We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location! Great service! Best hostel in Medellin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiger Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiger Hostal
Ranked #36 of 192 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location! Great service! Best hostel in Medellin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

First, this hostel is in a perfect location. It's literally steps away from Parque Lleras, the active park area in Medellin with several restaurants, bars, stores, and nightclubs.

The hostel workers were very nice and even made sure as to that the guests were not leaving expensive items out in the open.

I would definitely recommend you to stay at this hostel. The new management at this hostel is doing it right for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Hello soccerTraveller27,

Thank you for your review and stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hostel and Parque Lleras. Great nightlife there. Safe Travels - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    16
    19
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
25
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

intended stayin in medellin for two nights but ended up staying twice as long due to the embrace of not only this fantastic city but also the tiger paw hostel. The enthusiasm of its new owners for the city is honestly contagious and they helped us with all the laundry and boring issues we faced. The city is jammed packed with activity and as irish boys we found the bar services in the hostel to be well designed and organized with local options for further escapades. The hostel appears to lack behind local competitors in publicity but not atmosphere or location. The option to party or chill was in out own hands and we found this empowering ha ha. the only negative is lack of ashtrays and we were guaranteed by bar staff that this was an issue already raised and will be corrected in near future.The wild rover(well known irish hostel) of medellin. would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Hello Stephen G,

Thanks for your nice review and your stay at the hostel. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your time with us and really got to embrace the beautiful city of Medellin. All the best on your next trip - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

First impression was perfect, the welcoming committee made me feel like as was more than at home, it was spot on. The good time began with a "bienvenidos" shot and the fun I had continued throughout my stay. Free walking tour of the city, excellent food served at the in house restaurant which is popular with guests and locals alike. Owner Dave with his top notch staff was spot on and I commended their efforts throughout the awesome week I spent in Medellin. The effort to imrove every facite of the hostel was evident and makes it clear that this place is going to be a favorite for years to come. Gracias sinceremente por todo.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mira_jungla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Hello mira_jungla,

Well, thank you so much for your kind review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the hostel and had such a warm welcoming. It´s are first goal here. All the best in your future travels - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very helpful staff and a nice chill atmosphere! Superb location, very easy to find your way back after a night out. Ping pong table is off the hook! Dormbeds are comfy as hell, and the owner is an awesome guy! Also there is a pretty well equipped kitchen for self caterers! Check it out

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Hello Samuel H,

We are glad to hear you had a good time at our chilled hostel and tahnk you for your review about us. Yes, the ping pong matches are off the hook! Safe travels in the future - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very convenient location, within 5min walk from el Parque Llenas, and yet no disturbed by the street noise.

The hostel is fully equipped with Internet, TV space (incl DVDs), a bar that serves local beer (very cool) and a small outside terrace for the smokers (or not!).

The only downside is the size of the kitchen - but at the end most of the travelers are eating outside so it is always available to use.

The dorms are also very convenient and confortable.

And the staff at the time was really helpful for anything you may need!

Room Tip: If you can avoid one of the dorms that has a window with a view on the pool table as it can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwadolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Hello Gwadolina,

Thank you for your kind review and your stay with us in Medellin. We glad to hear your enjoyed your time here. All the best on your future travels - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hostel is well located for the restaurants and bars of El Poblado. The communal areas are pleasant and well equipped and it is an easy place to get chatting to other travellers if you're looking to meet people. Staff were all lovely and helpful on our visit. This for me though is the end of the positives.

I can only speak from experience of a double room which was spartan to the point of depressing. Someone had taken the time to laboriously staple a huge tv to the wall and cover the lavatory in an orange tea cosy but had left the only lighting in the room to be a naked fluorescent bulb. This gives it the overall impression of a Bangkok prison. This impression unfortunately continued with the discovery of the dirty bedspread and sheets.

The street-facing rooms also face a nightclub which belches out the revellers between about 3 and 4 am. The hours of yelling and shrieking are so loud it's tempting to throw something out of a window. Luckily the hostel has thought of this and provided absolutely no furniture or lamps whatsoever.

Other rooms may be less noisy for which this would be an unfair review, but if you are looking for at least 4 hours of sleep then I would suggest going elsewhere. If you don't mind very basic amenities and are actively looking to meet other backpackers then this is probably ok. We are a couple in our mid-twenties who love backpacking and have been at it for years and it wasn't right for us.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Dear Elissa,

We apologise to hear the experience you had here. Since the beginning of 2015, we have gone under new management so alot of new changes have been made in regards to the hostel. The private roomfacing the street has been refurnished and better designed now. We also have other private rooms that the guests can slecet from if they are not satisfied with a room. With the new management, we´ve made new hostel rules such as the bar closes at midnight. The noise is keep to a minimum during the night hours now. Happy Travels. - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medellin hotels

Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I had fun there over Christmas,, they have a nice bar and outdoor area out the front. The staff are friendly and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. However, I gave the laundry department all of my clothes to wash, costing 20.000 for 4 kilograms, and when I got my clothes back there were still some of my clothes hanging up or folded in different piles which they obviously didn't realise were mine, and they couldnt find my one and only pair of jeans, a cardigan and a t-shirt. Gone! And my friend didn't get back two jumpers but gained one t-shirt. They say their laundry is cheaper than other places around, but I would advise to go somewhere else where you're more likely to come home with all your clothes!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerpawhostel, Manager at Tiger Hostal, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Hello Lyndal14,

Thank you for you stay with us at the hostel. We are sorry to hear about your clothes being lost. The past management should have done something about this. We have new management now and staff and this isn´t a problem anymore but again we are sorry to hear this. We make sure now that all clothes are organized for the laundry service. All the best in your future travels - Tiger Paw Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Friends to Be
Friends to Be
#27 of 192 in Medellin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geo Hostel
Geo Hostel
#9 of 192 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Poblado Park
Hostal Poblado Park
#10 of 192 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 192 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Hostel & Rooftop
La Playa Hostel & Rooftop
#18 of 192 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Memphis Hostal
Memphis Hostal
#93 of 192 in Medellin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Hostal

Property: Tiger Hostal
Address: Carrera 36 10-49 | infront of Crepes y Waffles, Medellin 050003, Colombia (Formerly Tiger Paw Hostel)
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have kitchen, roof top deck, lounge and tv area, free hot coffee during all day. Both private and dormitory rooms for any budget. We offer too: Free walking Tour, Pablo Escobar Tour, Guatape Tour, Coffe Tour, Football Tour, Santa fe de Antoquia Tour, Paraglading Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tiger Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing