We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa El Carretero
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casa Lola(Cartagena)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Martin Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
225
58
14
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
58
14
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbose sound systemluxury villaentire houseold citycolombian breakfasttrinidad plazawalled cityhouse is beautifulevery morningother guestslovely boutiquewe loved our stayarepasmin walkcartagena experienceold house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was more than happily surprised with this hotel. The hotel was clean, in a great location, inexpensive and the staff was phenomenal. We only stayed one night but I would have loved to stay longer. Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jabalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a great deal! Totally worth the mani!

Let's talk about this. First off, beautiful room with cute balcony overlooking the street. Then you walk into the the beautiful bathroom - which is cool (I like a cold bathroom, just me?) - and a shower in which you don't need Calgon to take you away. The place only has three rooms and this is the suite, dare I say, suitest room there is.

The breakfast is lovingly served up in the morning and there's always someone on duty to let you in late-nights. Cheers to Casa El Cattero for the darn good digs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidhodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarreteroGroup, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello David, we are happy you enjoyed the property, its decoration, service and the neighborhood. We hope to be able to host you sometime in the near future.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very friendly staff and overall a very good hotel. Great breakfast made to order. Lovely pool area. Located just outside the old city. Easy to get around. Lots of restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood. ...................................... .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in January 2014. Highly recommended for a number of reasons:

(1) Great service. Sol and Isolinda, two hotel employees we interacted with during our stay, were both delightful. They were helpful with everything we needed. The big breakfast they made, which includes a massive plate of fresh fruit, was quite tasty.

(2) Great location. Getsemani is a charming neighborhood, without the daily and noisy bustle of Old Town during the workday. At night, though, Getsemani lights up, with dozens of people congregating in nearby Trinidad Plaza and people playing music all over the neighborhood. It's a great time to explore the area. For light sleepers, I recommend bringing earplugs.

(3) Great facilities. The bedroom we stayed in, on the second floor, was clean, comfortable, and romantic. It was small but not too small. We had a balcony facing the street, shared with the room next door. The small rooftop pool might be the best part of the hotel--it's an incredibly relaxing place to get some sun and cool off during the hottest parts of the day. They have little coves for shade, and an iPod cord for you to play your own music on the outdoor speakers, if you wish. With only 3 rooms total, the place feels very private--we had the rooftop to ourselves both times we went up there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarreteroGroup, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Our staff appreciates that you had a great time and felt special at our property. We strive to provide each guest with a unique experience in Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Sad to read Tom's review. What a terrible experience. We enjoyed our time here. As there are only 3 rooms, it often feels like your own private casa. We spent relaxing afternoons on the roof terrace, in the pool and sitting in the shade. Perfect between morning and evening sightseeing and exploring. Our main problem was our poor Spanish as no English is spoken. However, Maria and Isolina tried hard to understand us and with good humour and mime we managed. The rooms are comfortable, the 2 front ones have a small balcony over looking the street. We weren't bothered by the noise from the square as there are thick shutters you can close at night. We did have a problem when I booked for another 3 nights, but accidently booked February instead of January. (No one to blame but me, how maddening!). By the time Maria pointed out my mistake, they were full for one of the nights. Both the hotel and booking .com were very helpful in sorting it out and we moved for one night to the hotel in the centre I guess Tom is talking about. Ok, but not so nice, I agree, so we were happy to move back for the last night.

So, to summarise - a lovely hotel, great position near the square. A good base for a Cartagena stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews