We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay in Zona Rosa”
Review of Lleras Park Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lleras Park Hostal
Ranked #36 of 138 Medellin B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay in Zona Rosa”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This hostel was much quieter inside the walls than outside. It's smack in the middle of all the action next to Lleras Park, where all the locals gather to drink on the weekends. During the weekdays, the hostel itself was quite dead; or peaceful, however you wanna look at it. There weren't a lot of other travelers staying there, so me and 1 other person had a 10-bed dorm room to ourselves. The beds feel like all the other mattresses in Medellin (not spring mattress, but the heavy firmer kinds). Private lockers outside the room were a big plus. Hot, high-pressure showers (gas, not electric, thankfully) were great and always available. All this for 20,000 COP for a mixed Dorm bed!
Free coffee available till 12noon, then she charges 500 pesos. The lady, Maria, is an absolute sweetheart. Her English is limited, but if you want to practice you Spanish (which you should, being in South America), she is very patient and speaks slowly so you understand every word. I started believing my Spanish was truly improving until I stepped outside, haha.
Not a party hostel when I was there, but I think that depends on chance and who else is staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinktinktink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
8
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed it! The rooms were clean and there were lockers to lock your stuff up. They also woke you up whenever you asked them to and pretty much were willing to take care of everything you needed. They offered towels etc. and cleaned every single day (laundry room, kitchen, etc.). The only con was that the people working there didn't speak any English and since we didn't speak any Spanish, we had to use Google translate to even check in! It was kind of funny and a "bonding experience" but on the other hand just like I should speak some Spanish, they should speak some English, especially since they are working a hostel. Aside from that, the bathrooms had a little bit of a problem with the water because it would leak out of the shower and cause the floor in front of the toilets to have puddles, but they were pretty good about cleaning it up - it would probably make it easier if there was some type of drain on the floor outside the shower. All in all, great place to stay! Felt very safe and very comfortable!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I had the feeling that the rooms were designed for very short stays..... Our bed was rather narrow but would have been fine if we were on top of each other. The disco closes around 3:00 am. The staff were nice and friendly and the Hotel is right in the heart of the Zona Rosa with plenty of retaurants around.

Room Tip: Check the width of the bed if there are two of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-n-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Lleras Park Hostal is literally in the middle of the social scene in El Pablado. It is a smaller hostal with 1 dorm room and two other private rooms. The private room with bath I stayed in was clean and comfortable albeit a little noisy until 2AM on the weekends. Unfortunately no one on the staff spoke English, but I was offered coffee almost every time I came back. Ask for a lcok-box for your valuables. Finally, there is a bank right next door and often the armed guards hang around or even in the hostal to kill time, making you feel secure if you are new to Medellin.

Pros: LOCATION, free WiFi, hospitable mangament, location, clean, computer and TV in common area, small

Cons: Staff does not speak English, can be noisy (from the streets) on the weekends, hot water in shower comes and goes, room had a simple lock

Room Tip: Go ahead and splurge on a private room (<$30/night) and you get a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We had a difficult time finding a decent, affordable hostel in the zona rosa of Medellin, so we were thrilled when we found lovely Lleras, just 2 blocks from the central park of the zona rosa, surrounded by restaurants and bars and on a tree-lined street. The building itself is very sweet, with lots of communal space, indoor and outdoor, and nice rooms. The only problem with the rooms is that they are quite tight, but this is not unusual for a hostel in this part of town. We were using the nice kitchen, which seemed very clean, enjoying our time thoroughly, when a strong smell of old pee drifted in. We never determined where the smell came from, so who knows if it's a regular thing, but it wafted in and out of the kitchen all night. It far from ruined our stay, however.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKS-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The worst hostel I have ever been in my life, not clean at all, I was planning to be there five days in a private room that I had already paid, the Private bath was outside of the room and the room was very comfortable, everything seemed to be well until the second day, when I was told that I had to change my private room that I had already paid for the general dorms, because my private room was sold twice by mistake, so It means I had to change my room and even my private bath.

I never leave the room until the other day that I had paid, the only thing I gave was my bathroom.


Can everyone believes that I had to change my private room that I had already paid in advance and go to the dorms?

I was going crazy, did not know where to go in Medellin and I was very used to that area and and also had no budget to pay for a hotel, I had all my expenses organized before my trip.

So I had to go to a Hotel since all the hostels around the area was totally full.


if you ever want to go to Medellin, please take care of going to hostels... in Medellin there are many inexpensive options.. just look for "The Boutique Hotels" most of them are small hotels very inexpensive and very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JUANCASO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medellin hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

A great hostel in the heart of Parque Lleras Medellin, close to all the restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The owners are really friendly and speak great English. The rooftop bar is fantastic for a drink and to watch the nightlife below. Tyler makes the best Mojitos in Colombia!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.2 mi away
Tamarindo Inn
Tamarindo Inn
#9 of 138 in Medellin
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 210 in Medellin
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geo Hostel
Geo Hostel
#10 of 210 in Medellin
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 210 in Medellin
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Relax 10
Hostal Relax 10
#85 of 138 in Medellin
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel DIX
Hotel DIX
#3 of 138 in Medellin
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lleras Park Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lleras Park Hostal

Property: Lleras Park Hostal
Address: Carrera 39 # 8-72 | El Poblado, Medellin 050002, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Medellin, Colombia. If you want to experience all that this beautiful city has to offer, and save enough money to really enjoy it, there is no better place to stay than the Lleras Park Hostal. Centrally located less than half a block from the Lleras Park, you will be surrounded by the best restuarants, shops, and night clubs in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lleras Park Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing