We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Last summer, we visited Cartagena for the first time. We reached there late in the night without knowing quite what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised when we reached 'Casa Pestagua'. The hotel is very well situated, in the picturesque colonial part of Cartagena, and it is surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops. We received a warm welcome from the staff. Then the next thing that struck us was the patio of the hotel: it is charming, beautiful and peaceful, and immediately reminded us that we were on holiday! Casa Pestagua has only a dozen or so rooms, which gives the staff time to attend to the needs of the guests of the hotel while staying discreet. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a beautiful marble bathroom. The hotel has a wonderful and relaxing spa that you absolutely must try. We also enjoyed an exciting ride in the streets of Cartagena on bicycles that the hotel has available for its guests. And a special mention and thanks to the generous and good humoured manager, Claude, who also happens to be a local star.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Cartagena is a magical place and this hotel captures it better than anywhere. I had been there a few times before and decided to get married there. We filled the rooms with our guests and they were all so blown away. Its small but has the service of a big hotel. Why would you go to such an enchanting place and want to stay anywhere else? A big hotel you can find anywhere. Pestagua captures the spirit of the Old City but with the service of a five star resort. Don't think twice if you can get a reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odeskinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We decided to get married at Casa Pestagua in Beautiful Cartagena de Indias! The experience was Magnificent. The staff made sure that this was our special day and everything was great. We stayed at Casa Pestagua for one week. The colonial architecture of the house is amazing, the grand suites are spacious and beautiful, the food is great, and the service is excellent. I try to go to Cartagena any time I travell to Colombia and Casa Pestagua is my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea_Barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We went to Casa Pestague early November 2010, and were very disappointed about the overall condition of the hotel. The hotel lacks maintenance severely, paintwork is bad and if you look more closely you will see that the hotel is not properly restored.

Unfortunately we encountered heavy rain during our stay which resulted in major leakage in our room (suite Pestagua). We changed room to the suite Mirador, which was better but still the roof was not waterproof. Prices reflect a boutique hotel in very good condition, which it is not.

On a positive note: the rooms are extraordinary large (both regular rooms and the suites) and service is good. The swimming pool is of a decent size (but by no means large), however as it is located at the patio it does not get a lot of sun.

Casa Pestagua can be improved to be a beautiful small boutique hotel, but this would probably require large investment from its owner(s). Until it is probably restored or prices would be strongly reduced, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruudvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcasapestagua, Propriétaire at Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Since May, a rainy season began with an intensity never seen in the country, indeed the most intense in the history of Colombia, and unfortunately, like all old buildings and even modern city, suffer the consequences of the deluge that swept Colombia for seven months without interruption. The building of the Earl of Pestagua dates from the seventeenth century and even though the house has been restored with care and maintenance and, is the subject of more rigorous care, daily downpours never allowed technical correction of the leaks actually affecting in particular Casa Pestagua in two rooms, repair of roofs requiring at least a few days of dry weather to take place. It should be noted that during the rainy season caused by the massive phenomenon “La Nina”, we have always had the understanding of our guests that their good taste, sophistication and culture have led to choose Casa Pestagua precisely because of its exceptional architectural quality and its history. And as I understand very well our guests, an old palace is also by definition a building ... old. In this unfortunate event we have to recognize that being old Casa Pestagua had to suffer the defects of its qualities, a victim of the centuries that just do their charm ...
Fortunately, the nice weather is with us again and we have solved the problems that were affecting the rooms. The palatial hotel is more beautiful than ever, in its aristocratic splendor we hope to receive you for your next stay in Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I LOVED my stay here. There is a feeling of an old colonial mansion through and through, with a lush courtyard, fountain and pool. The rooms are spacious wth a high ceiling with ceiling fan and ac, with closet, vanity, mini-fridge, flat screen TV and small seating area. Wifii available from the bedroom (although was spotty the first day, worked perfectly for the remainder of our stay.) Spacious bathroom, with rain showerhead and L'occitane bath products and bathrobes. Excellent room service (rapid turnover). The front desk staff is very helpful in helping to make reservations at local popular restaurants and arranging tours if need be.
There is a cozy rooftop with 360 views of the Cathedral, Casa del Mar, the ocean and Bocagrande skyline. There is a jacuzzi, 2 lounge chairs and a small patio table. The pool is a cool, quiet oasis, canopy of mango trees with room for 6 lounge chairs; also an area with patio furniture and the bar. The pool is a perfect place to take a welcome late afternoon dip after a day of wandering the city in the humid Cartagena weather. There are quite a few mosquitos around in Cartagena in general, so be sure to bring insect spray. A spa is available, but I did not use it, except for the complimentary foot massage.
Every morning, breakfast is served: tipico (arepas with egg, meat-filled potato fritter, cheese), and american breakfast with fruit plate, croissant/bread basket, eggs any style, and coffee and fresh fruit juice. Since we stayed 5 days, it was a bit monotonous, but still filling and quite good. You can have breakfast in the downstairs dining area, or have it brought up to your room.
The location is prime: located inside the old city, just half a block from Santo Domingo Plaza and a block or 2 from Casa del Mar, starting point to walk along the wall of the old city.

Oh, and, there are bikes at the Casa available for borrowing, highly recommend it as a fun way to explore the old city. Plenty of shaded parks and plazas to rest and savor local treats (fruit carts, sweets stands) or just people watch.

Overall, amazing stay, wonderful place to come "home" to at the end of a day of exploring. Expensive, but totally worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheatthins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed here for three nights with my husband. Right away when you walk in through the giant wooden doors into the lobby from the busy streets of the old city you feel relaxed and welcome. Check in was easy, we were shown to our rooms and handed a delicious welcome beverage. The room as well as the common space in the hotel was incredibly impressive. A relaxing day by the pool, evenings on the roof with views of the city lit up, breakfast by the fountain, and waking up in the comfortable bed after a restful night of sleep. The location could not be beat. Right in next to Plaza Santo Domingo and near Plaza Bolivar, a short walk to Cafe del Mar, which is the best place to catch sunset in Cartagena. The service was great, the front desk made great recommendations for shopping and also booked us on a very nice day trip to the Rosario Islands. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMU2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We visited Casa Pestagua again and the experience was great. They have new administration and have done some changes, the majority for good. Service is still excellent, breakfast was good but like better the one I tried 2 years ago because the typical breakfast also was served with fruits. Orlando was very helpful and gave us good recommendations about restaurants (Fuerte de Armas, Club de pesca, and La Vitrola). We watched the sunset from the Terraza in the jacuzzi enjoying a good glass of wine. The room was beautiful spacious and clean, the bathroom is huge, clean and the shower is like a cascade over your head. The swimmingpool was very refreshing and my kids had a lot of fun. The free foot massage was very good, my ten year-old loved it. The Spa is clean and pretty, the lady who does the massages is good. The vendors on the street in the old city were less annoying. We will come back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelawareIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 158 in Cartagena
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 158 in Cartagena
1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa

Address: Calle de Santo Domingo 33 - 63, Cartagena 30390, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £167 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the three best hotels of charm in the world (Magazine HOTEL & LODGE. Paris, January 2011). One of the 110 most beautiful hotels in the world (L'OFFICIEL VOYAGE, Paris, August 2008), FIABCI award for best architecture restoration. (November 2010) and Certified by Condé Nast Johansens.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa, known as “the most beautiful house in Cartagena”, belonged to the 18th Century Count of Pestagua, a rich and powerful aristocrat who gave his name to this mansion with its impressive colonial architecture.Distinguished by its exquisite architectural and artistic harmony, today the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa offers luxury hotel services, with the comfort and technology expected by the most demanding hotel standards.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa is a boutique hotel with its exclusive offer of 11 rooms housed in spacious grounds, worthy of a first rate luxury hotel.Enjoy the privilege of being attended to in the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa and receiving a totally personalized service in an oasis of peace and tranquility, sheltered by its surrounding walls where you will feel like a lord in the Count’s mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Cartagena
Casa Pestagua Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing