We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - neighboorhod not for solo travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 61Prado Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
61Prado Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place - neighboorhod not for solo travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I'm torn about this place. The hotel itself is great for the cost: the common area is nice, clean and cozy. The rooms are basic but clean (no bathroom amenities but a tiny soap) and the staff is very friendly and nice (liked the breakfast and their honor-system bar) however:
the blocks surrounding the property are residential but after that, they are a little bit frightening. The hotel is 4 blocks from the metro so it's convenient, and maybe 8-9 from the Plaza Botero and the Antioquia Museum; unfortunately, there's a lot of people doing drugs in the streets, sleeping in the sidewalks, beggers and sketchy characters.
I was there alone (female solo traveler) and I felt uneasy walking to the metro and surroundings and not to mention is almost unthinkable to walk around at night.
As much as I liked the property, Poblado is a better option for solo travelers even if it's not as close to the major sights in Medellin

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KarlaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    93
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
92
59
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is about the third time I stayed at this hotel. For Medellin, it is a better one for its price class. The Staff are generally excellent. They missed a laundry here and there and I had to lift the toilet tank cover to flush the toilet but they are so nice I feel bad even mentioning this. Even If I mentioned this to them they will be more than happy to response, probably even give me a new room if I ask for it. I find these problems are so minor I won't even bring it up. I mention it here to be realistic to people who read my reviews.

the security is the same as my last review of this hotel. They do a good job of securing the premises. they have good dead bolt locks at the entrance. the hotel access are for hotel guests only.
The area is generally safe in the day time. At night there may be some homeless people wandering about but there are also some street vendors that may provide some security. Try to head straight to the hotel when you got out at night. Avoid aimless wandering in the area at night. if you happen to wander at night, I think you will be alright, just be cautious and watch your back.

They gave me a large room when it is not taken. The room I am in now can probably fit a whole family. The closet is big enough for a kid bedroom. it is well cleaned.

Easy access to the metro train line. about 5 minutes walk.

Happy Travelling!

Joe T

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Most of the reviews are positive which is my impression too given the reasonable price. However this isn't the best place to find food. Other than at the hotel. The owner never showed up even when 2 people needed to pay in the am. The poor cook/housekeeper had to deal with the exchange. They don't take credit card. Only Paypal or cash in US or ¥ or pesos. The rooms are huge. We had 2 bedrooms and an enormous bathroom but it smelled of sulphur or some unpleasant odor. The cupboard was musty the sheet had a hole in it, the bathtub wasn't cleaned well from the last occupant and I found a centipede in the bedroom. Nevertheless they are very trusting people. There is a fridge where you help yourself to beverages and note it on your bill. But dealing with the payment is awkward if person responsible isn't around. Ophelia helped us to call the airport taxi for the next day (it's $25)and used her own cell to call Cali for our reservation. So it's pluses and minuses here. Food is fine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanaquerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluefields
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place feels like a posh hotel but is actually fairly cheap for Medellin. And you get access to an excellent kitchen. Great choice in the city center. The also serve nice meals which is great as there is not too much in the immediate vicinity in the way of restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank presidentgallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here twice on our tip through Colombia and really liked the hotel. The area in which it is located doesn't offer much to the average traveller, but it is a short walk to the city centre, with an amazing outdoor sculpture park and nearby museums. The hotel is handily located for using the metro system - which is efficient.

We had two different rooms - can't remember the numbers now - but both were large and comfortable. On the first occasion we were able to access our room well before check-in, which we really appreciated after a sleepless 10 hour night bus journey. The second room we had, on the first floor, probably could have done with a bit of an update but it was clean and had fans and TV.

The food served at the hotel is excellent and well priced, which is lucky since there aren't many good eating options locally. We did have a bit of a weird time at one dinner. We ordered it for 7.30 and just before 7.30 there was a knock on our door and one of the staff told us our food was getting cold. A bit odd, so we trundled downstairs to discover our food sat on the table awaiting us. It wasn't cold and it was very tasty, but it wasn't great customer service in a hotel where the customer service is generally very good.

All-in-all a very nice and friendly place to stay in the centre of Medellin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel rescued my trip, I had to change the nature of my trip. The location was excellent not far from the commercial district about a half mile from the hotel. I speak no Spanish, but I was able to the city maneuver with a little difficulty. There was a museum close by and some churches and great places to take some photographs not to mention the city is beautiful architecturally and geographically that you can observe from the hotel location. There is a roof top view at night that is outstanding. The staff is very friendly and patience. Luke the owner is very gracious and knowledgeable person and speaks very fluent English. I would recommend this establishment to a friend and would use them again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want to get a room without windows or one in the rear the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriorI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

An extraordinary hostel very well price... beautiful vaulted room, with elegant furniture...at an incredibly low price. Excellent breakfast, high quality ingredients, nice staff and very knowledgeable
No flaws at all.
If i need to find some bad sides, i would say

- I had to leave the hotel the next day because it was full, but they sent me to another hotel 100 meters from there. I wanted to stay longer there
- The neighborhood can be a little bit dodgy at night, but nothing bad for someone who is accustomized to latin america. And the subway is 5 minutes walk from there.

Another good point; Down the street you can have a lunch in a restaurant for less than 3 USD (cheaper than the hostel)

Room Tip: Top floor is gorgeous..and you have a view of the whole city from the terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#5 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.5 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
3.6 mi away
In House
In House
#14 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 61Prado Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 61Prado Guesthouse

Property: 61Prado Guesthouse
Address: Calle 61 50c 50A-60, Medellin 050012, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Medellin
#9 Business Hotel in Medellin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 61Prado Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European guesthouse offers very good value and a relaxed and classy atmosphere. Conveniently located in the hart of Medellin close to all tourist attractions. Excellent metro and bus connections to all parts of Medellin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 61Prado Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
61prado Guesthouse Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing