We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agua Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Delirio Hotel(Cartagena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centro Hotel(Cartagena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel LM(Cartagena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Pombo(Cartagena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aguamarina(Cartagena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
35
8
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
8
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Thsi is a little boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Cartagena. I was told this was in fact the first boutique hotel in Cartagena about ten year ago. The standards are really high, what you would expect in an outstanding hotel. It has only like 6 rooms and this makes it really special. The staff were very vice and helpful. The ladies atthe reception, Yen and Helena were on top of all our requests and had really good suggestions for restaurants, etc. We went from here to their sister hotel in Baru which was also a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: It is on the expensive side. The view from the window is to an interior patio and a corridor inside the hotel. The decoration of the hotel has been done with a lot of taste and attention to detail.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at Agua Hotel for three nights in November. The Hotel is gorgeous and all the staff are delightful and eager to please. The rooms well appointed but no mini bar, the beds are comfortable and the air-conditioning very efficient (and it needs to be in Cartagena). We stayed in room 4 which was small and the en suite shower room was also on the small side. Pay the extra $40 a night and go for room 5.we would have had we been given the choice. The sitting room area is very nice with comfortable sofas and armchairs. The breakfast area is delightful.
All is not perfect however.
1) It would have been nice if we had been offered an upgrade to a larger room particularly as we were the only guests staying in the hotel and management decided to re-decorate the sitting room area whilst we were there making it unusable for two days.
2) Bottled water should have been provided in the rooms. We had to ask for it and were charged for it.
3) If you want a second cup of coffee at breakfast you will be charged for it. (even if you ate virtually nothing at breakfast).
When paying $500 a night this is penny pinching.

Room Tip: Get room 5 if you can, it is on the internal courtyard and quiet and with a really good size bathroom. Room 4 is small and with only a shower.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savannah747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Boutique Agua is like a pair of comfy, well-word Lobbs: bespoke, personalised, magical, and yet, oddly, familiar.

My visit resembled that of staying with close friends with excellent taste. All politesse observed, from accommodating - superlatively eager-to-please - staff, and personalised touches like fruit & welcome notes from Sergio Castano, one of the owners. Nobody hovers. Everything magically appears, before the thought occurs.

Decor is decor-magazine-worthy, redolent of world travellers who have assembled the best of their global aesthetics in an intimate, colonial Cartegena townhouse. The pool level is lovely, with views to-die-for, particularly accompanied by agua con gas, or yummy mojitos. Mind the steep/ slippery stairs, though.

Rooms: this hotel is truly boutique - just FIVE rooms. Go for the Superior rooms, or stay elsewhere, IMHO. Rooms 1, 5 and 6, are especially recommended. Room 4 lacks light. Decent sheets, relatively OK mattresses & squishy pillows, high-ceilinged A/C rooms, fresh fruit & roses, with balconies, elegantly-quaint bathrooms, and thoughtful touches like lavender sprigs on pillows + wearer reports = a nice refuge from hustle & bustle outside.

Service: Ne plus ultra. Special thanks to Elena at the front desk who directed me to restaurants like La Vitrola, Don Juan, and discreet shops around Cartagena. She was able to secure reservations at La Vitrola, whereas friends staying at Sofitel Santa Clara were met with a polite "non."

Downside: having to ring the doorbell to get in - might be better to have security by the front door? Would also love to see more bottled water in rooms, and daily replenishment of toiletries. At over USD$500++/ night, I'd rather not to have to ask for another bar of so-so soap, or request my sheets & towels be changed daily.

Minor inconveniences, really, but something one would rather not deal with at this class of accommodations. Car service: grab a cab. USD$37 for a USD$4 ride from CTG to Calle Ayos, in an unremarkable (albeit clean) vehicle, does not equate luxury, nor good sense.

Location: A+++. Metres from Plaza Bolivar/La Cathedral, 2 blocks from Plaza Santo Domingo, and a brisk walk to Santa Clara/Theresa etc. Skipping distance from museums, restaurants, shops etc. Superb.

Food: B&B. Breakfast is included, a la carte. The Columbian repasts require an hour's notice, but will magically appear the next day, if previously requested, and if you are up closer to 11am vs 8am.

Children: These have not been observed. I suspect the steep stairs, price-point, & small size, as well as lack of facilities, discourage young adults. I assume this is not deliberate, given that Hotel Agua is pet-friendly. :-)

No complaints, otherwise. Conscientious and friendly staff, a homely atmosphere, comfortable common areas, mosquito-free rooms with all your creature comforts make for wonderful Colombian hospitality.

I'd return again. And again. Thank you, everyone at Hotel Boutique Agua, for this memorable adventure. :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Agua in October for our honeymoon! What a beautiful place to stay at! The staff was amazing and we truly were treated like royalty, we even got a special hand-written "thank you for staying with us" note from the owner himself whom we also got to meet in person. The rooms are beautifully designed and decorated, as a matter of fact the whole place looks like it should be on the cover of the most prestigious decorating magazine! The food is delicious and home made from scratch in their kitchen. The hotel is small and only has 5 rooms which was perfect for us as we were seeking more privacy. There is a pool on the roof and a dining area surrounded by palm trees and a wonderful view of the old Cartagena city, The location is perfect, right in the heart of the old city and what a delight it is to take a horse and carriage tour, shop the boutiques and have dinner and drinks in a different restaurant every night not to mention all the historical sites and museums you can visit!! Just a few mins by a cab and you can visit the modern Cartagena as well, lots to see and do!
In short we absolutely loved it and will definetly stay at Agua again, perhaps for an anniversary?

One thing about this hotel is that you can expect the beds to be hard, we are used to our Canadian mattress and we woke up sore in pressure points.. that is the standard in Colombia though..

Room Tip: any room is beautiful at Agua
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

It is very well located, near to the main historical places in the walled city. It’s a good taste restored house, it has 5 rooms (not big) comfortable, calm and clean, a small poll at the last floor. The best of it is its people –and good service is not always easy to find in the city if you don’t show a bill-, so staff is so helpful. Another nice aspect is decoration and design –if you are sensible to that-. Nevertheless for that price you can get a big room in best chain hotels of Cartagena. So if you are traveling in couple and are interested in a luxury stay, this is your hotel, if you are more than two and love room service food, book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaelTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews