We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location & great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing in the heart of the old city! Staff is also amazing and give you great recommendations and great service! The rooms are very cozy and you feel like a boutique hotel is meant to feel. Also the food is amazing and you have to try the patacones com posta negra!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jguz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I glad to know that you had a amazing stay at the Bastion Luxury Hotel. We really hope to have you again with us.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a true luxury boutique hotel in the center of the old city. Beautiful large rooms perfectly decorated with a Latin and very elegant flavor. Friendly staff and close to the restaurants and bars. The hotel has a nice roof top pool but a very limited bar selection. I will go back !

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent stay with us at Bastion Luxury Hotel.
We are very happy to see that you had a wonderful experience and that you found our staff helpful and friendly.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Carolina Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are elegant and comfortable and the rooftop pool is a great area to relax with one of their special coconut lemonades.... Excellent breakfast in the morning and the hotel is perfectly located, I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for all of your comments. I am delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay.
We hope to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed at the Santa Clara and the Tcherassi so it was refreshing to stay in the recently opened Bastion Luxury, which is nothing short of excellent.

The location is ideal, situated in the heart of the centre, a few blocks away from the old wall and close to pretty much everything you would want to visit.

The hotel is larger than others in the same category and boasts the largest rooftop pool in the Historic Centre, not just a plunge pool which I have seen in most other boutique hotels but somewhere you can actually move about in. There is a beautiful terrace with sun-loungers and four-poster beds and a rooftop bar which serve a good variety of cocktails.

The rooms are modern and comfortable and the general architecture of the hotel is really impressive. Also the aircon is fantastic.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was hands down better than the Tcherassi or Santa Clara. It is a buffet style but the quality is great and you can order eggs anyway you could imagine.

Service in the hotel was also to a good standard and everybody speaks English. Seeing as the place is new the staff are motivated to make a good impression. Our birthdays are 1 day after the other and on both days we came back to our room to find a decorated birthday cake! Little touches like this really made it an enjoyable stay. The reception can also organise outings, boat trips etc so you won't need to find anything else outside. Made a day trip to Playa Blanca with ease.

All in all a memorable few days in Cartagena.

Room Tip: Worth asking about double rooms, not sure if the size/layout is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank British-In-Colombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your marvellous review of the Bastion Luxury Hotel. We are so happy you chose to stay with us when you visited Cartagena de Indias.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is certainly a luxury hotel, with sleek decor, a beautiful rooftop pool, and a wonderful breakfast buffet. It is in a great location in the walled city, walking distance from great restaurants and all the major sites. The only disappointing aspect of this hotel was the service, which while not bad, was not what I was expecting given such a luxurious and expensive hotel. The staff were nice but not overly helpful, and the water went out twice during our stay, for which they were not particularly apologetic. Overall, staying here was a good experience, but I expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review. Constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.
Perhaps you would care to contact me directly at carolina.ochoa@ghlhoteles.com
Thank you very much.
Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I first stayed in the hotel 2 weeks ago, it was perfection from the staff to the pool and finally the food! We returned last week with a group of friends and it was the same again. Have booked to return in a month. Excellent hotel with great food, atmosphere and location. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 308 is my favourite suite folowed by 306 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth19607264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to fill out this survey, your opinion is very valuable to us as it helps us to assess her quality of our services, we know that exceed expectations allows us to continue working hard to always exceed our standards.
Looking forward to your soon return.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location within the walls of the old city of Cartagena. Just a short walk to the many shops and restaurants (and artists district to buy handicrafts). The staff are very, very attentive. The rooms are very well decorated and have very comfortable furniture. Can't say enough about how great the whole experience in the hotel was from check-in to check-out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.

Carolina Ochoa
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 157 in Cartagena
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 157 in Cartagena
1,930 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 157 in Cartagena
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 157 in Cartagena
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#8 of 157 in Cartagena
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Luxury Hotel

Address: Centro Historico, Calle del Sargento No. 6 -87, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £152 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cartagena's walled city, this modern hotel was built in the style of a 16th-century building and features a rooftop terrace with a swimming pool and shared lounge. It also features an on-site gourmet restaurant as well as free Wi-Fi. The property has luxury rooms and suites with a contemporary decor that evokes it's colonial past. They feature a 40" flat-screen TV, a large wardrobe and a private bathroom with L'Occitane toiletries. The outdoor pool and the adjacent bar located on the site's rooftop terrace have a stunning view of the walled city of Cartagena. A Jacuzzi located on a separated terrace is also available for our guests. The open air patio with el Almendro (Almond tree), which serves as a symbol for the Caribbean cost of Colombia, invites you to relax. In the process of construction wood was recycled for the production of the window frames and doors throughout the whole building. The well-known Rausch brothers manage the on-site restaurant. Santo Toribio church is located next to the hotel, and Rafael Nunez International Airport can be reached in 15 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bastion Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing