We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and loud AC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and loud AC”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

After a disastrous night at the San Felipe Plaza in Cartagena we have decided to sleep at another hotel. We have chosen Cartagena Plaza which offered us a clean room. The hotel itself looks like something out of the 70s but the staff was very nice.
I wasn't able to sleep because the AC was incredible loud. Even turning it off didn't help because the noises of the other ACs were present.
Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we are really thankful for choosing the Hotel Cartagena Plaza as your place of relaxation. Thanks, for your comments about the air conditioning, our goal is to work arduously with the department entrusted to improve the point that you mention and be able to offer to our visitors a pleasant holidays. We are grateful for your preference and we appreciate your comments that are part of the continuous improvement of our hotel.
We hope to have you back with us and of course I am at your disposal whenever you need it.

Sincerely,

Christian Romero Duque
Customer Service Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    557
    295
    113
    87
See reviews for
464
548
61
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We paid for an all inclusive Food was bad. All the had was one buffet restaurant and the other restaurant you had to pay extra to eat at. The bar was horrible it's in the 18th floor opens at 10am and closes at 10pm. After that you have to pay for your drinks out of the hotel. There is a nightclub attached to the hotel where u can have free drinks till 3 am. But it was closed 6 out of the 8 days we were there. The staff was nice but I recommend going to a different hotel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

First of all, we are really thankful about your comments concerning our installations and the schedule of the services we offer. We are in a deep sorrow because your staying at the hotel was not according to your expectations, therefore, the suggestions made will be taken into account and will be spread out with the staff in order to gain an everyday improvement. I invite you to stay in contact with me so in another opportunity I would warrant a pleasant and unforgettable journey.

Sincerely your,
Christian Romero Duque
Supervisor of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel is very overpriced. Catagena itself, other than the old city, is rather ugly. Be prepared to be scammed by the beach vendors. It works like this.
The beach vendors will insist on you trying some food, or massage, while never revealing the price. All they say is "is a promotion" or "it is cheap". Once it comes time to pay, the price will be very overinflated, 4 to 5 times it's worth, and suddenly you will be surrounded by a bunch of big angry beach vendors who intimidate you to pay the price.
If you go to this hotel, look across the street from the main entrance. You'll see a bunch of beach vendors watching the hotel. What they are watching for is 'customers' who did not have enough money to pay. Someone is assigned to watch for you, and they will jump all over you for the outstanding money, plus whatever extra they can intimidate out of you. The beach restaurant across from the hotel entrance is also involved in this scam.
The hotel staff don't care about this scam, they just shrug their shoulders and look away.

There are far nicer places to visit that Cartegena. If you go, visit the old city, then leave.
Try Medellin, it is very nice, and the people are honest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Huésped,

Agradecemos de antemano que nos comparta su apreciación del Hotel Cartagena Plaza. Lamentamos sinceramente todas las incomodidades causadas por los “vendedores de la playa” durante su estadía. Nos encontramos trabajando con nuestro personal para evitar este tipo de circunstancias y mejorar la calidad del servicio hacia nuestros visitantes. Esperamos su pronta visita al Hotel Cartagena Plaza.

Cordialmente

Christian Romero Duque
Coordinador de Servicio al Cliente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiance and I spent our week in Cartagena at this hotel. The staff are friendly, caring and attentive. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were in an all inclusive package and the food was amazing. Every meal had something for everyone and the staff were extremely attentive. The building was clean and comfortable and the pool area well attended. I can't say enough about the staff. Although there is somewhat of a language barrier, there was always someone there who spoke English and was happy to translate for you. The hotel security was amazing always making sure your stay is hastle free. I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to the beautiful city of Cartagena

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and the view was amazing as our window had a view of the ocean on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

En nombre de todo el personal del hotel Cartagena Plaza, agradecemos su preferencia. Es un gusto para nosotros saber que usted y su pareja disfrutaron de nuestras instalaciones y del servicio personalizado que ofrecemos. Día a día nos esforzamos para que nuestros huéspedes, vivan una experiencia gratamente inolvidable. La invitamos a que nos siga visitando y tener nuevamente la oportunidad de atenderlos de la mejor manera.

Cordial Saludo

Christian Romero Duque
Coordinador de Servicio al Cliente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel location is great, no doubt about it, but there are some improvements they have to make to stay competitive. In this area, there are plenty of options and big towers are in the works right now. Accommodation in Bocagrande will get a major boost when the surrounding hotels are fully operational.

I was in Cartagena for business, but I had a Sunday in the middle, so I decided to book here as opposed to closer to the Convention Center. This area of Bocagrande is quite enjoyable and right in the middle (as opposed to the Hotel Caribe).

One thing I have to say is that time has come for the Cartagena Plaza to renovate and improve in terms of quality and service. They will face rough competition and their present situation will not help them. The staff is OK but they operate in a "resort mode" when they really should be welcoming both business and pleasure travelers and consider their own special needs. For this reason, they are very strict in terms of check in, check outs and room allocations. You have to wait at the lobby until they clear your reservation and find you a room accordingly. Not a good experience if your time is sensitive.

The overall facilities need an urgent upgrade: bathrooms, closets, furniture, restaurant have not been renovated in a while and are in need for major improvements. The features are functional but quite outdated. To be fair with the Plaza, I should say that Hotel Caribe and others in the surrounding area are in the same situation.

Having said so, however, you may find a good deal here, specially if you are staying for a week or so. Prices in Cartagena have a tendency to go up and sometimes the extra expense is not worth it (e.g. Decameron). If you are on a leisure trip and are not demanding at all, staying here will save you good dollars.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better. Don't go all the way to the top though, as the mini-pool is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Agradecemos de antemano el compartir sus opiniones con nosotros, sus comentarios son muy valiosos y sin duda alguna los tendremos en cuenta. Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente, pues será un placer volver a recibirle y ofrecerle una vez más lo mejor de nuestros servicios.

Saludos cordiales,

Christian Romero Duque
Coordinador de Servicio al Cliente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I never been to South America and pretty much spend my whole life in New York but let me tell you something I really enjoy my time here. Here what I think of this place.

Pros: The hotel is in a great area, right across from the beach. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are clean.

Cons: The hotel food is not that great, the rooms are small and only a few hotel staff can speak English.

Bottle line: The hotel food is not good but I ate at the restaurants around the area. The rooms are small but I didn't care because I was only there to sleep.

Now I'm reading some of these comments that gave negative review to this hotel, I feel like you people think that they're going to pull out the red carpet and kiss your feet until you leave, no. I never left New York and don't speak a word of English and I was able to get by. I went everywhere that I could and enjoy my time. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a perfect score is because of these dam hustler outside the hotel. They are all over cartagena and constantly trying to sell you stuff. Like they are everywhere. Other then that, I love it here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikenyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel combines super friendly service, amazing location, and Colombian charm.

It is located right on the beach in BocaGrande, about a 6.000cop cab ride from the historic walled city. The staff is super friendly and helpful (go make friends with the bartender and bellhops). The elevators are slow and some of the bathrooms are a little older, but this is Colombia. If you want 5 star go pay for it.


The beds are amazing. We had a great view of the ocean. We even had our own safe, full cable access tv, and breakfast was included.

The breakfast is great too. Make sure to walk the perimeter of the dining room because the omlet bar, hot buffet, and fresh juice bar are against various walls. The French Toast and pancakes though we're sickeningly sweet, but other then that they offered a great choice of Colombian and non Colombian food.


I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a little luxe but still wants social interaction in the hotel. There is a pool and rec room on the top floor with AMAZING views, ample places to lounge and meet other guests, and lots of delicious food choices around the area.


I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dorado Plaza
Hotel Dorado Plaza
#100 of 153 in Cartagena
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#33 of 153 in Cartagena
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#20 of 153 in Cartagena
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#72 of 153 in Cartagena
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Property: Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Address: Cra 1ra No 6-154 . | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing