We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well we liked it”
Review of Casa El Carretero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa El Carretero
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well we liked it”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Sad to read Tom's review. What a terrible experience. We enjoyed our time here. As there are only 3 rooms, it often feels like your own private casa. We spent relaxing afternoons on the roof terrace, in the pool and sitting in the shade. Perfect between morning and evening sightseeing and exploring. Our main problem was our poor Spanish as no English is spoken. However, Maria and Isolina tried hard to understand us and with good humour and mime we managed. The rooms are comfortable, the 2 front ones have a small balcony over looking the street. We weren't bothered by the noise from the square as there are thick shutters you can close at night. We did have a problem when I booked for another 3 nights, but accidently booked February instead of January. (No one to blame but me, how maddening!). By the time Maria pointed out my mistake, they were full for one of the nights. Both the hotel and booking .com were very helpful in sorting it out and we moved for one night to the hotel in the centre I guess Tom is talking about. Ok, but not so nice, I agree, so we were happy to move back for the last night.

So, to summarise - a lovely hotel, great position near the square. A good base for a Cartagena stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    57
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
135
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a room via booking.com as the reviews were excellent and I was looking for somewhere special to relax with my girlfriend. We really wanted to be in Getsemani by Plaza Trinidad as it's our favourite place in Cartagena. Booking.com showed 1 room available, and discounted to 250 mil pesos (about £75).

We arrived at the hotel at 1pm, and were welcomed by a friendly made. The place felt beautiful, and was just what we were hoping for. The maid brought us some drinks, and we waited. And we waited. And we waited. After about 40 minutes the maid returned and explained that our booking must be 'in the other hotel', as they had no rooms free. She told us it was just as nice, and in the old town. A bit disappointed to be leaving Getsemani, we headed off in a taxi to town.

Eventually we arrived at the alternative hotel. It was immediately clear that it wasn't anything like as nice as Carretero. The room was basic, and the bed rock hard. I explained this, and called booking.com. The staff were friendly, but couldn't really do much. Eventually we walked back to Getsemani with 1 guy who showed us an even more basic hotel/room for 150 mil. At this point we'd wasted more than 2 hours, we're very hungry, and had nowhere to stay...

During lunch booking.com called and explained that the hotel had to find us an equivalent, or better room. He was surprised they weren't doing anything to help.

After lunch we found the Allure Chocolat Hotel nearby. They offered us a great room, with a discount. I called booking.com and they agreed to pay the difference (70 mil)

So, be very careful if you are booking this hotel. They only have 3 rooms, and may tell you they are full, and try and send you somewhere else that's not even close to the same standard.

I'd recommend calling the hotel to make sure they actually have a room. If not you could spend hours wandering around Cartagena getting frustrated...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TomCHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarreteroGroup, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Tom, we are very sorry that the recommended hotels did not work out for you. We hope to be able to host you in the future. Our staff tried very hard to find you a hotel somewhere else at the last minute but the city was full. We continue to offer all of our guests the best services in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a very good place to stay in Cartagena. Nice and clean rooms, pool on the roof, good service. It's a small business with only 3 rooms. The location is good, in the heart of Getsemani, close to the historical center, but much cheaper than staying there. There was a wrong information given to us by the staff about bus rides on departure day due to misunderstanding. Except that, very good experience and good price for Cartagena standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrouchka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the service provided by Maria. She is outstanding and the friendliest. The location is good but if you don't like constant noise, don't stay here as Plaza Trinidad nearby is always loud and lively. The place lacks attention to detail in the accommodations. For 400$/night I would expect high end things like good pillows which had to be folded to avoid neck aches, the advertised L'Occitane products (no products were of this brand. For example, no lotion was provided until I asked for it. Maria bought Nivea for us.); more space/shelves for our clothing. The AC had to be manually adjusted. It became to cold and it would not shut off. The pool in the upstairs terrace is a good space to unwind. The initial breakfast was not good. A gourmet breakfast should never include pre-fabricated frozen stuff. The juices were many and delicious as were the fruit platters. The breakfast improved greatly after Maria asked what we wanted.
In a nutshell, this place is overpriced, has excellent service and average accommodations.

Room Tip: Well located but loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjcjr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The best choice if you want to live in the midst of Getsemani´s intangible heritage. With unmatched staff and services, the Casa el Carretero is a unique experience in Cartagena tourism with a great breakfasts and a wonderful view from the top of the historical venues of the city. Luis and María treat you like kings in quite respectful and discrete way.

Room Tip: Just get there, it's awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubenEgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarreteroGroup, Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank your for your comments on your experience with the Hotel ruben. We appreciate your feedback. The staff works very hard to ensure all guests have a unique experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

There are no signs on the street distinguishing the Casa El Carretero from any of the other Spanish colonial houses in Cartagena's historic Getsemani neighborhood. And that is the experience the hotel offers inside as well.

Classy and tasteful with only three rooms and a small but professional staff, Casa El Carretero offers an intimate reprieve from the high-flung tourism of the Old City, located a few blocks away. It's just alongside of Plaza de la Trinidad, an open nightlife hub with music and food and the colorful energy only a genuinely local scene can provide.

I only spent one night in the hotel, unfortunately, but after weeks of business travel at high-priced Hiltons and Sheraton chains, it was the best night I could have asked for. All the accommodations and service without any of the over-sanitized, commercial atmosphere.The room was spacious, with an excellent bed and a beautiful stone basin overhead shower. From the rooftop wading pool, I could listen to the music coming from the plaza and see the Castillo de San Feliz, South America's oldest fort, lit up in the distance. Breakfast was in the modern, family-style kitchen area: fresh pineapple, cantaloupe and pitahalla with orange juice, coffee, eggs and arepa.

This was my fifth time in Cartagena. I've stayed with friends and at hostels and hotels. Casa El Carretero is the best way I know of to get a rich, authentic experience of the city from the comfort of a private, relaxed setting. Take away the stress and confinement of your usual hotel stay and all that's left is an incredible visit.

Room Tip: The room on the street side has tiny balconies with views of the plaza and gets good sunlight during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This house will not be forgotten. I had 3 days to visit with my boyfriend in Cartagena and it made the trip seem longer staying here. I wish I had booked for the next trip there but unfortunately had already made other plans. The staff is seamless and available but give you a nice amount of privacy as well. They made us feel right at home from beginning to end. I love the way the house is laid out with the first floor facilities and the small pool and sitting areas with beautiful foliage surrounding. We saw one or two other guests the entire time. The tree that goes from the first floor up through the building structure is amazing. It is simple, yet beautiful with amazing wood furniture but not overdone! Peaceful stay, can't wait for the next visit...I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: The first room at the top of the stairs was small but an excellent rate on these dates and all we ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reidcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#48 of 151 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#47 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#61 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#101 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Carretero

Property: Casa El Carretero
Address: Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa El Carretero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa EL Carretero is a colonial boutique hotel located in the historical neighborhood of El Getsemani in the city of Cartagena, Colombia. The vision was to create an Indonesian oasis in a century old Spanish colonial home with all the comforts of XXI century living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa El Carretero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Carretero Cartagena
Casa El Carretero Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing