We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best place to stay in Cartagena”
Review of Casa El Carretero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa El Carretero
Ranked #85 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed at Casa El Carretero for 4 days+nights and the only thing I thought once I left was that I want to come back. I'm actually already planning to come back in November of this year. The place itself is really beautiful. Three rooms - all of which are very nicely decorated just like the rest of the house. The location is also perfect ... right in the heart of the cultural center of Cartagena and just 10 minutes on foot away from the city center where you can find lots of good restaurants. While the area is very colonial and cultural, it's very safe and just two blocks or so away from a police station. The pool and the facilities are really gorgeous. Staff was extremely friendly. I can't wait to take my friends there!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OmidScheybani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

I had a great stay at Casa el Carretero. In particular I recommend the Bali suite which is spacious and has a balcony that leads to the street. The smaller room could use a bit of a bigger window. The neighborhood is fantastic as is the plaza down the block. The pool on the rooftop offers respite from the heat. We were the only guests at the time and it gave our stay a luxurious feel. Luis and Maria are very kind and attentive hosts and the breakfast is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Go for the Bali suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lscsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Casa El Carretero is the perfect place to stay while visiting Cartagena. Located just outside the walled old city, its location allows you to be steps away from the tourist attraction of the Old City, but in the heart of the up-and-coming neighborhood of Getsamani. Maria, the house cook and housekeeper, makes you feel welcome and is extremely helpful.

I will definitely stay here again next time I visit Cartagena.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is oursecond time i Casa El Carretero ad it continues to amaze us. We visited the lace back in 2006 and we then went back in this October. The place continues to amaze us. It is located in one of the most beutifull neighborhoods of Cartagena (Getsemaní) and a it is close to restauratas, lovely bars and taverns.

Every morning we were greeted with a custom made breakfast by the hotel chef. They would repare us ommelets, empanadas and great coffee. The juices were always made fresh. The part we liked the most was the pool. We could lug in our iPods and play our own music. It was like having your own luxury estate in Cartagena.

A nice touch the staff did for us was to write us a thank you note for pickig the hotel for a secod time. They remembered that we had been there in 2006. I have repeated other hotels around the world and I have never seen this level of high touch customer service.

I deffinetly recommend the place for anyone going to Cartagea in search of something unique and luxurious.

Room Tip: Pick the Bali Suite, the bathroom has a shower that feels like you are in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamiTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Casa El Carretero is a lovely small boutique hotel in the Getsamani neighborhood in Cartagena. The hotel itself is immaculate -- wonderfully furnished, great breakfast, relaxing rooftop pool (small), and very friendly staff (if you spoke Spanish). The neighborhood has some real life to it; you mix with the locals and the backpackers, just a short (albeit hot) walk from the old city. The owner Carlos, is readily available by email (and presumably phone) - be sure to ask for a discount over the published rates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelDSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a wonderful home from which to explore Catagena! Casa El Carretero only has three rooms and feels much more like a beautiful house that you are lucky enough to be part. Casa El Carretero is set in the more working class neighborhood of Getsemani in the old city of Cartagena, right off the sqaure Plaza de la Trinidad and the local church. It is only a five minute walk from the central part of the old city, but being slightly removed means that the streets around Casa El Carretero are actually neighborhoods than toursit shops and restaurants - making it a great retreat. One roof is a beautiful little pool that is perfect for cooling off after the heat of the day. To top it off the staff were absolutely wonderful making us feel right at home and the hotel chef made us delicious breakfasts every morning of fresh squeezed juices, fresh fruit, breads and empandas and arepas!

An absolutely lovely place from which to explore the city and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesstwiga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

It was wonderful after a hot day in Cartegena to return to the El Carretero, relax on the rooftop lounge with a swim and have a fabulous rainfall shower in the room. We thought the location was perfect - a short stroll to the walled city and kitty corner to the Plaza de la Trinidad square. There in the evening was the singing coming from the open church doors, kids playing, families chatting and young tourists hanging out. Always felt safe in the neighbourhood. Also, had a wonderful Italian dinner down the block at the Trattoria. The breakfasts were fabulous and the service great. We were lucky to get a Trip Advisor 50% discount rate.

Room Tip: We had the room floor facing the street. It was never too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#95 of 158 in Cartagena
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#40 of 158 in Cartagena
92 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#69 of 158 in Cartagena
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 158 in Cartagena
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#108 of 158 in Cartagena
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Toribio
Hotel Santo Toribio
#98 of 158 in Cartagena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Carretero

Address: Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £85 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa El Carretero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa EL Carretero is a colonial boutique hotel located in the historical neighborhood of El Getsemani in the city of Cartagena, Colombia. The vision was to create an Indonesian oasis in a century old Spanish colonial home with all the comforts of XXI century living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa El Carretero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Carretero Cartagena
Casa El Carretero Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing