We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love perhaps, but not passion.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Passion Hotel Lounge
Ranked #89 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I think this is a really lovely hotel...you just could not get a better location in Cartagena, from the pool on the roof, which is open 24 hours a day you can swim looking at the lit up spire of the cathedral, and feel like a millionare as there never seems to be anyone else there at night, to the fantastic boho decorated rooms. the fantastic staff...I don't know their names, but the 2 of them seem to actually do everything...prepare breakfast, clean, fix things, look after the pool, make cocktails...mmm...such great mojitos, and they still always have a smile, and a joke.
the rooms are all different, mine, room 4 was just brilliant, the ac was powerful to the point that my room was at 18 degrees, and..if this is important to you..the wifi always worked. this hotel is lovely.
although, i would suggest, while the lounging areas around the atrium look fantastic, don't even think of relaxing here, funnily enough you never see anyone sitting in them, because you will be eaten alive. its mozzie central. but it looks wonderful..

i wish i could, however, say the same for the owner, who was having rennovations done, and i don't know about you, but i don't think it is quite the same exclusive retreat with workmen carrying around 30 bags of cement up the narrow stair to the roof when you are going for a swim, nor men rendering plaster when you would like a canoodle on the Moorish beds which have been turned onto their sides. it didn't ruin my experience, but, on the other hand, it didn't enhance it either. have to say i think we should have been told that this was going to happen.
but..it would not stop me from staying here again...its a beautiful hotel...if you can afford this, i suggest you bag it.
as long as there is not work going on, it just doesn't get better....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lushchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Cartagena is a most beautiful city and this hotel is perfectly located. It is decorated in a mildly eccentric baroque style though this sometimes takes precedence over practicalities: the basin lacked a plug, the toilet seat was too low and the shower controls were accessible only by reaching under the shower head. There is effective double glazing and aircon.

There is a lovely rooftop area where the delicious breakfast is served by 2 charming people, with a nice pool. However, there was only one parasol and more should be erected to provide shade.

The front desk staff are extremely nice and helpful but security was a bit slapdash - on one occasion we came back to find the foyer unattended and our room key clearly visible on the desk.

Overall, a lovely small hotel with a lot of personal touches and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicityluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I travel a lot with business and have stayed in plenty of 5* places most of which are exactly the same as each other. La Passion is unique. Art adorns the walls, rooms are beautiful, the rooftop swimming pool is sensational. But it is the staff, and the owner, that truly make the hotel special.
It was my 50th birthday while we were staying - they transformed breakfast into something wonderful - balloons, decorations, singing!
The atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and attentive. The location couldn't be better. You can keep all those mass-produced 5* places - this hotel has something they do not - passion.
Dr Sam Heath! Liverpool, UK

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved our stay at la Passion. The room (with an outdoor bathroom) was perfect - just the right amount of luxury and design whilst retaining the character and style of the mansion the hotel is in. Great rooftop pool with charming views across the city and a perfect base from which to explore the old city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dippenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel, then 2 nights in Isla Grande and another night here. Coming back for our last night after a wonderful stay in Isla Grande was like coming home. The staff are all wonderful, they are happy, efficient and make you feel like you are staying in a luxurious home and not just a hotel. The owner is charming, he obviously manages his team well as they all work so well for him. On the last night I was in room 10, which was just magical - request it if you can, it is very special. But all the rooms I saw were lovely for different reasons, so you won't be disappointed. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a perfect start to the day, sunbathing by the pool from 4pm onwards was blissful. Cartagena is just magical, from chic and beautiful El Centro and San Diego to the more gutsy and bohemian Getsamani. We loved it all. I am already planning a return trip to Cartagena/La Passion in February 2015 - says it all really!

Room Tip: I loved no.10, but 6 and 7 were also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavistademedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I were in Cartagena to celebrate his 50th birthday in January 2014- we stayed 6 nights at this artsy, old world hotel & had such a great time! Let me start by saying that if the hotel lacks a certain sleekness or modern aura that some people like, the staff makes up for all of that! The chef, Taylor, was amazing- he made my husband a special private rooftop dinner for his birthday that was so memorable. His drinks & breakfasts each morning were delightful! He even left us a momento from Cartagena as a gift in our suite along with the birthday fedora from the Hotel. Jose, is also a real attribute to this hotel. He serenaded us during our special dinner, and was so helpful & smiling during our entire stay. We were so sad to say goodbye to both of them when we left. The owner of the hotel and Anylis at the front desk were also very helpful in helping us hire a boat to Baru for my husbands birthday, which was so much fun, as well as pointing us in the right direction & giving restaurant recommendations. The second best part of this hotel is the rooftop deck, which we couldn't decide if we liked better during the day or night. It was a wonderful place to find respite from the heat during the day & breezy cool & romantic at night. All in all, it was very memorable & lovely! Would stay there again & hope to see Taylor, Jose & Anylis when we do! Thank you all! I apologize for taking so long to write this review.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 8, which is on the second level, is very large & had a balcony where we enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandbshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Located behind a big blue door in Cartagena's beautiful historic center, this hotel is a hidden gem. Once you step through the door you enter into a cool, leafy colonial courtyard that provides a welcome break from the heat of the streets. Each room is individually and tastefully designed. Thierry and his staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. I spent a very happy week relaxing here, maxing out beside the rooftop pool - looking out to the catedral and watching swallows dive and scoop water our of the pool. La Passion provides guests an oasis in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
1.8 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#68 of 158 in Cartagena
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.4 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#60 of 158 in Cartagena
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 158 in Cartagena
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Passion Hotel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Passion Hotel Lounge

Address: Calle Estanco del Tabaco #35 - 81 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 13001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £87 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Passion Hotel Lounge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charmfull Boutique-Hotel in the historic center of Catagena, very close to the most important points of interest in town.Amazing rooftop pool and beautiful authentic decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your La Passion Hotel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing