We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist in Medellin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Royal Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tourist in Medellin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is well kept and the front desk were very accommodating and helpful when it came to booking reservations, tours, etc. given we were primarily English speaking. The location is situated in a very safe and suburban like neighborhood with several huge malls in the vicinity. We had an amazing view of the valley Medellin is located in and the surrounding mountains; quite a site coming from NYC. The hotel grounds are well kept and there is a backyard type area where you can enjoy a drink or relax. It is an approximate 10 minute walk to the nightlife in Parque Lleras, but we opted to take a cab in the evening for an approximate equivalent USD $2-3. The included breakfast was good. Overall, we had a great stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UthmaanAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely comments. We feel really glad to know that our service reached your expectations. Our staff will be pleased to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    211
    59
    15
    9
See reviews for
91
176
45
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a business trip. The hotel is located within the city but is situated within a scenic view of the mountains and gives off a peaceful energy. Achilles, the dog, is normally on the property and we enjoyed his presence there. The hotel and room was very trendy and clean. Also, nearby, is the Hard Rock Café for convenience. Only complaint was that did not like the fact that they charged a $25. fee for a second guest in the room. That charge was not disclosed prior to our stay or within the reservation process.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLESandMICHELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We are very glad to hear about your experience in our hotel. We work hard to ensure we provide personalized service and give attention to detail, so its very rewarding to read this.

Regarding the second guest charge; we would like you to know, you had a complimentary room just for you, which we had arranged from the reservation; indeed, there were a minimum fee with breakfast included.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again, in the future..

Best regards,

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel sits upon the side of a mountain and is an awesome sight. The spectacular lobby with a huge black dog as a mascot, is just beautiful. The staff is amazing; no request is too much for them to handle. They arranged for our tours and even arranged for our bus tickets to Pereira. The cold water and drinks in the lobby shows they certainly have read the "hospitality" guidebook! We were guided to the upscale restaurant area not far from the hotel and enjoyed a wonderful meal and the experience of seeing how the young adults in Medellin enjoy their night out! The staff called a taxi to take us to the Botero Museum and Plaza (a must!) and the museum called a taxi for our return to the hotel! The only suggestion would be that the pool area have a safe entry to the pool. The surrounding area is very slippery when wet and makes it dangerous getting in and out of the pool. I know, I slipped but caught myself. Other than that, we loved Medellin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review of Hotel Medellín Royal . It's a pleasure to know you enjoy your stay at our hotel, in particular the pet (Aquiles), service and food. We work very hard to provide first class service and it is great to have it recognized by our wonderful guests.

We appreciate your suggestion regarding the slippery pool surrounding area, we will make note of it and make sure our general manager receives it.

Best regards and hope to see you at our hotel again soon,

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great hotel room, with plenty of space, very confortable bed. The breakfast was amazing. Excellent wi-fi, in the lobby and in the room. Location is great, near a shopping center, but kind of far the subway station, in the new part of town, but very close to everything by taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandocisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for comment. We are glad to know that our service reached your expectations and hope to serve you back someday.

Sincerely,

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great hotel room, with plenty of space, very confortable bed. The breakfast was amazing. Excellent wi-fi, in the lobby and in the room. Location is great, near a shopping center, but kind of far the subway station, in the new part of town, but very close to everything by taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando Antoni... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for comment. We are glad to know that our service reached your expectations and hope to serve you back someday.

Sincerely,

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The president was in attendance and that definitely says a lot about the hotel. The Hotel and grounds are very nice and green. It is conveniently located across the street from a few malls and walking distance from a 24hr. McDonald's (not our first choice but if you happen to check in at midnight and you have a 12yr. old that is hungry, you will appreciate it). The mall has several good stores including an excellent supermarket that has amongst other things water and cold beer.

Be sure to ask for Achilles (the mascot). He is a giant Schnauzer that is cute and cuddly as a teddy bear. Overall, A good value for your $$

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VKimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely comments.

We feel really glad to know that our service reached your expectations. Our staff will be pleased to hear from you.

We hope to be your first option on your next Medellín visit.

Achilles will be waiting for you!

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Medellin Royal hotel is beautiful and open. Our room was clean and very spacious and the bathroom was nice. Loved the free Wi-Fi. The front desk staff are aloof but the concierges and bellmen were really helpful. It is next to a great mall and in the mall are money exchange booths as a lot of places don't take US dollars. It is in walking distance of the Metro (about 10- 15 mins). They also had a beautiful dog that came out at night!


Breakfast was not that great but it was included in the price. I'd recommend as others have that you get a room at the back of the hotel /pool because you could hear the noise from the street. Fortunately traffic wasn't that bad while we were there. It is on an incline so you have to walk uphill but it isn't a steep incline.

Overall we enjoyed our time and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller-Bajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much indeed for such a nice comments. I will transmit them to our staff , who will be pleased to hear from you.

We really appreciate you took the time to express your opinion regarding our service and giving us the opportunity to know what should be improve.

Really hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Marilú Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Royal Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Royal Medellin

Property: NH Collection Royal Medellin
Address: Cra. 42 No.5 Sur-130 | (El Poblado), Medellin, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Medellin
#1 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#5 Family Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Royal Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxury Hotel with the ultimate expression of design and technology is an excellent choice for business and tourism travelers. Ideally located in the heart of El Poblado one of the most prestigious areas of the city at walking distance from Santa Fe and Oviedo Shopping malls. Our 125 rooms and 9 suites are equipped with all the ingredients to guarantee an enjoyable stay. In addition to our excellent facilities we offer a friendly atmosphere and a warm smile. Our clients benefit from the comforts and technology of our modern Business Center and our versatile Meeting Rooms. The Medellin Royal Hotel Service include a relaxing Spa and fitness center swimming pool free parking dry cleaning service and 24-hour room service. Enjoy in our restaurant the best Neo Latina cuisine that blends the delicate fusion flavors of Colombia and the International processes. The Bar with a panoramic magically green view creates an enjoyable mood for a meeting or a relaxing drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your NH Collection Royal Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medellin Royal Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing