We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid win for location, decor, and friendly staff”
Review of Art Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Boutique
Ranked #47 of 108 Hotels in Medellin
USA
1 review
“A solid win for location, decor, and friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The Art Hotel is a trendy modern brick, steel, and concrete structure with better build quality than most structures in the area. It is situated in Medellin's outstanding Poblado neighborhood, on a tranquil, tree-lined street very near Parque Lleras and shopping/finance main drag Avenida Poblado. The impressive Medellin metro is an 8-minute walk. At night, the neighborhood's discos do overcome rooms' double windows, and brick walls are not exceptional insulation against sound from neighbors' rooms.

The youngish staff are courteous, dedicated, and always ready to make an extra effort for guests. They kindly included guests in their holiday celebrations, friendly representatives of a city very welcoming of foreigners and expats. The maintenance team is proactive and usually working projects, a good sign they are invested in upkeep. The management team is new, dynamic, and intelligent.

Rooms are stylishly done up, lit well for ambiance, if rather dark. Breakfast is tasty and service attentive. The lobby, bar, and movie theater are attractive communal spaces, and a rooftop terrace is planned to take advantage of excellent space up top with sweeping city views. More than a base of operations, the Art Hotel was an exciting piece of my stay in Medellin. For my money, this is a solid -- and surprisingly affordable -- property and address in Medellin. Recommended to business and tourist travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viva_Santander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    198
    101
    49
    44
See reviews for
57
223
73
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Loved the location. Easy walking distance to gorgeous shopping malls and the Medellin city bus tour. Which was fantastic.
The rooms are very cleverly decorated, but impractical because it's much too dark. I had to turn on my flashlight to find my things during the day, and put my make-up on with very limited lighting.
Also, there needs to be more than tiny trash can that is located next to the toilet. A trash can in the room would be nice.
I also liked the easy walking to great restaurants.
Another downside is the hotel pipes and the overall design lend this hotel to be very noisy, so when people from upstairs flush the toilet or turn on the showers the sounds echo throughout the hotel. This could easily be remedied if the hotel would put in something, like curtains or throw carpets to absorb all the noise.
Would I stay here again. Probably yes. Would I look for another hotel just as nice first? Probably yes, it was just too noisy and missed being completely comfortable because of the lack of good.lighting.
The staff was wonderful and the breakfasts were terrific.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDParadiseJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

After staying in many Colombian hotels over the last few months, it was finally a pleasure to have stumbled upon one that ticked all my boxes.
This jewel of a hotel is situated perfectly within Medellins metropolitan El Poblado district. Easily My favourite part of Medellin that hosts a plethora of restaurants to satisfy even the most discerning pallets. There are also plenty of bars and clubs in the area to keep you occupied late into the morning if you so desire.
The hotel served my needs perfectly, I found the reception staff a joy to behold, very warm and friendly, they went out of their way to make my stay a comfortable one.
I loved the styling of the hotel it was obvious to see a lot of thought had gone into its unique design and layout, being a photographer myself I found plenty of interesting pictures to be taken within the hotels interiors, the view from the roof was amazing!!
The room itself I found warm and inviting, spacious in size with a huge bed that was extremely comfortable. The plasma tv located at the foot of the bed was a pleasure, especially as I found a BBC channel 'YEY' (Big result after spending months away from the UK). The bathroom had a bath and a huge separate shower room with one of those huge chrome shower heads, lovely stuff!
Everything was clean and tidy as you would expect so no complaints there.

Really there was nothing about the hotel that I didn't like, When Im back in Medellin I will definitely return to the Hotel.
You might be forgiven upon reading some of the latter reviews of the hotel to have some concerns as did I, but really put those concerns to one side and try it for yourself. You really wont find a better priced hotel in as good a location as the Art hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel offers great value. You will not find in Medellin such combination of great location / staff amability and atmosphere for that budget.

The lobby is very well decorated (there also was a painting display while we were there), and the rooms are cousy and comfortable. There is also a magnificent terrace on the roof, with great views of Medellin.
The staff was very polite and helpful to us, we had no problems checking in or out.
Internet and breakfast is included in the price, and I have to say that breakfast was great.

All the above is obviously very good, but what I found best about the hotel was its location, since it is 1 minute away from Parque Lleras (the most animated spot in Medellin, in the Poblado area)

That is why I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation

Juan Pablo Mejía (Bogotá)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Lovely hotel that is in a great location. Some day, this will be a great hotel, but there are some problems: 1. It took three calls over two days to get a lightbulb replaced. 2. The maid simply did not show up one day. 3. Another day the maid cleaned the room and took out all toilet paper. 4. The hotel is next to a nightclub that plays loud music until 4am. 5. Everything is concrete...the walls, the ceiling, the floor, the closet, the sink, and the bedside tables. They do not warm it up. 6. Rooms are underlit, as are hallways and stairs. 7. Wifi was very spotty. The only reliable signal was in the lobby. Once these are addressed, this will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve21217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We arrived late from MDE Airport and the checkin staff was really bad. They were very unorganized and the guy at the checkin didn't even know which room we reserved. After clarifying that, they had to check which rooms were available and he gave us a superior room which we also reserved.

Once we went upstairs to the room, the room seemed fine, but really small for a superior room and it had a queen size bed. We were looking for a king-size bed and went down to ask for another room since we booked a king-size bed.

The checkin-guy was eager to give us another room and had the bellboy walk around the hotel to checkout which room was available or not. After a while, the checkin-guy gave us an "upgrade to the junior-suite" which was not really bigger... BUT the room was not cleaned at all.. the bed sheets were taken off, the towels were on the floor etc...

After a while, we received a "Suite-Upgrade" which was not really a Suite, more then a Superior Room which we actually booked... By just placing a lounger and a desk table, they called it a Suite.

Anyways, the first night went well, although the doors were really thin and you could hear everything. Unless you are not married, don't go there as a couple.. the bathroom door is more like a curtain and you hear everything...

The second night did not went so well... the bar next door opened and it started getting crowded..... We couldn't sleep until 4 am in the morning, because the noise was so loud, it seemed like they were standing in our room and having their drunken conversations in our room... We decided to early checkout the next day after 4 hours sleep and go to another hotel!

Unless you are going to party a lot and get drunk, this is NOT your place. If you are looking for a close place to stay and get to the hotel late (around 4 am) and drunk, this is close to every party place...

But the ART-Hotel it pretends to be, it is not.... for that price you can do much better....

@Hotel: You need to change your windows and doors.. they are thin like paper and you hear EVERYTHING... also stop fooling the people with your small rooms... the superior room was really small.. i don't want to see the standard room....

This Hotel for ME: never ever again!

Room Tip: Don't even think about getting the rooms on the front side... you will not get a sleep at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yannickloop, Propietario at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thanks for you review. Re: the troubles at check-in: the hotel has been completely full during the period of month in which you stayed at the hotel. This is no excuse for bad service, but it explains part of the trouble of finding a convenient room. Nevertheless, we are having our check-in procedures reviewed. Re: the noise entering through the doors. Soon, this problem will be history, since we are in the process of replacing ALL the doors of the hotel by sound-proofed ones. Re: the noise from the disco: the general rule during the weekends (when the disco is open) is to occupy the internal rooms. Since the hotel was fully booked - exceptionally for the weekend - we were not able to do so. Nevertheless, we have taken additional measures in order to control the noise-issue from the disco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A boutique hotel this well-located, at such a comfortable price point, for such a great value, offering quality customer service, and with such immaculate attention to good design and detail, would under most circumstances deserve an unquestionable five-star rating. However, my particular experience with this hotel left just a little to be desired-- and I really do not consider myself a demanding guest.

After calling the hotel from the USA I decided to reserve a "superior" room instead of a "standard," in order to get a king size bed and an interior room that did not face what staff admitted was an extremely noisy street. Upon arrival, however, we were given a room with a queen size bed facing the street. The front desk staff tried to convince us that it was indeed a superior room (the only one in the entire hotel that faced the street), but it appeared the reality was that the hotel was full (with a large group) and they had nowhere else to put us. The next day, without any resistance, they changed us to an actual superior room.

Secondly, the night before we left Colombia we arranged a taxi with the front desk to take us to the airport the following morning. Upon entering our room moments later, the front desk staff called and offered us a private hotel car ride instead of a taxi for the same price. Brilliant!... except that the next morning the private car never showed up, the doorman had to flag down a hard-to-find taxi (as it was a holiday), and we were scrambling to get through customs in time for our flight. Once again-- no explanation for the mistake, just an unapologetic string of vague excuses.

So in sum: this really is a unique and fantastic hotel, and the service IS really good when everything is running as it should. I strongly recommend staying here. Just be prepared for the staff to try to gloss over and cover up for mistakes without a meaningful explanation or apology.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an INTERIOR room that does not face the street (on the other side of which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.3 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 108 in Medellin
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#8 of 108 in Medellin
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 108 in Medellin
710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Boutique

Property: Art Hotel Boutique
Address: Carrera 41 Calle 9-31 | Zona Rosa - El Poblado, Medellin 40000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 108 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel in central Medellin, featuring exposed brick and modern art. It is 1700 ft from El Poblado Metro Station and one mile from Medellin Convention Center.Rooms and suites at Art Hotel are stylish, with designer lighting and chaise lounges. All rooms have TVs with a DVD player. Some rooms have extra living space and luxurious bathrooms. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.Art Hotel has a wine bar, as well as an art gallery and movie theater. Guests can also use the Turkish bath and sauna.Located in the Poblado area, the hotel is near Lleras Park, where there are many restaurants and bars. Parking at Art Hotel is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing