We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little hotel if you habla espanol and ok if you don't”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Boutique Veranera
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely little hotel if you habla espanol and ok if you don't”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We selected this 'boutique' cutie in the Old City based on a Trip Advisor rave. After we made reservations (easy) we read some not so great reviews so here's our opinion: We learned that the staff is Spanish speaking before we left home, but were told that one did speak 'pretty good' English. She was available only one hour of our 2 day stay and that made our experience a little difficult. Fortunately we had a translator App on our iPad and the hotel does have good Wi-Fi so we got by. The staff could not have tried harder to please us and they delightfully did. The house is a beauty and the common areas are comfortable and welcoming --especially the roof garden and the first floor patio. Our room (yellow one) was quite small and the platform bed (2 twins pushed together w/2 HARD mattresses) was not very comfortable, but after a day of touring the city, which is great for walking, we were tired enuf to hardly notice. Great bathroom and shower. The location is ideal with two charming plazas within an easy walk, very good reasonable restaurants and lots of fun street action. Complimentary breakfast was good and we had cold bottled water when ever we asked. The house is very clean and the lounge is a good spot to read your guide book. We are not young people, but were happy to see most of the other guests were, and they enjoyed the house as well.

Room Tip: Our small yellow room was only one on ground floor. Quiet and well air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktdts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    38
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
82
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stood at Casa Veranera from Jan 25 to 30 and have to say everything was just wonderful.

We had reserved the green room for 100,00USD/night but got a free upgrade to the suite. The room was very comfortable and my girlfriend really liked the decoration, I just think the window blind could be thicker because the room was bright at 7a.m. but that wasn't exactly a problem because we wake up very early.

The staff was very friendly and helped us with everything, specially Jose Lewis who booked our tours, gave us tips of places to visit and eat, making our experience at Cartagena much better.

The location is great, 1 block from the Plaza de Madri, around 3 blocks from Torre del Reloj and 5 minutes walking from the docks to take the boat to the islands.

Definitely I will stay here again when going back to Cartagena.

Room Tip: The best rooms on the house are the Suite and the Green room (upper floor near the pool) The suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataniel_Borges_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A boutique hotel is a problem when it is pretty to look at and lousy to sleep in. I don't need an art gallery, I need a vacation when I am on vacation! First off, wooden windows, instead of glass and screens, means you choose between heat and mosquitoes and humidity vs light. Second, when the bathroom does not have a connected wall and ceiling, it is 30 degrees hotter than the air conditioned portion of the room, and you have to check for lizards at 3 am when you go in to use the toilet. My first room was designed, basically, for nothing but "romance". Only 1 of 2 rooms was air conditioned. Lots of street noise, no lighting except for a nutty lamp with bangles on it. Bathroom mirror was 4 foot from the ground and the sole light was BEHIND your head, as you stood in the mirror. Hard to shave when bending down and in the dark!! In the bathroom, it was so artsy that you had to leave the soap IN the sink! This was an absentee owner place, and without a manager. At one point the sole employee had to walk me to another hotel, to get a translation for a conversation with me. My last night, the only other guest was locked out when no one answered his ringing, knocking or phone calls, and I was awakened by his banging, to let him in. Two hours later, an alarm went off and the 2 employees didn't bother to tell me what it was for or if I was supposed to evacuate. And breakfast is in the non-air conditioned area, though delicious.
The bus recommended by the staff, to Santa Marta was 5 and a half hours of hell and not the 4 hours of air conditioned comfort I was told to expect.
But the location was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I've been staying at Casa Veranera with friends and family since 2009. Every visit has been charming. The house is beautiful and clean. The staff is the best part. They will treat you like family and do anything you might want/need. If you go out partying at night they will wake up at whatever time you come back and cook you food if you're hungry. They will go out and get you toothpaste, soap, shampoo, whatever you need!! If you want a restaurant reservation they will do it for you. They will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The pool is small but there's space to lay down and get some sun. The suite also has a private terrace where you can get sun. Lots of restaurants and plazas within walking distance - you can really walk everywhere if you stay here, no need for a car. Another plus is the price. Cartagena has some of the most expensive hotels, especially inside the old walled city. But Casa Veranera offers amazing prices compared to other hotel/boutiques around the area. This is definitely a hidden gem! I would recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy the romance of Cartagena!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I visited the hotel on business, the prime objective to be in the walled city which is both safe and contains most of the restaurants and tourist attractions. Secondly the hotel had to be reasonably priced.

Before arriving, I noticed some mixed reviews on this site and having now stayed I can see why and it depends entirely on the type of individuals staying and their perception of what a 'boutique' hotel should comprise of.

The hotel was in a relatively quiet quarter of the old walled city, and close to some of the best restaurants and a local supermarket, which was handy. First impressions were of a charming little building and friendly staff. It became apparent that both the good and 'negative' points of previous reviewers were all true. Only one of the staff for example spoke English, which was a little difficult for me as a non-Spanish speaker, but then I see that as my issue and not theirs. It was fun trying to make ourselves understood and added to the sense of adventure (if that is your thing).

The rooms were clean, stylish and relatively free from streetnoise, but were fairly basic, with very limited cupboard space (and no drawers or chair), but with satellite TV, Wi-Fi, air con and a ceiling fan. However, they were not the hermetically sealed rooms that one might expect in a UK hotel. The bathroom was open to the outside which was a lovely novel feature if you don't mind insects getting in (I don't). The indoor/outdoor theme of the hotel pervades throughout.

The facilities were limited but adequate with a tiny plunge pool and charming rooftop terrace (and a private one for the suite - very romantic). There was no restaurant as such, but breakfast was served (either Americano or Classico) which was pleasant (if you aren't fussy about choice). The hotel was too small to have a laundry but they would take it to another one locally which worked ok despite a shirt changing colour in the process!

There was no mini-bar but there was water, coke and beer in a fridge in the basement segment. Another thing I noted was that one room (of 5) was directly adjacent to the breakfast area. There was also a large communal room off the main atrium which was air conditioned and had a library of local interest books. One didn't have a front door key but was buzzed in by a member of staff (good for security).

Overall, the staff were lovely and very helpful, although the language barrier may be a problem for some. The hotel was charming and fitted well into the old town, but although it is simply and thoughtfully decorated, it also allows some of the outside in, so if the odd bug makes you squeal, again, it may not be your cup of tea. If you want genuine local character stay here. If you want a faceless but immaculate 'chain' hotel, go to Bocagrande or pay dearly for one of the top 2 hotels in the old town.

Room Tip: The suite looked like the room of choice for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Casa Veranera is situated in the center of Cartagena - a good location to explore the city. We were lucky to get the suite for 2 nights since the (pink) room we had reserved was rented by somenone else. The suite was really nice but the pink room that we got afterwards was just ordinary. All hotels in Cartagena are on the expensive side - and compared to other hotels in Colombia I would say they are too expensive. We stayed at Casa Veranera during a heavy rain and our bed was completely soaked by rain. As compensation we were offered another less attractive dark room, but we moved the bed so we avoided the hole in the roof. The staff in Casa Veranera was really nice and friendly - but they were not great breakfast cooks. Breakfast was actually the worst we had in Colombia so I recommend to have breakfast outside the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently stayed at the adorable Casa Veranera with our 2 kids ages 7 and 3 and had the most mind-blowing experience ever!

The little boutique hotel is so tastefully decorated and centrally located and we could easily walk all over. There are 2 restaurants just across the Casa and the pizza/pasta place came in especially handy with the kiddos. La Mulata was great for lunch for Colombian fare.

The staff at Casa Veranera were exceptionally helpful. They went over and beyond to help with countless little things with the kids. The icing on the cake (literally) was the surprise dinner and cake they had for my husband's b'day!

Thank you Catarina, Selema, JoseLewis and a very special thanks to Lizeth for showing us around Cartagena and accompanying us to the Rosario islands and staying with the kids in the boat while we snorkeled!

We highly recommend this gem!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2travel2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
6.9 mi away
Kohsamui
Kohsamui
#106 of 155 in Cartagena
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#138 of 155 in Cartagena
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#85 of 155 in Cartagena
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#63 of 155 in Cartagena
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#40 of 155 in Cartagena
233 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
#24 of 155 in Cartagena
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Boutique Veranera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Boutique Veranera

Property: Casa Boutique Veranera
Address: San Diego | Calle Quero 9 - 65, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Boutique Veranera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Boutique Veranera is a stylish, comfortable and intimate boutique hotel in the popular neighborhood of San Diego, inside the centuries old and irresistibly charming historical city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Just one block away from Plaza Fernández de Madrid and two blocks away from Plaza San Diego, guests can enjoy the sunny bustling city by day and rest in this tranquil quiet hideaway on Calle Quero. The property is furnished with updated Cartagena antiques and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Boutique Veranera Cartagena
Casa Boutique Veranera Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing