We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice personalized experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastion Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Cartagena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice personalized experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I just spent four nights at Bastion Luxury Hotel and it was a great experience. The place is very well designed and decorated and the location is superb, just a few blocks from most everything in the walled city. The rooftop pool area is great. But most of all, their people and the personalized experience they provide are what make this place a for sure "will return" option.

Room Tip: The room we had faced the inner court area so it was quiet and very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rrsmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to post this positive comments.
It´s a pleasure to read such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to again in the near future!

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    153
    28
    19
    10
See reviews for
119
408
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing in the heart of the old city! Staff is also amazing and give you great recommendations and great service! The rooms are very cozy and you feel like a boutique hotel is meant to feel. Also the food is amazing and you have to try the patacones com posta negra!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jguz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I glad to know that you had a amazing stay at the Bastion Luxury Hotel. We really hope to have you again with us.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a true luxury boutique hotel in the center of the old city. Beautiful large rooms perfectly decorated with a Latin and very elegant flavor. Friendly staff and close to the restaurants and bars. The hotel has a nice roof top pool but a very limited bar selection. I will go back !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent stay with us at Bastion Luxury Hotel.
We are very happy to see that you had a wonderful experience and that you found our staff helpful and friendly.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are elegant and comfortable and the rooftop pool is a great area to relax with one of their special coconut lemonades.... Excellent breakfast in the morning and the hotel is perfectly located, I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for all of your comments. I am delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay.
We hope to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed at the Santa Clara and the Tcherassi so it was refreshing to stay in the recently opened Bastion Luxury, which is nothing short of excellent.

The location is ideal, situated in the heart of the centre, a few blocks away from the old wall and close to pretty much everything you would want to visit.

The hotel is larger than others in the same category and boasts the largest rooftop pool in the Historic Centre, not just a plunge pool which I have seen in most other boutique hotels but somewhere you can actually move about in. There is a beautiful terrace with sun-loungers and four-poster beds and a rooftop bar which serve a good variety of cocktails.

The rooms are modern and comfortable and the general architecture of the hotel is really impressive. Also the aircon is fantastic.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was hands down better than the Tcherassi or Santa Clara. It is a buffet style but the quality is great and you can order eggs anyway you could imagine.

Service in the hotel was also to a good standard and everybody speaks English. Seeing as the place is new the staff are motivated to make a good impression. Our birthdays are 1 day after the other and on both days we came back to our room to find a decorated birthday cake! Little touches like this really made it an enjoyable stay. The reception can also organise outings, boat trips etc so you won't need to find anything else outside. Made a day trip to Playa Blanca with ease.

All in all a memorable few days in Cartagena.

Room Tip: Worth asking about double rooms, not sure if the size/layout is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank British-In-Colombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your marvellous review of the Bastion Luxury Hotel. We are so happy you chose to stay with us when you visited Cartagena de Indias.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is certainly a luxury hotel, with sleek decor, a beautiful rooftop pool, and a wonderful breakfast buffet. It is in a great location in the walled city, walking distance from great restaurants and all the major sites. The only disappointing aspect of this hotel was the service, which while not bad, was not what I was expecting given such a luxurious and expensive hotel. The staff were nice but not overly helpful, and the water went out twice during our stay, for which they were not particularly apologetic. Overall, staying here was a good experience, but I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review. Constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.
Perhaps you would care to contact me directly at carolina.ochoa@ghlhoteles.com
Thank you very much.
Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I first stayed in the hotel 2 weeks ago, it was perfection from the staff to the pool and finally the food! We returned last week with a group of friends and it was the same again. Have booked to return in a month. Excellent hotel with great food, atmosphere and location. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 308 is my favourite suite folowed by 306 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth19607264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionLuxuryHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to fill out this survey, your opinion is very valuable to us as it helps us to assess her quality of our services, we know that exceed expectations allows us to continue working hard to always exceed our standards.
Looking forward to your soon return.

Best regards,

Carolina Ochoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.7 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Luxury Hotel

Property: Bastion Luxury Hotel
Address: Centro Historico, Calle del Sargento No. 6 -87, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cartagena's walled city, this modern hotel was built in the style of a 16th-century building and features a rooftop terrace with a swimming pool and shared lounge. It also features an on-site gourmet restaurant as well as free Wi-Fi. The property has luxury rooms and suites with a contemporary decor that evokes it's colonial past. They feature a 40" flat-screen TV, a large wardrobe and a private bathroom with L'Occitane toiletries. The outdoor pool and the adjacent bar located on the site's rooftop terrace have a stunning view of the walled city of Cartagena. A Jacuzzi located on a separated terrace is also available for our guests. The open air patio with el Almendro (Almond tree), which serves as a symbol for the Caribbean cost of Colombia, invites you to relax. In the process of construction wood was recycled for the production of the window frames and doors throughout the whole building. The well-known Rausch brothers manage the on-site restaurant. Santo Toribio church is located next to the hotel, and Rafael Nunez International Airport can be reached in 15 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bastion Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing