We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Area not nice but great place to hide”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 61Prado Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
61Prado Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Area not nice but great place to hide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nice staff, good restaurant, kitchen for free use, junior Suite not expansive and spacy.
Metro is close, but the area is not safe. Taxi to El poblado about 10.000 $COL.
WiFi mostly good!
For this price a very good option! Next time in Medellin this place again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222Timmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    94
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
94
60
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

61Prado was a hip and modern hotel with clean rooms and our shower was fantastic. Good WiFi access in-room. Staff were super-awesome and friendly. The breakfasts were good and the coffee served was exceptional. Nice ambiance in the reception and dining areas. Downsides: a lot of noise in the room coming from the street below; location not in the best part of town. Overall we would recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

They really make you feel comfortable and honor system for goodies is great. Roof terrace is wonderful - such a great chance to get to know the other people staying there - who were all really nice and helpful with lots of good tips (definitely do the incredibly cheap day trip to Guatape - amazing deal! and such a colorful town and Piedra del Penon was so cool). Also food quite good though menu is small - and really good value on everything from bottled water to sodas...

Keep in mind, though close to the (very safe) Metro and Parque Berrio, the botanical gardens etc., the neighborhood is really dicey at night - luckily cabs are v. cheap and the hotel itself is very safe, and honestly, I think lots of Medellin neighborhoods, with the exception of the way too touristy Parque Lleras, are pretty dicey at night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jsshaffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The manager, Luc, was very cooperative and helpful. Generally available at all times. He placed me back of the property, next to the kitchen. So I heard no road noise, only the rustle in the a.m. of staff prepping for the morning's meals. They would go easy, and I slept well. The place is clean, and modest. No TV in room, which I took as a bonus. Mainly westerners were guests. I met many who I dined and traveled with later on. Luc was mistaken on one thing: there IS postal service in Columbia, although difficult to track down (I did so in Cartagena).This is a price friendly place, and if you are a long term traveler, they won't dent your wallet.

Room Tip: i asked for a quiet room and was given the quietest available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealBHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very nice staff, owner, and regular/repeat guests. A comfortable feeling to the place. Some glitches: morning industrial washing machines and nightly fireworks in area made sleeping difficult. (Maybe it was a Christmas month thing, but, in Medellin fireworks sounds a bit ominous.) Language barrier was not a real problem, except for one desk employee who responded to my stating a number of times, in my mediocre Spanish "I don't understand you" with repeating the same things over and over, while the owner stood there oblivious to my frustration. I finally turned to him and asked for a little help, which he gave. Meals were usually fine, except for one one of frozen bread and cold soup. My laundry was lost for a while, but found. The roof in the eating area leaked. The desk staffer forgot to wake me for my airport ride, though luckily I got up without it. My big complaint was that the night time desk man lied to me when he told me that he had no way to reach the owner in an emergency. Clearly, he was instructed to say that, even when I asked about a possibly serious problem (which luckily was not). One short phone call to the owner would have put my mind at ease, but that was not possible. The location was not a problem--taxis were fast and easy to get, though the drivers were uniformly maniacs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Nice guesthouse. Friendly staff. Well located in central medellin. Room was clean and comfortable. Only con: be prepared to wake up at 7, if you have a room adjacent to breakfast area. Other than that, great value!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bramverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I'm a critical traveler. This was also my first time to Colombia. 61 Prado made the trip for me -- $40US, help-yourself beer (for $1!), and great people made it a place I looked forward to come back to after a day of trekking. The room was great, huge, and safe. The rooftop provided great views for drinks and hanging out. I could go on -- but really have no complaints.

Not only do I recommend Medellin and Colombia as a destination, but get out of the Medellin suburbs and tacky high-rise hotels. Check out 61 Prado and experience Colombia as it should be.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#6 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
4.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 61Prado Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 61Prado Guesthouse

Property: 61Prado Guesthouse
Address: Calle 61 50c 50A-60, Medellin 050012, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Medellin
#9 Business Hotel in Medellin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 61Prado Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European guesthouse offers very good value and a relaxed and classy atmosphere. Conveniently located in the hart of Medellin close to all tourist attractions. Excellent metro and bus connections to all parts of Medellin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 61Prado Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
61prado Guesthouse Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing