We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely charming property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As others have written, this is a fantastic boutique hotel located in the heart of the walled city. The place exudes charm, history, tranquility, etc. The service was fantastic - all of the staff were incredibly helpful with dinner reservations, taxis, directions, and generally adressing all of our needs (and everyone has a solid command of English). The breakfast was excellent as well. The pool area and the courtyard are beautful. The rooms are very large with huge bathrooms. As others have noted, the one negative about the hotel is that it could use some minor fixing up-- some of the shower drains are slow, one sink handle didn't work, etc. Even with those minor problems, the overall experience exceeds many luxury "5 star" hotels at which I have stayed worldwide.

Room Tip: Room 5 (on the middle level) was great for our kids and is very nice, but the bathroom is very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Location could not be better. Service was phenomenal. Stayed five nights over New Years. Staff helped arrange a number of activities and restaurant reservations. We could not have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I decided to stay in Casa Pestagua after reading the good reviews about it. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and polite. Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was served in a beautiful garden and the pool and upper deck were very relaxing. It is comparable to other boutique hotels in Cartagena with much higher rates.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Juan Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our stay at Casa Pestagua was at the end of our journey, after several close-calls and rustic experiences, and such a wonderful relief from the questionable service we'd experienced across Cartagena. The hotel occupies a beautifully kept Colonial home, with original art hanging on the walls and frescoes of the 17th Century on the impressive staircases and archways. The pool sits quietly in the back, away from the click-clack of horseshoes on cobblestone. Such a pleasant oasis in old Cartagena. Had the basic room on the ground level in the courtyard, and not one complaint. Service was exceptional and rooms were well renovated. Rooftop views pretty stellar, too.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good choice. Don't listen to that French guy ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaneof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we rented a Deluxe room and were invited to pay 5 nights minimum for 2500 USD in advance which we did. When we arrived on Dec 30th, the room that was given to us #13 is not - by far - as described in the site. It is on the grounf floor, with two Windows 5 meters only from the restaurant. We had to close curtains and keep the room fully dark for privacy. The room had no chair and no table to put a laptop. We asked and the personnel brought one chair and one table. Obviously the management does not mantaint the place adequately. The place is very beautiful and the personnel is charming. They do their best to offset the deception and this is why we have stayed in this place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHILIPPE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcasapestagua, Gerente at Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015
Google Translation

Hemos tomado buena nota de su observación y hoy la habitación, por cierto muy grande y con dos niveles y dos baños, cuenta con una mesa y una silla.
Esa habitación, la 3, por lo general es muy apetecida por su tamaño, sus dos habitaciones y sus dos baños. Lamentamos que no hay sido de su agrado y siempre estamos dispuestos a cambiar al huésped de habitación si no cumple con sus expectativas. Lo invitamos con mucho gusto a volver a Casa Pestagua donde tendremos el gusto de hospedarlo dos noches totalmente gratis en una de nuestras hermosas suites, esperando que así puedan disfrutar de la legendaria hospitalidad de Casa Pestagua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We love this place!!! It is going to be a year since we celebrated our Wedding at Casa Pestagua. It was wonderful!! We had the hotel for ourselves for the day before and the day of the celebration. We had guests from different countries staying with us at Casa Pestagua and we had an amazing experience. Everyone loved this hotel. Nayiby's service was outstanding. All the crew was extremely helpful and accomodation to all or our requests. We couldn't have been happier with our stay there and our overall experience.
The rooms are very comfortable, the service and the food is excellent and the hotel is located in the middle of the colonial area, which is the most turistic area in Cartagena. Interestingly it was very quiet and peaceful.
We cannot wait to go back and celebrate a future anniversary there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMBazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I love this place! nayiby and her crew were spectacular. Great service. The hotel is mysterious, beautiful and authentic. I hosted my family and friends for my wedding here and they loved it. I also had my rehearsal dinner and wedding here. I definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank Payoladeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 158 in Cartagena
1,941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa

Address: Calle de Santo Domingo 33 - 63, Cartagena 30390, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £165 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the three best hotels of charm in the world (Magazine HOTEL & LODGE. Paris, January 2011). One of the 110 most beautiful hotels in the world (L'OFFICIEL VOYAGE, Paris, August 2008), FIABCI award for best architecture restoration. (November 2010) and Certified by Condé Nast Johansens.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa, known as “the most beautiful house in Cartagena”, belonged to the 18th Century Count of Pestagua, a rich and powerful aristocrat who gave his name to this mansion with its impressive colonial architecture.Distinguished by its exquisite architectural and artistic harmony, today the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa offers luxury hotel services, with the comfort and technology expected by the most demanding hotel standards.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa is a boutique hotel with its exclusive offer of 11 rooms housed in spacious grounds, worthy of a first rate luxury hotel.Enjoy the privilege of being attended to in the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa and receiving a totally personalized service in an oasis of peace and tranquility, sheltered by its surrounding walls where you will feel like a lord in the Count’s mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Cartagena
Casa Pestagua Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing