We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but lacks in other areas”
Review of Hotel Monterrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monterrey
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I never spend this much on hotels, but hotel Monterrey came highly recommended by a friend who has stayed in many Cartagena hotels. It's located just outside the old city, so close enough to walk, but also away from the chaos. The front desk staff were also very polite and helpful. However, the pool was closed for a day and a half without the front desk staff knowing about it. They kept insisting it was open, but the signs around the pool said otherwise. I think this confusion came down to a general lack of staffing. There were very few guests, so not a lot of staff. Fine for peace and quiet, but impossible to order drinks or food while at the pool. Wasnt impressed by the breakfast either - have had better at youth hostels. Wish I had spent less and stayed at a hotel near Boca Grande. There are more shopping and food options in that neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saigonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterrey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a very nice, small hotel. It is centrally located for tourism, just outside the old city. It is a charming, old hotel. The staff is very accomodating. Breakfast is included and while not the best I've had (limited choices) it is quite acceptable. The rooms open up to an interior courtyard, where breakfast is served. There is a rooftop bar and a small swimming pool. This rooftop terrace is a lovely place to watch the sun set into the Caribbean.

Of note, the elevator only goes to the 3rd floor. Our room was on the 4th floor and included a king-size bed which most rooms do not. If you wish to take the elevator, you must got to the 3rd floor and walk up the last flight of stairs. We chose to walk up and down all 4 flight, but those with mobility issues might want to request they be on a floor with elevator access.

Room Tip: Room 402 is large and has a king-size bed, but is one floor above the last floor accessible via elev...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed there for a pleasure trip with a little time for bussiness. This place is all about location, right in front of the Muelle de los Pegasos where once stood the bridge between the city center and the old town of Getsemani. And it's Getsemani, where the hotel stands by, where you may still feel the vibe of the real Cartagena without the polished face of a tourist spot, with local people having fun and sharing their lives outside the postcards. Hotel Monterrey is the perfect place to begin endless journeys by walk and get back easily. I recommend enjoying the solarium and ocean views, all without leaving the feeling of staying in the middle of everything.
Noise is a matter of dicussion, but for me, in the rooms facing the facade the beautiful views outweight the noise. Earplugs are a nice way to solve it by night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The location is grat, less than a 5 minute walk to the gate of the old city. It does sit next to a club and fronts on a busy steet, so ask for one of the courtyard rooms if you want to eliminate that noise.

The room was small, but very clean. The AC worked well.

Service was mixed somewhat. The front desk staff was excellent, went out of their wayfor you. The Breakfast staff was a bit less accommodating. The whole breakfast thing was a bit on the lean side. Your choice was scrambled eggs or scrambled eggs, with friut and a basket of bread.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durayb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent two nights at the Hotel Monterrey in mid-February. The hotel is nice - new, clean rooms, hot showers, helpful staff, rooftop is great for lounging. It takes less than a minute to walk to the walled city so you really can't beat this location and price! We would definitely here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanyaf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Small hotel where you can find the old architecture, but all rooms (we occupied two) are brand new, small but comfortable, with a/c and a good bathroom.

It is located nearby the watch and the walled city, the plaza in front of the hotel is very big, illuminated and full of cops. You will feel safe during the day and during the night (different if you stay inside the walled city, you have lots of dark streets), and it is walk away from everything.

The main drawback is the breakfast, don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Choose a room ending by 2, 3 or 4, specially in the third floor you will have an amazing view of the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zangrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a 3.5 rating, not three. Hotel was ideally located in the walled city---still can get plenty of action without being right in the center of it. In fact, it was great to get a reprieve from the hustling and bustling of tourism in the old city. At Hotel Monterrey, you can relax at the rooftop pool area while still admiring the cityscape of the old city, sea, and Bocagrande--spectacular view during the day and night. (Worthy sunrise/sunset spot also!) My husband and I greeted the new year from the rooftop away from the crowds while still taking in the magic of Cartagena.

Pros: Great architecture. Ideally located. Good price. Breakfast was included in the price. Food was good, not great. But fantastic coffee. Friendly staff. Charming hotel with absolutely beautiful rooftop view. No regret staying in this hotel.

Cons: Front desk service was so so. They were supposedly be well versed with providing information for tourists. It wasn't our experience. We ended up feeling like they didn't put in their best effort for customer service especially for their guests. Asking to make a reservation at the hotel's restaurant turned out to be a 1.5 days thing. We also asked for help reserving at two restaurants in the old city and they didn't inform us the progress. We had to check in three times only to be told no reservations were made possible. (Those restaurants only take reservations by phone as we tried in person ourselves). Service can be really slow at times for drinks especially when ordering at the rooftop bar. Our room was really tiny (#301) which felt a bit claustrophobic. And we didn't have a lot of light coming through which contributed to that feeling.

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd or 4th floor room---away from the noise and you'd have better view. Also double c...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Senso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#61 of 155 in Cartagena
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#82 of 155 in Cartagena
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allure Bonbon Hotel, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#51 of 155 in Cartagena
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#45 of 155 in Cartagena
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterrey

Address: Centro Historico | Carrera 8 B No. 25-103, Cartagena 1425, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#28 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £75 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterrey 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a magnificent building designed by the french architect Gaston Lelarge at the end of the 19th century, the Hotel Monterrey reflects Cartagena's colonial and original atmosphere combined with european finest style. The Monterrey Hotel is located next to Cartagena's convention Center and only ten minutes away from Rafael Nunez Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterrey Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing