We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at La Passion!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Passion Hotel Lounge
Ranked #85 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I were in Cartagena to celebrate his 50th birthday in January 2014- we stayed 6 nights at this artsy, old world hotel & had such a great time! Let me start by saying that if the hotel lacks a certain sleekness or modern aura that some people like, the staff makes up for all of that! The chef, Taylor, was amazing- he made my husband a special private rooftop dinner for his birthday that was so memorable. His drinks & breakfasts each morning were delightful! He even left us a momento from Cartagena as a gift in our suite along with the birthday fedora from the Hotel. Jose, is also a real attribute to this hotel. He serenaded us during our special dinner, and was so helpful & smiling during our entire stay. We were so sad to say goodbye to both of them when we left. The owner of the hotel and Anylis at the front desk were also very helpful in helping us hire a boat to Baru for my husbands birthday, which was so much fun, as well as pointing us in the right direction & giving restaurant recommendations. The second best part of this hotel is the rooftop deck, which we couldn't decide if we liked better during the day or night. It was a wonderful place to find respite from the heat during the day & breezy cool & romantic at night. All in all, it was very memorable & lovely! Would stay there again & hope to see Taylor, Jose & Anylis when we do! Thank you all! I apologize for taking so long to write this review.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 8, which is on the second level, is very large & had a balcony where we enjoy...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandbshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for La Passion Hotel Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Located behind a big blue door in Cartagena's beautiful historic center, this hotel is a hidden gem. Once you step through the door you enter into a cool, leafy colonial courtyard that provides a welcome break from the heat of the streets. Each room is individually and tastefully designed. Thierry and his staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. I spent a very happy week relaxing here, maxing out beside the rooftop pool - looking out to the catedral and watching swallows dive and scoop water our of the pool. La Passion provides guests an oasis in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I spent 4 days in this Hotel Boutique: beautiful and warm reception. Excelent position inside the historical centre of Cartagena, you can visit the colonial town and have tips from the staff. The terrace where is the swimming pool it's amazing, clean and well decorated. I definetely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: By my experience everything was good!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I think I must be living in a parallel universe. I feel slightly mean writing this review because the staff were very nice but this is perhaps the worst value hotel I have ever stayed in in South America. The odd fading gilt mirror does not make a hip hotel.

My experience here was grim. The staff were generally lovely but they were extremely overworked. On the Sunday there was only one member of staff on duty - she was doing the breakfasts, running reception, opening the door, answering the phone and cleaning all the rooms - not a word of English - does not really matter but it is worth being aware of. She was a very nice and very hard working woman but no one could cope easily with that amount of work.

Our "suite" was dark and mosquito infested. The only windows opened onto the rather grim and dark courtyard. There was an odd note in the hotel communication stating that any towels not accounted for at the end would be charged for. It was ambiguous as to whether the standard bathroom products also would be charged for. It did manage to set a tone of meanness. Needless to say the products were not worth making away with anyway!

There was absolutely no wifi access in the room so I was driven to the common area to go on line and that was even more mosquito infested. I was covered in bites by the time I left. The common area had large panes of glass lying around next to the sofas presumably to be put in place somewhere but it meant that the sofas were not really sittable on. I have stayed in two other hotels in Cartagena at this time with no mosquito problems whatsoever so this is a particular problem in this hotel and not in Cartagena hotels in general . There is extensive Dengue in Cartagena and this hotel worried me.

The roof terrace seemed fine - until I thought I would swim. When I saw the mosquitos in the water I realised that that may be one source of the problem.

At no stage did I see the "owners". Otherwise I would certainly have taken up some of these issues with them . This is an expensive hotel and the money does not seem to be reinvested. The Santa Calara was so much better value - somewhat more expensive but not madly so but incomparably better.

I was astonished to see that companies like Scott Dunn are using this place. I would never have stayed here if I had realised what it would be like.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Northlondontripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Yes the old building is charming, but I stayed here last week and arrived to find the place under construction. I've stayed in 3 other great hotels in Cartagena (large and small) and with all the choices in the city this hotel needs to be able to compete. If you make reservations here and have particular plans you would like to make while in Cartagena, email them in advance to see if they can help you or not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stay here for the rooftop pool and helpful staff. The rooftop is unique and you could not find a better view of Old Cartagena. The rooms are very charming and resemble the photos found online. Breakfast each morning was good. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, the owner did the best job preserving the colonial style of the house, every room is unique, fantastic decoration. The pool is beautiful, on sunsets you'll feel amazed by the colors of the sky and the contrast with the old ceiling houses and cathedrals around.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#69 of 155 in Cartagena
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Toribio
Hotel Santo Toribio
#89 of 155 in Cartagena
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#40 of 155 in Cartagena
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#93 of 155 in Cartagena
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Passion Hotel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Passion Hotel Lounge

Address: Calle Estanco del Tabaco #35 - 81 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 13001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £85 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Passion Hotel Lounge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charmfull Boutique-Hotel in the historic center of Catagena, very close to the most important points of interest in town.Amazing rooftop pool and beautiful authentic decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Passion Hotel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing