We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool serene oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Quadrifolio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Quadrifolio
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool serene oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The old town section of Cartagena is a very interesting place filled with history. We explored the narrow streets, marveled at the architecture, visited the Palace of the Inquisition, and enjoyed seeing an evening wedding at the cathedral. Our Hotel Quadrifolio was a wonderful respite not only from the heat, but it also provided an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the old town. The architecture of the hotel is remarkable, which provides stunning contrasts with the furnishings and fittings. The bathroom was luxurious, with an open to the sky shower in the corner. The bed was super comfortable. Returning to the hotel for an afternoon siesta was much looked forward to, and proved to be a real treat. Breakfast was outstanding. Nice quiet street--but close to the activity. Entry and exit to the hotel is carefully controlled by entry through the huge old door, monitored by a staff person. I appreciated the security aspects of this. All in all, we really enjoyed the Quadrifolio and would return in an instant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    24
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
84
184
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Friendly, helpful staff. Good location. Beautiful colonial interior. Cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Pros
- very nice colonial building
- large rooms with colonial charm
- service with attention to detail and pleasant surprises
- Good breakfast
- intimacy of a 7 rooms boutique hotel

Cons
- have to ring the bell at the door to be let in

It's the second hotel we visited in Cartagena. The first one was a wonderful experience but in a more modern building and we wanted to feel the colonial charm. Quadrifolio didn't disappoint. They did a very good job with the renovations. Everything looks fresh and clean while presereving the charm of the colonial style. The service is full of nice surprises such as a wet towel to refresh your face and a freshly squeezed lemonade at the check in or the way they arrange the bedrooms in the evening, etc.
The rooftop tub and terrace are quite small. There is a pool in the shade on the main floor in the courtyard A great area to cool down.
The only thing we found a bit weird is the entrance system. They don't have a door man like most other hotels so you have to ring the bell and wait a few seconds that someone opens the door. At the end of the day not a big inconvenience but it feels a bit akward if you go in an out several times in the day. I guess they have somehow to run leaner in staff to keep competitve prices when there are only 7 rooms in the hotel. Very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arugam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I booked this hotel on the internett based on other reviews. This is a hotel that has "the touch". Excelent service, nice rooms, delicate interior, nice pool and a great roof terrace.
8 rooms and with just 2 rooms facing the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHPOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were 10 Friends and we stay in this beautiful boutique hotel in the centre of Cartagena. Although I visited with friends, I recommend this hotel for couples, and for business travelers. It has wifi all over the place, an amazing business lounge, pool, jacuzzi and the bedrooms are beautiful. Last but not least breakfast is delicious, they have an array of juices of every tropical fruit you can imagine! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

In the heart of the walled City, this beautiful house has the best staff and service in Cartagena. Every morning, you'll have several choises for breakfast that go form traditional dishes such as egg arepa to panckaes. William and Gustavo are very nice and heplful, they'll go the extra mile like prepare off the menu dishes or arrange transporation, or anything you need to make your stay an incredibly pleasant experience. I widely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Just 4 days being in this place can brief the most memorable trip in my life. Everyhthing in its perfection without forgetting the kindness of the people who works in there. Nothing better than waking up with a cool coconut lemonade wich I actually recommend trying it. Don´t wait to come and chilled with your family, your couple or friends at the jacuzzi on the terrace with a nice view of the town, you'll just feel being in paradise. Waiting for Quadrifolio Beach!!!

Next trip: Colombia-Cartagena de Indias-Quadrifolio; again for sure!

Thanks for recieving me, see you soon

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quadrifolio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quadrifolio

Property: Hotel Quadrifolio
Address: Calle del Cuartel No 36-118 | Historic Center, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quadrifolio 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to introduce you to HOTEL QUADRIFOLIO. We offer exceptional service under the grandeur of a Spanish Colonial residence built inside the walled city of Cartagena de Indias during the XVII Century. Quadrifolio provides an incomparable setting of elegance, privacy and comfort combined with a personalized service to meet your needs. The hotel has eight Junior Suites, two magnificent ballrooms and multiple social areas of rest. You can also enjoy our relaxing terraces; roof top Jacuzzi and heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quadrifolio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing