaking staff (and, of course, US prices). Don't get me wrong, we've checked some of them and were not disappointed there, but they were expensive and didn't have a "Colombian" feel. If you ask for directions to go anywhere outside Centro/San Diego, their answer will be "I'll call you a taxi". The staff will book boat trips and excursions for you, but I've noticed that their prices were about US$ 15-20 more than you can get if you negotiate yourself, if you speak Spanish well.

Bottom line: if you want to hit the tourist places in Cartagena without speaking a word of Spanish, and don't mind paying a bit extra for that, go for Casa La Fe, absolutely. But if your idea is to blend in with the locals, you'll have a nice place to sleep, but this hotel will not help you.

(Note: I would advise against booking the cheaper lower rooms, unless you have difficulty climbing stairs. Breakfast tables are put literally inches from their doors.)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Ribeiro80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
We have received criticisms on various points over the last six years but this is the first time the hotel has been called impersonal. We have also been criticised before for inadequate English at reception, now it seems we are speaking too much! In common with all other small hotels in the town centre our rooms (other than balcony rooms) encircle an internal patio/ corridor as shown in our web pics. the rooms have huge (20 sq ft) glass paneled windows set in the doors. If you swing open the shutters a lot of strong tropical sunshine will stream in but you will also lose privacy to passing guest traffic. With the shutters closed there is still sufficient natural light entering the room to for it to be pleasant and cool. All bedrooms have a fridge which we used to keep stocked with a selection of drinks at very reasonable prices. Almost no one ever used this facility and many people would turn out the stock and refill the fridge with their own purchases. So we recently discontinued this service and leave you with an empty fridge to use as you wish. Finally we totally refute the suggestion that boat trips booked through reception are more expensive than booking the same trip yourself. There are a myriad different trips and of varying quality. We only deal with the reputable operators and this guest is not comparing like with like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 151 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle segunda de Badillo # 36-125 | Centro Histórico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa La Fe is an oasis of calm and good taste located in the very heart of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing