We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a 2 star rated Hotel....it was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiance and I spent our week in Cartagena at this hotel. The staff are friendly, caring and attentive. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were in an all inclusive package and the food was amazing. Every meal had something for everyone and the staff were extremely attentive. The building was clean and comfortable and the pool area well attended. I can't say enough about the staff. Although there is somewhat of a language barrier, there was always someone there who spoke English and was happy to translate for you. The hotel security was amazing always making sure your stay is hastle free. I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to the beautiful city of Cartagena

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and the view was amazing as our window had a view of the ocean on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

En nombre de todo el personal del hotel Cartagena Plaza, agradecemos su preferencia. Es un gusto para nosotros saber que usted y su pareja disfrutaron de nuestras instalaciones y del servicio personalizado que ofrecemos. Día a día nos esforzamos para que nuestros huéspedes, vivan una experiencia gratamente inolvidable. La invitamos a que nos siga visitando y tener nuevamente la oportunidad de atenderlos de la mejor manera.

Cordial Saludo

Christian Romero Duque
Coordinador de Servicio al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel location is great, no doubt about it, but there are some improvements they have to make to stay competitive. In this area, there are plenty of options and big towers are in the works right now. Accommodation in Bocagrande will get a major boost when the surrounding hotels are fully operational.

I was in Cartagena for business, but I had a Sunday in the middle, so I decided to book here as opposed to closer to the Convention Center. This area of Bocagrande is quite enjoyable and right in the middle (as opposed to the Hotel Caribe).

One thing I have to say is that time has come for the Cartagena Plaza to renovate and improve in terms of quality and service. They will face rough competition and their present situation will not help them. The staff is OK but they operate in a "resort mode" when they really should be welcoming both business and pleasure travelers and consider their own special needs. For this reason, they are very strict in terms of check in, check outs and room allocations. You have to wait at the lobby until they clear your reservation and find you a room accordingly. Not a good experience if your time is sensitive.

The overall facilities need an urgent upgrade: bathrooms, closets, furniture, restaurant have not been renovated in a while and are in need for major improvements. The features are functional but quite outdated. To be fair with the Plaza, I should say that Hotel Caribe and others in the surrounding area are in the same situation.

Having said so, however, you may find a good deal here, specially if you are staying for a week or so. Prices in Cartagena have a tendency to go up and sometimes the extra expense is not worth it (e.g. Decameron). If you are on a leisure trip and are not demanding at all, staying here will save you good dollars.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better. Don't go all the way to the top though, as the mini-pool is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Agradecemos de antemano el compartir sus opiniones con nosotros, sus comentarios son muy valiosos y sin duda alguna los tendremos en cuenta. Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente, pues será un placer volver a recibirle y ofrecerle una vez más lo mejor de nuestros servicios.

Saludos cordiales,

Christian Romero Duque
Coordinador de Servicio al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I never been to South America and pretty much spend my whole life in New York but let me tell you something I really enjoy my time here. Here what I think of this place.

Pros: The hotel is in a great area, right across from the beach. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are clean.

Cons: The hotel food is not that great, the rooms are small and only a few hotel staff can speak English.

Bottle line: The hotel food is not good but I ate at the restaurants around the area. The rooms are small but I didn't care because I was only there to sleep.

Now I'm reading some of these comments that gave negative review to this hotel, I feel like you people think that they're going to pull out the red carpet and kiss your feet until you leave, no. I never left New York and don't speak a word of English and I was able to get by. I went everywhere that I could and enjoy my time. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a perfect score is because of these dam hustler outside the hotel. They are all over cartagena and constantly trying to sell you stuff. Like they are everywhere. Other then that, I love it here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mikenyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel combines super friendly service, amazing location, and Colombian charm.

It is located right on the beach in BocaGrande, about a 6.000cop cab ride from the historic walled city. The staff is super friendly and helpful (go make friends with the bartender and bellhops). The elevators are slow and some of the bathrooms are a little older, but this is Colombia. If you want 5 star go pay for it.


The beds are amazing. We had a great view of the ocean. We even had our own safe, full cable access tv, and breakfast was included.

The breakfast is great too. Make sure to walk the perimeter of the dining room because the omlet bar, hot buffet, and fresh juice bar are against various walls. The French Toast and pancakes though we're sickeningly sweet, but other then that they offered a great choice of Colombian and non Colombian food.


I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a little luxe but still wants social interaction in the hotel. There is a pool and rec room on the top floor with AMAZING views, ample places to lounge and meet other guests, and lots of delicious food choices around the area.


I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Excellent location, great ocean's view, delicious breakfast, definitely I would repeat.

the only exception was the room service, little disappointed with it.

IMHO a good quality/price choice. My girlfriend and me stayed for about a week in this hotel with no problem at all, clean room, towels, comfortable beds and pillows, AC works, 32" LCD TV, good staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhonny_Jor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

You certainly get less then you pay for. The hotel was in need of repair in many areas. Poorly maintained, not clean, not sanitary (the elevators, when they worked smelled like urine) and the room was only cleaned 3 out of 5 days -garbage remained in bathroom pail for 3 days. A/C leaked puddles of water in two of the rooms we rented - even after we reported it to housekeeping. When you come from the beach you are forced to enter the hotel in the rear at the maintenance entrance and shower off in front of the workers in a small dark hallway w/ the staff and other contractors standing next to you. No privacy and treated like you don't belong there. The food at the buffet is disgusting and room is not air conditioned so you eat w 200 other wet, smelly and poorly behaved people. Bartender does not know how to make drinks and only pools straight single measured shot drinks. Besides the staff not speaking or understanding English, on the 4th night after the minibar not being restocked the ultimate insult was at 9:30 at night when we needed a bottle of water the front desk manager told us that they had none and that we had to go to a local store if we wanted to buy it.. If it weren't for the steady 79 Deere temperature in our room maybe we wouldn't have needed the water! Stay away from this place - no matter how many times we mentioned the problems to the staff they just smiled and never took care of anything. After a long day at the beach and touring I cant think of a worse place to end up then a hotel w air conditioning that doesn't work in the lobby, restaurant or your room. Better off sleeping on the beach. If it weren't for Ubaldo the doorman this place should close its doors as it is obviously its owners do not care at all about their guests.

Room Tip: There is no way to get a good room at this place. Period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffs1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After a bad experience at the hotel we had originally booked, at 7pm on a Saturday night we had few choices. Expedia had the place on "special" so I prepaid via card and off we went. The desk clerk held us in the lobby for an hour while she verified that we had actually paid. I was forced to use the lobby PC to log on and print out the receipt for her.
One magnetic key made things difficult with my wife and daughter, the rooftop pool is dated and unattractive. Breakfast buffet begins to run out after 9-30 so get there early if you plan to eat more than dry scrambled eggs. As a last resort it worked OK for us but we moved on ASAP.

Room Tip: choose a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#38 of 158 in Cartagena
1,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#80 of 158 in Cartagena
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#31 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Address: Carrera 1 No 6-154 | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing