We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A elegant bed and breakfast with old world charm.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Castel
Ranked #33 of 158 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“A elegant bed and breakfast with old world charm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Without question this is a beautiful place to stay. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. One of the young ladies that worked there gave me a tour of the building and the grounds. The swimming pool area is really nice. The building is nice and it is convenient. In addition the bed and breakfast is very large. The guest room I stayed in was very large. This bed and breakfast is very comfortable and very quiet. The staff was very helpful. It has old world elegance with all the features of a modern facility. If you are looking for a place to stay that is very romantic and not expensive this is it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kds64300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
24
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

I stayed at Casa Castle for 6 nights during my stay for the month of April 2009. From the moment I arrived, everyone was very nice to me and very informative about all the sites in Cartagena. The hotel and rooms are very lovely, huge and super clean (thanks to the staff). My room had a private bathroom, which added a nice touch. Manga itself, is a very lovely residential town, although it may not be too close to the Center, but it’s definitely a nice area to stay (and one feels safe there, as well!) The owner Peter and his wife, Alexandra was a delight to meet, not the mention, I have to give many thanks to Peter, for assisting my friend in making sure she was able to get a taxi to the airport at such an early departure time (6am), Gracias!

A tasteful breakfast was prepared by Carman, and served on the very nice rooftop deck. The house has two big swimming pools, but unfortunately, I was told that after 5pm, guest are not allowed to swim in it. So if you are visiting the Center during a very hot-long day, and you may want to just come back to the hotel and relax by the pool; just know that the pool is off limit after 5pm:( However, ALL tourist information was made available by Alexandra and the staff when asked. In addition, Alexandra was nice enough to recommended a nice-quieter beach (other than Bocagrande) for some nice relaxation: Playa Del Sol! Awesome beach and outstanding hospitality by Almando! Everything you need is walking distance from Casa Castel: Carulla Supermarket, Pharmacy, and a very small but delicious empanada place right around the corner of the house, called Fritos Tipicos, just in case you get hungry right before dinner time :)

Many thanks to the staff: Carmen (for always going the extra mile for me and answering all my questions I had about the area). As well as, Tatiana and German Senior, (who helped with the reservations via telephone, when I called from New York City…. All are excellent staff! I hope to return – Margarita, NYC

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_NYC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Castel for 4 nights and from the moment I arrived it was a wonderful experience. I am a middle aged female and had never been to Colombia before and I was a little nervious.Peter Betta and his beautiful wife Alexandra and children were so helpful and I felt at ease right away. The hotel and rooms are lovely and much larger and tastefully decorated than one would expect for such a modest price. Included was a fresh , tasteful breakfast prepared by Carman and the staff up on the rooftop deck. There are two big swimming pools and any tourist information required just ask anyone of the friendly staff,in fact my first evening Peters daughter escorted me along the beautiful ocean walkway to a great restaurant and shopping so I wouldent get lost.You feel as if you are in a 5 star Boutique Hotel.Casa Castel is located in a safe quiet residential neibourhood yet a short taxi ride to all the tourist attractions.Thanks for the hospitality and see you next year on my vacation.Nicole

  • Liked — beautiful hotel and lovely breakfast and excellent staff
  • Disliked — nothing as I travel alot and it was all a great experience
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickimac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

This place is run by Peter, an expat wine maker from Southern Tyrol, and his Colombian wife, plus staff.
He created a delightfully curvatious place (almost nothing is rectilinear), recently built (2004), and expanded to an adjacent property for a pretty sizeable lap pool. There even is a fully stacked wine cellar (unfortunately out of reach for guests ;-)
The rooms are huge and super clean, with ensuite bathrooms. However, the rooms are sparsely furnished (no desk, no chairs, no fridge).
Service is very attentive, with free coffee offered anytime, ice anytime. Breakfast is "a la carte", but can be tailored and expanded to your needs. Peter will pull all kinds of extras out of a hat.
Note that (as in many Columbian hotels) the lounge and sitting areas (other than in the rooms) are NOT air conditioned. Free WiFi can be accessed only in the lounge area.
The location is in a relatively quiet cul-de-sac in the suburb of Manga - a pleasant area, and only a 5 minute taxi ride away (COP 5000, USD 2.50) or less than 15 min walk. Large Carrefour supermarket and smaller Carulla Supermarket within walking distance (safe in daytime).
Great place, if one needs to be close to the port area, or prefers to stay outside the walled city proper. If the walled city is the focus of interest, then there are other decent choices closer to town.

  • Liked — Pool, unique building, owner personality, cleanliness, attentive service by staff
  • Disliked — no desk and chair in room, no WiFi in room
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Uhuru966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

Its a great castle home, in Manga's place. Its clean, comfortable bed, great bath...very nice attention by its personal.

I went for work to Cartagena and its close to the historic center, and to the convention center.

The price, very good!...I recommended. Thanks so much for your attention in Casa Castel.

When take a cab, say take me to Manga, to the bolsillo Street.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dago72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

Castel was AMAZING!

I have traveled to more than 40 countries and this "home" was one of the very best! You truly feel as if you are home away from home. Peter and Alexandra create a beautiful and relaxing environment for your stay. Want a bottle of water? Grab one from the common state-of-the-art designer kitchen. Dip in the pool? Ask the attendants for a freshly-squeezed lemonade while doing so. The rooms are very detailed and crafted brilliantly. I only got to stay at the Casa Castel for one night, but the experience was overwhelming. I was on business with my quartet of cruise ship guest entertainers, but WILL return for personal enjoyment in the near future. DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

Me and my wife stood for 10 days at Casa castel and It is Incredible how nice and warm this place is. we have been released from surgery and they took so good care of us. Peter, Alexandra and the girls there. we are so grateful. they treat us like family.
the Castle is located on a very quiet area in the middle of everything. you can walk freely to the local stores or get a cab to the historic Center or Bocagrande for around $2.50 dollars.
thanks so much Peter and Alexandra.
we will be coming back.
Julio and Cynthia from Chicago

  • Liked — Rooms and friendly people
  • Disliked — all was perfect
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jbijol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.7 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Sweety
Casa Sweety
#48 of 158 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fegali Art Boutique
Hotel Fegali Art Boutique
#30 of 158 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Pizarro
Hotel Casa Pizarro
#6 of 160 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Castel

Property: Casa Castel
Address: Av. De La Asamblea Calle 25A #21A 72 | Manga, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Castel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Castel Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing