We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to make friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pitstop Guest House
Ranked #38 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Salta, Argentina
1 review
“Great place to make friends”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We found this hostel on the net and the pictures dont do it enough justice. The pool is big, basketball hoop in good nick and has a real cool bar with tvs and a pool table. Tv room has heaps of movies to choose from. Good kitchen and beds.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    65
    32
    25
    16
See reviews for
3
31
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Awesome hostel. A big courtyard with a pool, a basketball court, and a volleyball court. The friendly staff and good location makes it great stop for any backpacker. The bar is fun with salsa lessons on thursdays and has a pool table as well. I'd recommend it to any of my friends traveling to Medellin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hostel is awesome - in a great location, cheap drinks at the bar, huge kitchen, big rooms, and complete with a TV room, basketball court, pool, volleyball court, bar, pool table, and hammocks on hammocks. Fun and social, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great bar, good dorms and lots of stuff to do in the day - football, volleyball, basketball, swimming pool, lounge area. Definitely recommend to people who are looking for a fun upbeat place to be based in whilst in Medellin.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had a bad experience here. First of all, people stayin at this hostel get 4 free beers if they write a review so i think theres a lot of sucking up in the reviews.
When we arrived we had to wait at the reception 20 min for a grumpy girl to help is get a room. At night there was a really drunk girl 'serving drinks' at the bar, begging for tips. She played really loud music that sounded like a live recording of a kareoke bar. At almost 11 pm she got so drunk that she couldnt serve drinks anymore so i got the guy from the reception to talk to her. The guy, with no balls, couldnt get her to work again and just closed the bar. He was way to soft on her.
There was no water(!) at the hostel, and they don't have any food.
On the plus side, it's got a pool.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was well aware from reading reviews to expect a party atmosphere here. Although, we did party with some awesome people, the overall vibe was pretty chill. Our room was also far enough away for quiet if we didn't feel up to party. The bar was fun with good drink specials, but they close at midnight. The TV room was spacious and the TV is big. They have a large selection of movies. Be sure to get to breakfast early though as it can get a little crazy and they run out of food. The location was good - close to the Pablado Metro station and close to many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creosote2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro La Laguna, Solola, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Pit Stop Hostel has a ton of facilities to keep you busy, including a basketball court, pool table, ping pong table, and pool. Atmosphere is fun and upbeat, with a 2x1 happy hour from 7-8. Location is great, only 10 minute walk from club/bar area of Poblado. Only downsides are that the kitchen is closed before 8am and after 10pm, and there is no communal place to socialize after midnight. Would recommend. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#51 of 105 in Medellin
47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel
Mediterraneo Hotel
#55 of 105 in Medellin
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hostel
Grand Hostel
#26 of 210 in Medellin
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#5 of 210 in Medellin
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
International House Medellin
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Ram
Hostal Casa Ram
#53 of 138 in Medellin
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitstop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitstop Guest House

Property: Pitstop Guest House
Address: Carrera 43e no 5 - 110 | Patio Bonito, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pitstop Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE Pitstop Guest HouseThe Pitstop welcomes short- and long-term guests who are seeking the perfect place to explore Colombia’s majestic second city, nestled in the lush Andes valley of Aburra. The Guesthouse provides all the convenience and amenities of a hotel in an intimate, relaxed, villa environment. Guests can enjoy the large outdoor area which includes an ample swimming pool, hammocks, steam room, pool/games room, and basketball court. There are also shared kitchen facilities, a spacious and comfortable TV room, speedy and efficient wifi, and private parking. Guests may also come and go as they please with 24-hour reception facilities, where friendly and English-speaking staff can also arrange for guests to go on a wide range of tours in and around the city. With over ten years of experience in tourism in Medellin, the Pitstop is an ideal base for anyone looking to combine work, relaxation and travel in the City of Eternal Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Pitstop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing