We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the place to stay in cartagena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Casita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mi Casita
Ranked #57 of 158 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Popayan, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the place to stay in cartagena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a great time at mi casita. Its a lovely and spacious home, with a fully equiped kitchen, a nice terrace and within walking distance from the touristic center. Moreover Amélia and julian are lovely people, providing all the info we needed from nice restaurants to where to stay in isla Rosario, and making us feel at home :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebasgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a month over Christmas and had a lovely time. Amelia and Julian were the perfect hosts and the place has a lovely feel. There aren´t too many people staying there so it feels more like living with a family than some of the other full-on hostels and hotels I have stayed at in Cartagena and Colombia. The room was spacious and comfortable and the shared spaces are great. The Sunday barbeques organised by the hosts are a great chance to meet some local people and the barrio Manga is a lovely spot to hunker down for a long-term stay away from the hectic hostels in the centre. All told it´s a fantastic place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Mi Casita is a great big house with lots of space to relax. I lived in the house from December to February 2014 along with my boyfriend. There is a fully equipped kitchen which is so important for longer stays. Our room was really big so perfect for the two of us and all of our stuff! Close by there is a great bakery/pizza place, a 24 hour supermarket, ice-cream place and pharmacy all about 2 mins walk. For me, the location is perfect. I went for runs near the bay at night (100 metres away) and could walk to Getsemani in 10 mins or El Centro in 20 (taxis $2.50). Everyone else in the house was also very lovely - a mix of Colombians and international guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretobrien77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at Mi Casita for a few nights while experiencing Cartagena. The place is really well equipped and in a great location - far enough to avoid too much noise at night, but close enough to walk easily into the old city. Julien and Amelia were incredibly helpful and generous with their wealth of local knowledge. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a fantastic few days at Mi Casita. Julian and Amelia were thoroughly charming, helpful and welcoming in their beautiful, tranquil and well supplied guest house. They made us feel at home and directed us to all the right places in Cartagena, from beaches to restaurants, surfing spots and city runs. The location is perfect, close enough to easily wander to all the town centre's interesting spots, and just far enough away to be relaxing and peaceful. The kitchen is very well equipped and a blender, juicer, washing machine and clean drinking water all add practicality to the graceful simplicity of this pleasant home. There's also a bbq on the shady patio, a cosy sitting room with tv and dvd, and a well stocked and useful 'bibliotecita' (mini-library) for borrowing and exchanging. This is certainly the place to enjoy Cartagena and its surrounding beautiful islands and beaches from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasj1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. It's not super fancy, but nice and clean, and the hosts are really friendly and knowledgeable about Cartagena and Colombia in general. I really liked the location because it's a little bit away from the very crowded old town, so it's nice and quite, but it's a very easy walk to centro and the Getsemani neighborhood that has tons of cool bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was only here for one night. But if good people attract good people, it was certainly the case here. Both the owners and guests.

The location is perfect, walking distance from everything in the old town, but far enough away to be more chilled out.

Oh, we had a lovely BBQ the night i was there too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dabush45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#84 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto De Manga
Hotel Puerto De Manga
#91 of 158 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Castel
Casa Castel
#33 of 158 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Torices Real
Casa Torices Real
#39 of 158 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casita

Property: Mi Casita
Address: Manga, 24-179 Callejon de los Besos | Primer Piso, Cartagena 1001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family style house share accomodation for local and intenational visitors/workers. A large ground floor shared apartment residing in the tranquil neighbourhood of Manga, just around the corner from the bay. Short and long term stay welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing