We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and comfortable hotel.”
Review of Hotel Estelar Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Blue
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Comfortable hotel. Excellent bed, well located, clean, very gentle and nice staff. Breakfast should improve a little bit. Could also have an ironing table. But excellent cost benefit. I would easily come back.

Room Tip: I was placed in a room in the 10th floor. Still heard some noise from the street. May be the lower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga S, Asistente de Gerencia at Hotel Estelar Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped,


Agradecemos sus comentarios sobre el servicio de desayuno,


Esperamos nos brinde la posibilidad de atenderle de nuevo, superar sus expectativas y contar igualmente con sus acertadas apreciaciones.

Hotel ESTELAR Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I do wish that it had a real restaurant, but there are a lot close by, and a cab ride to anywhere is affordable.

The rooms are outstanding. Mine was suite style. I could actually enjoy a flat of the same size, if needed. I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank LHEAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here after having a poor experience at another hotel. We were impressed. Great room, great price, fast internet. The breakfast buffet fantastic, but the dinner provided was pretty bad. We would have paid for a better meal if they had it available. Can't win them all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Recently enjoyed a stay at this hotel. Very clean and well managed. When we had a problem with plumbing in a room, they changed our room literally within minutes. Breakfasts were buffet and quite adequate and they also included a light dinner in the evenings. The location is excellent although if you walk, there is a hill to navegate from the main highway-Avenida Poblado a block away-a long block away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prophet9fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week while on business. If you are from the US, Canada or Europe expect a 3 vstar experience. It's nice enough for a business hotel but I wouldn't stay here in vacation.

It's in a safe neighborhood close to malls, restaurants and the casino. You can walk about safely at night and there is always a cab if you need one.

They provide the typical Latin American buffet breakfast. My rate included dinner as well. It was nice enough for one night but the menu is limited and does not change.

The only downside was that the ventilation system must interconnect the rooms. Some one was smoking in an adjoining room and choked me out of my room. I stuffed a towel in the vent but the maids kept removing it. :-)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Boyd_Stowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have been to Medellin several times and I really like the hotel Estelar Blue. Its location is extremely convenient, the rooms are very spacious, and the rate includes breakfast and dinner. The attention of the staff is good and I like that the hotel has a gym.

The reason why I can't rank this hotel with 5 stars is because 1, they didn't service our room one day and tried to say it was because we had the do not disturb sign (we took this sign down at 130pm), 2, the wifi isn't very strong, & 3, the rate is over double the rate of the Ibis Medellin and quite honestly I don't think the hotel should cost that much more. I'd rather pay less for my room rate than have the dinner included.

If you're in the same situation where you're not sure if it's better to pay less and stay in the Ibis or pay more and stay here, all I can say is it depends if you're looking for a hotel with more complete services and are willing to pay the price then stay here. If you really don't need free dinner, a gym, and a larger room, save the money and just stay at the Ibis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeymouse_0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I made my first trip to Medellin and wanted to stay in a comfortable hotel that offered some nice luxuries. I will list this hotel from start to finish. I stayed for 4 days in the Junior Suite.

1. I booked through Booking.com and saved about $30 a night for the Junior Suite. Originally I booked through the hotel's website for a standard room and then once I found the booking.com site I found that I could upgrade to the Junior Suite for less money than I was spending for the standard room. WIN-WIN for me!
2. Communication. I wrote to the hotel to confirm my reservations and ask about airport pickup. They responded within a few days and was sending me a car to pick me up at the airport. Quoted me 75 mil pesos but it came out to 60 once I arrived at the hotel so I was happy.
3. Airport Pickup- I was greeted at the terminal by a friendly guy with my name on a board so I was easily able to pick him out from others. Car was comfortable. They don't use a taxi service but instead use an actual car service. Nice.
4. Hotel Check-In. I was greeted by the doorman who was nice and assisted me to the front desk. I gave my passport and they made a copy of my cc and then was told about the breakfast and dinner schedule. Very friendly ladies at the desk.
5. Room- AMAZING. The Junior Suite has a bedroom and a living room that can be divided by a closing wooden door. It had a mini fridge with some drinks, alcohol, snacks, a sink, a couch in the living room with dining table, coffee table, air conditioning. A LARGE balcony with dining table outside. Very romantic at night. The bedroom had a large chair, a large comfortable bed, sink area outside the main bathroom. Water in the shower was hot. TV was a large LCD with lots of channels to chose from.
6. Breakfast- Somewhat typical of Colombian buffets. Eggs, Arepas, Pan, coffee, juices, cereal. Eggs were not very hot and a little runny but it's a free breakfast and it was nice.
Dinner- Sandwiches, soups, coke, juices, bread, cheese, and other items. Not a huge selection but seriously, why eat dinner at a hotel while visiting Medellin. It's for convenience and nothing more. I prefer to go out and enjoy the local cuisine.
7. Safety- Nice safe inside the room for my ipad and other items but not big enough for my laptop. To be fair, my laptop is a 18" and is quite large. Also this hotel has security at the entrance.
8. Area- The area that this hotel is in is a very friendly family area. You can walk to the mall safely. The night I arrived I walked two blocks to the ATM and felt safe.
9. Attractions- LOTS OF MALLS. Best mall is Sante Fe mall which is huge with about 6 levels. Lots of food options, movies, and arcade. Saw a movie (Smurfs) and played in the arcade which is great for kids and adults.

Overall I loved this place especially for the price. I had my GF and her daughter stay with me and they didn't charge me for extra people. But they do post extra persons at 30 mil a night. If you want to stay at a nice hotel for a great price. CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!

Thanks Hotel Estelar Blue. My trip was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 111 in Medellin
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
1.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#9 of 111 in Medellin
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#3 of 111 in Medellin
745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#27 of 111 in Medellin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Blue

Address: Carrera 42 # 1 - 74 Sur, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Estelar Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a space designed by understanding actual business traveler’s needs and expectations as well as concepts like agile, communications and versatility. Strategically located in the exclusive Poblado neighborhood and surrounded by the main shopping malls. Estelar Blue, a hotel where differences stand out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estelar Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing