We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Casa El Carretero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa El Carretero
Ranked #74 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really cannot recommend a stay here enough! A boutique style colonial homestead in walking distance from old city and many sites. Operated by 3 very lovely welcoming ladies who cook you up breakfast everyday, the food was delicious! Because it's not a traditional hotel they don't come knocking at 8 or 9 am to change your room, they patiently wait until you're out for the day and then you come back to fresh towels and made-up bed. Wifi was perfect and allowed us to FaceTime home. The pool area is cosy and amazing! The pictures really don't do the place justice but I am so glad I trusted them and tried this place. Will definitely stay again. It would be be beneficial to know a little Spanish, however I'm sure u can always manage without!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarreteroGroup, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello HayeHaye, thank you for your feedback. We will be refreshing the web site pictures in September. We hope to be able to host you soon.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    58
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
136
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Shores, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely boutique hotel 5 minute walk from Cartagena's walled old city, right in the core of bohemian trendy Getsemani's quarter. This is a simple buy stilish hotel. I was there with my wife and 3 children ages 10-14 (we live in miami). We just loved it. We felt that we had our own home in Cartagena. Service was very friendly and responsive. The rooms were clean and very adequate, with A/C in good condition. Breakfast was fabulous: fresh tropical fruits, fresh made juices, traditinally prepared eggs with arepas. The roof top pool is a treat after a long and hot trip to Islas del Rosario. I am definitely coming back soon.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms available. we stayed at the ones facing the street. they have a noce balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarreteroGroup, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you Carlos L for your review on the property. Our staff always tries to accommodate to each guests needs. We hope to be able to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is more like a guest house. With only 3 rooms, it feels like a exclusive, beautiful private home. We stayed 4 nights and had a great time.
The breakfasts were great - fresh fruit, coffee, fresh juice, and then a choice between continental vs. typical. Both were fantastic - definitely not a weight loss trip :)
The service was great, check in/out was a breeze, we were on the rooftop drinking beers within 5 minutes of our arrival! They also arranged a cab for us to the airport at 430A.
The hotel feels very secure - guests don't even have an exterior key (which seems weird at first, but then you quickly realize that is essential for safety - as guests could easily lose a key, thus compromising everyone's safety). You buzz at the door when you want to get in, they promptly arrive to look out the window and then let you in at any time. We did have an in room safe, but didn't feel the need to use it.
The neighborhood itself is the grittier Getsemani - so you just need to be smart. The old city itself is so small - we could easily walk to dinner in El Centro or San Diego barrios within 10 minutes and the castillo is about a 15 min walk away.
The pool and rooftop is the absolute selling point of this hotel. It felt like a private oasis at a fabulous home. Cartagena is really hot so afternoon siestas area must. We spent our afternoons lounging at the pool, reading books, etc.

The only very minor issues I can think of are: lack of maps; the A/C is so cold - there was no "auto" setting - so it continued to run despite the temp of the room. we always ended up turning it off half way through the night and just sleeping with the ceiling fan.

This hotel was fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Cartagena!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller/cheaper Java Suite - perfect for us and closest to the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel in Cartagena's lively Getsemani neighborhood. It was comfortable, and stylish, and we enjoyed the rooftop pool and the excellent service. It was quiet and easy to sleep there. The breakfasts were excellent with fresh fruit and freshly cooked eggs or traditional breakfast (empanadas etc.). The hosts were very helpful and quick to help us with any questions, concerns, directions, calling taxis etc. We would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Enjoy a bottle of wine in the roof top pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Texas guy married to a Bogota girl ...We loved our stay here very relaxing and private felt like a very exclusive and private resort first couple days had our breakfast in bed brought up to us.. very delicious food the little plaza off the entrance is lively with music and dancing aerobics great great atmosphere five min walk from walled city great great great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorilonTejano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful family house, with 2 very nice ladies taking good care of you! The house is charming ad the service perfect. It only has 3 rooms, very cozy and new decor, very colonial and exotic at the same time. Breakfast is made just for you at your taste, lots of fruit and juices, plus your chooce of eggs or typical Colombian empanadas. Te pool on the roof top is nice to refresh in the warm weather. A pitty that it is out of the city walls. Not far though. 5 min walking

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAOS_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed three nights at casa el Carretero and I got a very good impression as they offered excellent service, breakfasts were delicious and staff "Isolina, Maria and Luis were very friendly. Neighborhood was amaizing full of contrasts and different kind of people. It was a real trip into Cartagena's culture and citizens. I would not hesitate to recommend them and I wish I could go back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanpablomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#49 of 155 in Cartagena
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#56 of 155 in Cartagena
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#61 of 155 in Cartagena
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#63 of 155 in Cartagena
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#58 of 155 in Cartagena
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Tere
Hotel Casa Tere
#114 of 155 in Cartagena
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Carretero

Property: Casa El Carretero
Address: Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa El Carretero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa EL Carretero is a colonial boutique hotel located in the historical neighborhood of El Getsemani in the city of Cartagena, Colombia. The vision was to create an Indonesian oasis in a century old Spanish colonial home with all the comforts of XXI century living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa El Carretero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Carretero Cartagena
Casa El Carretero Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing