We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Geo Hostel
Ranked #10 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I can't rave enough about this hostel. Staff is great. Rooms resemble that of a 3-4 star hotel rather than a hostel. Very clean. Location is unbeatable. Value is also unbeatable. A bit loud at night but that is due to the unbeatable location and the fact that our room had an entire wall consisting of a picture window overlooking the best part of the city that we left open all night. Love love love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    45
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
42
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This place was in a great location, near tons of bars and restaurants. The neighborhood is very safe and there is a lot to do. It was also very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was served in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful in giving directions and suggestions on places to go as well as helping us figure out our next leg of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayded44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have stayed here many times and always enjoyed it and think the location and service have been excellent. Extremely clean and friendly.
However, this last trip was quite different. We only stayed one night.
Even though we had reserved a Geo Suite on the front side, but we were given an interior suite with no windows and a noisy floor airconditioner.
The staff was not friendly in any way and talked very loudly about personal issues in the entry and staircase where the sound carries like you are in the same room. This was most of the evening and well into the night.
There is a lovely sala on the top floor of the building, great place to hang out. Unfortunately the large and noisy group who was staying there partied until around 2:30 in the morning. The only reason they stopped drinking and singing was because we called the staff and complained. After another 1/2 hour of shouting and crashing around, including knocking on our door numerous times, it finally got quiet. We got up around 7 and left.



  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Geohostel was the best $40 hotel/hostel I stayed in during a tour of Peru/Colombia/Bolivia. The accommodations look exactly like the website, computers with internet are available at no cost, the rooms are modern and clean, with hot water! Area wise you could not have picked better, as it was only a short walk to the main square with all the restaurants/bars. The only downside was the noise as we had a street facing room and it got very noisy when cars drove by, on the plus side it wasn't a super busy street. Regardless, for $40, there is no doubt in my mind that we will recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Geo hostel is the nicest hostel I've stayed in out of 7 months in South America! Although pricier than other hostels, the facilities are much nicer. There's a deck with a jacuzzi (but the water is cold), hot showers, clean bathrooms, communal kitchen, wifi, and breakfast included. The staff is super friendly, the location is great, and the atmosphere is more relaxed and quiet than other backpacker hostels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was seriously the best hotel I've ever been to. Very clean, everything looked brand new. My friends and I stayed in one of the dorm rooms and had a very comfortable couple of nights. It's located only a couple of blocks away from Parque Lleras, where most of the bars and clubs are. The staff was very friendly and provided very good suggestions on places to go out. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgi_marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nice and new hostal in zona rosa, with a jacuzzi on the roof, but, don't think about to use it - the water is cold. You have free internet, but the anti-virus-protection is not good... the comps are very slow... you need patience.
Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holgerbube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#9 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.5 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
In House
In House
#16 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#5 of 198 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 198 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geo Hostel

Property: Geo Hostel
Address: Carra 35 8A - 58 | El Poblado, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Geo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Geo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing