We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in safe neighborhood”
Review of Art Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Boutique
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed there two nights and liked our stay. The hotel is stylish, has an open reception and lounge area and is in a great location. The room was towards the back of the hotel on the 5th floor and very quiet. The lighting in the room could be better. Very modern interior e.g. sink is in concrete. But what we liked most was its (save) location. From there (turn right when leaving hotel and left on the next block) it is only one block to Lleras Park with lots of restaurant, another block up there are many shops and cafe's.

It also has a roof top, which is accessible and while they have benches there it's not really inviting. They could add some lounges, chairs and sun protection and it would be a booming place for cocktails or drinks. Until then it's not a destination point.

Breakfast buffet was okay (had much better once on our tour through Colombia). Friendly service. English was limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. As rooms in the front can be noisy from neighboring bars / clubs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Art Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Art Hotel for four nights and had a nice time overall. The location is perfect, a few short blocks from Parque Lleras and many fun restaurants and bars. I am a light sleeper so was worried that noise might be an issue (this is why we steered clear of the Charlee). The hotel was very sensitive to this concern, and we ended up spending Friday and Saturday night in a quieter room with no windows onto the street (where there is in fact a nightclub fifteen feet away) before moving to a bigger room with windows for Sunday and Monday. While we had some issues with our air conditioning, the front desk graciously lent us the fan from their office.

Daniel, at the front desk, speaks fluent English (a relative rarity in Medellin) and was a tremendous help to us throughout our stay, accommodating our requests and also providing valuable guidance on how to enjoy our time in the city. We cannot speak more highly of him as he really made our stay much more smooth and enjoyable.

While the service and location were great, my wife and I were not big fans of the architectural design of the hotel. The steel beams and concrete look stylish in an actual museum, bit feel a bit cold in a bedroom. The rooms all open onto an interior courtyard, and noise tends to echo quite loudly off of the steel beams. This meant that a slammed door anywhere in the hotel is audible in your room. My wife had no problem with this (she is a great sleeper!), but I found it disturbing, especially on Friday and Saturday night when there were still people coming and going at 4-5am.

Another design flaw in my view: the bathrooms feature sliding doors that do not really seal off the space, so there is not much of a sense of privacy.

Room Tip: The larger "executive suite" rooms are much more spacious and comfortable, but also face o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel has a modern and original concept. The rooms have excellent facilities and beds are very well for an excellent night's sleep. The hotel is located in a very nice area one block from Parque Lleras, has an excellent location with respect to restaurants and bars. It is also located a few blocks from the Poblado metro station, allowing you to travel throughout the city with convenience and affordable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofiaBaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We chose this hotel for a short city trip to Medellín due to its location, unusual design, and generally positive reviews.

The location one block from lively Parque Lleras is unbeatable. Most of the noteworthy restaurants and bars Medellín has to offer are in walking distance, and the area is generally considered the safest in the city. The hop on/ hop off "Turibus" starts from Parque Poblado, about two blocks away. Note that there is a club right across from the hotel entrance, so some of the rooms are probably affected by loud noise on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays.

The hotel itself was a little disappointing considering we arrived from Cartagena, where we enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Casa Lola, a boutique hotel characterized by unique artwork and stylish decor in every room. We expected the Art Hotel to be somewhat similar, in a big-city-kind-of-way, but found that it lacked "soul".

The lobby is large and cold, characterized by dark colors and a certain emptiness since there were rarely any guests around. Staff were polite but brief and, with the exception of the door man who helped us with our luggage during check-in and check-out, didn't even greet when we entered. Breakfast was fine in terms of the food on offer but again, the service was not very friendly.

We were upgraded to a Superior Room with windows facing the atrium. It was quiet, but also rather dark. There was one (really nice) painting above the bed; other than that the room can be described much like the hotel's lobby: Spacious and "empty". It was equipped with a big bed, flat screen TV, and both a shower and a bath tub. The shower was so dark though that I had trouble shaving my legs. The sink is in the main room, which is both good and bad as one person can use it while the other uses the bathroom, but if one person wants to continue sleeping while the other gets ready they will most likely be disturbed. Housekeeping and general cleanliness were ok.

We really liked the atmosphere in the atrium at night. It is open in the center, which means that rain falls in and waters the little garden on the first floor. During our stay, we saw both a professional photo shoot and the taping of some kind of talk show take place in the hotel, so it seems to be a popular spot. They also show daily movies in a little theatre within the hotel.

The artwork in the public areas is nice, but we would have simply expected a bit more, also inside the guest rooms, considering the hotel's name.

Overall, I can recommend the hotel for its location but will probably look for a different hotel in the Poblado neighborhood next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janibier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The location in Zona Rosa means a big choice of restaurants and clubs is nearby. The hotel has displays of quality artworks in the lobby; at least some are for sale. The rooms are spacious, but with painted stone floors and no way to protect one's roommate from the sound and light emanating from the bathroom and wash basin areas. Breakfast is delightful, and a bar is available near the lobby during evenings. Staff ready to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is conveniently located next to the heart of Parque Lleras, so the location is good to just stroll around during the night time. I found Parque Lleras too foreign dominated, so I wasn't too fond of the area. As an architect, I love the entrance to the building and the unconventional lobby design. I appreciate hotels that pushes design boundaries, I find it refreshing. Establishing that visual connection from the courtyard corridor circulation to the reception desk is interesting. I haven't ran into problems with the acoustics in my room, perhaps it's because the room we were staying at was facing an interior courtyard facing an adjacent hotel.

Concierge service was up to par and their English was surprisingly good (I've ran into problems with many other hotels who doesn't speak very much English). We wanted to book paragliding the day before (late in the day), and they assured us that the service will be booked without a problem. We enjoyed Dragonfly paragliding, so we figured that we can trust them with their booking for our day-trip to Guatape. They suggested this tour service that costs 65,000 pesos (32$ USD) and said that the trip will be excellent. The flyer was written in English, so you would figure that the tour will be held in English. Unfortunately, that was not the case. For the next 10-12 hours, we were stuck in a bus with a bunch of tourists (a handful who were also fooled that it would be an English tour) jumping around from one site to the next. The meal included was horrible and the boat ride included was ridiculously boring. The cost of the tour doesn't include park entry fee to the Guatape rock ($12 USD). We came back to Medellin thinking that we wasted a day.

In terms of the hotel room, I thought the set up was all very nice, well-lit, and modern (lots of exposed pre-cast concrete floor and brick walls). One downside to using these materials (especially the concrete floor) is that the floor can quickly get dusty. Since the room doesn't provide slippers, I felt my feet collecting gunk when walking around the room. Also the toiletries were lacking. There was no conditioner nor hair dryer provided. You would think that a hotel that charges a rack rate of $100-$300 for a room would provide at least minimum relevant toiletries. The tv channel selection was elaborate.

Breakfast was actually the best part of the hotel. It's a breakfast buffet that includes delicious scrambled eggs, empanadas, sausages, 6 selection of juices, yogurt, cereal, coffee, and this AMAZING bread.

The hotel also offers jacuzzi and steam room downstairs next to a tiny gym. We booked it during the night time and it was very...uneventful. The jacuzzi is basically a huge tub with a faucet, something you would find in a suburban home. You have to kind of wait for the tub to fill up with water, but you have to regulate the temperature yourself or else the water will be too hot. We got bored fast after 10-15 minutes and decided to go back to our room.

The stay was good for a one-time stay, but if I come back to Medellin I would probably try to find a different hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard facing the adjacent hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is near perfect. Hotel atmosphere is stunning, the rooms are lovely, and the restaurant is excellent. The buffet breakfast is very good.

The one great failing is that there is apparently no soundproofing in between floors, so if there is someone in the room above you, you will hear every footstep, water running, flush and cough. It may have been my room (303), but it was impossible to get a full nights sleep as the occupants above me slept very little and moved around a lot.

After the first night, I asked to be moved, but was told that the occupants were checking out. The same problem manifested with the next nights occupants.

So a good tactic might be to request a room on an upper floor, or check if the room above you is empty.

I stayed two nights and would stay here again, but only on the top floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to prevent hearing noise above you.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#6 of 110 in Medellin
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#8 of 110 in Medellin
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 110 in Medellin
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Boutique

Address: Carrera 41 Calle 9-31 | Zona Rosa - El Poblado, Medellin 40000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: £29 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel in central Medellin, featuring exposed brick and modern art. It is 1700 ft from El Poblado Metro Station and one mile from Medellin Convention Center.Rooms and suites at Art Hotel are stylish, with designer lighting and chaise lounges. All rooms have TVs with a DVD player. Some rooms have extra living space and luxurious bathrooms. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.Art Hotel has a wine bar, as well as an art gallery and movie theater. Guests can also use the Turkish bath and sauna.Located in the Poblado area, the hotel is near Lleras Park, where there are many restaurants and bars. Parking at Art Hotel is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing