We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in cartagena”
Review of Agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Hotel
Ranked #126 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Buenos Aires
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in cartagena”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It's the second time we choose Agua Hotel for staying in Cartagena.
The ambience and decoration is superb and the breakfast absolutely delicious.
The location is perfect it is close to the finest restaurants and bara in Cartagena.
We had an awesome time an will surely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I am an extreme world traveler and my standards are high. Traveling to Cartagena on a recent business trip, my colleague from Bogota recommended the Agua Hotel for ambiance and location. As has already been stated, the location is excellent, walking distance to all the sites in the old city and every top shelf restaurant you would want to dine at. The staff was great, very friendly and eager to please and make your stay enjoyable. The hotel itself is like staying in a high class home. Breakfast was fantastic, room and general areas of the hotel were unique and clean. If you want the same old experience, stay at the Hilton. if you want a really unique, albeit expensive experience, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed three days in this beautiful small boutique hotel. You come in from the bustling street to this oasis of calm - it has been beautifully decorated keeping the stone walls & columns but with excellent use of mirrors, plants & water to make it seem much larger than it is. There are only 5/6 rooms but it is peaceful with comfortable beds, pillows and bathrooms. The roof terrace with lovely small pool is extremely comfortable & lovely to go to in the afternoon to relax &enjoy the breeze. It is in a great position in the walled town almost in the centre with easy access to the churches, squares & museums. The breakfasts were good and the staff charming and helpful although l must say on arrival we could have had a warmer welcome from the ladies on the desk (although that may be because only one spoke english) also l think that in a place so special free water every day by your bed would have been much appreciated - our first free bottle was not replenished. As to restaurant suggestions l would definitely have dinner at Salou which is nearby. These are small niggles though and really this hotel is lovely & l would definitely recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

What a great sigh of relief I had when I first entered the door. The owners have exquisite taste. Amazing attention to detail and every corner is picture perfect. Sometimes hotels can be gorgeous to look at but not entirely functional but here it is both. I don't know how they did it but everything is pristine and clean which is pretty difficult given how hot and humid the weather is. Nothing smells or feel stale. This is the last leg of my journey through Mexico and panama. Every place else I stayed in this trip is supposedly excellent and yet severely flawed. This is the first time I am able to relax and relax I did. This place has this magical touch of making you feel at home immediately and this is what we travelers want really. I love the fact that they don't squeeze in a restaurant in their property like so many other hotels in this city do. It makes it so much more private and quiet. The bed is very comfortable and for once in the entire trip the air conditioning is fully adjustable without the vent blowing directly onto my head which happens in every single hotel I stayed in this trip including the mandarin Oriental Miami. I took a day trip to the agua baru in the Rosario islands and that was absolutely wonderful and highly recommended. There are many hidden charges which kind of leave a bad taste in the mouth but is quickly forgiven just because the hotel is so beautiful. Breakfast would have been nice if one can order pancakes and an egg at the same time. you see if you have pancake, even a soft boiled egg would be extra. i would think an egg would not put a huge dent on the P&L but would have gained tons of good will. Some facial tissue in the room would have been nice too. And instead of a bar of soap I would have preferred some shower gel but hey nothing can be that perfect, ok perhaps at the amans. The location of the property also could not have been better. I think it's one of the nicest streets in the old city with many good restaurant a short walk away. All in all it has been a wonderful experience in this charming city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiya, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Thsi is a little boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Cartagena. I was told this was in fact the first boutique hotel in Cartagena about ten year ago. The standards are really high, what you would expect in an outstanding hotel. It has only like 6 rooms and this makes it really special. The staff were very vice and helpful. The ladies atthe reception, Yen and Helena were on top of all our requests and had really good suggestions for restaurants, etc. We went from here to their sister hotel in Baru which was also a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: It is on the expensive side. The view from the window is to an interior patio and a corridor inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at Agua Hotel for three nights in November. The Hotel is gorgeous and all the staff are delightful and eager to please. The rooms well appointed but no mini bar, the beds are comfortable and the air-conditioning very efficient (and it needs to be in Cartagena). We stayed in room 4 which was small and the en suite shower room was also on the small side. Pay the extra $40 a night and go for room 5.we would have had we been given the choice. The sitting room area is very nice with comfortable sofas and armchairs. The breakfast area is delightful.
All is not perfect however.
1) It would have been nice if we had been offered an upgrade to a larger room particularly as we were the only guests staying in the hotel and management decided to re-decorate the sitting room area whilst we were there making it unusable for two days.
2) Bottled water should have been provided in the rooms. We had to ask for it and were charged for it.
3) If you want a second cup of coffee at breakfast you will be charged for it. (even if you ate virtually nothing at breakfast).
When paying $500 a night this is penny pinching.

Room Tip: Get room 5 if you can, it is on the internal courtyard and quiet and with a really good size bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savannah747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Boutique Agua is like a pair of comfy, well-word Lobbs: bespoke, personalised, magical, and yet, oddly, familiar.

My visit resembled that of staying with close friends with excellent taste. All politesse observed, from accommodating - superlatively eager-to-please - staff, and personalised touches like fruit & welcome notes from Sergio Castano, one of the owners. Nobody hovers. Everything magically appears, before the thought occurs.

Decor is decor-magazine-worthy, redolent of world travellers who have assembled the best of their global aesthetics in an intimate, colonial Cartegena townhouse. The pool level is lovely, with views to-die-for, particularly accompanied by agua con gas, or yummy mojitos. Mind the steep/ slippery stairs, though.

Rooms: this hotel is truly boutique - just FIVE rooms. Go for the Superior rooms, or stay elsewhere, IMHO. Rooms 1, 5 and 6, are especially recommended. Room 4 lacks light. Decent sheets, relatively OK mattresses & squishy pillows, high-ceilinged A/C rooms, fresh fruit & roses, with balconies, elegantly-quaint bathrooms, and thoughtful touches like lavender sprigs on pillows + wearer reports = a nice refuge from hustle & bustle outside.

Service: Ne plus ultra. Special thanks to Elena at the front desk who directed me to restaurants like La Vitrola, Don Juan, and discreet shops around Cartagena. She was able to secure reservations at La Vitrola, whereas friends staying at Sofitel Santa Clara were met with a polite "non."

Downside: having to ring the doorbell to get in - might be better to have security by the front door? Would also love to see more bottled water in rooms, and daily replenishment of toiletries. At over USD$500++/ night, I'd rather not to have to ask for another bar of so-so soap, or request my sheets & towels be changed daily.

Minor inconveniences, really, but something one would rather not deal with at this class of accommodations. Car service: grab a cab. USD$37 for a USD$4 ride from CTG to Calle Ayos, in an unremarkable (albeit clean) vehicle, does not equate luxury, nor good sense.

Location: A+++. Metres from Plaza Bolivar/La Cathedral, 2 blocks from Plaza Santo Domingo, and a brisk walk to Santa Clara/Theresa etc. Skipping distance from museums, restaurants, shops etc. Superb.

Food: B&B. Breakfast is included, a la carte. The Columbian repasts require an hour's notice, but will magically appear the next day, if previously requested, and if you are up closer to 11am vs 8am.

Children: These have not been observed. I suspect the steep stairs, price-point, & small size, as well as lack of facilities, discourage young adults. I assume this is not deliberate, given that Hotel Agua is pet-friendly. :-)

No complaints, otherwise. Conscientious and friendly staff, a homely atmosphere, comfortable common areas, mosquito-free rooms with all your creature comforts make for wonderful Colombian hospitality.

I'd return again. And again. Thank you, everyone at Hotel Boutique Agua, for this memorable adventure. :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#83 of 155 in Cartagena
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#37 of 155 in Cartagena
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#53 of 155 in Cartagena
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Don Sancho By Mustique
Casa Don Sancho By Mustique
#74 of 155 in Cartagena
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotel

Property: Agua Hotel
Address: Calle de Ayos 4-29, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing