We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good !”
Review of Hostal Casa Ram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Casa Ram
Ranked #54 of 159 Medellin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Casa Ram is the kind of secret location that can make everyone happy. The place is very clean and the staff nice and helpful. I can only recommend this place as it is more than a normal hostel because it has some nice features like worm shower (it had been a while) and a little swimming pool that can help relaxing after some hectic night in the next door Zona Rosa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed at casa Ram for 2 weeks in march 2012. I felt welcomed from the start, the staff is very friendly and social. They look after you and help with whatever you need. I payed 70.000pesos for a private without bathroom. It was basic but very clean. The only bad thing about it was the roof wich was very low. However they have other more luxurious rooms if you are willing to pay 20.000 pesos more. The hostel is very fresh and has got a nice pool. the kitchen is big and I had lots of room to store my food in the refridgerator. Just outside the hostel lies the supermarket pomona wich is very convenient. its a 5-10 minute walk to the zona rosa and all the clubs. Overall I am very pleased with my stay and can recommend it to anyone who want a nice stay when visiting medellin. I also want to say that I never felt unsafe during my 2 week vacation. There are alot of friendly people!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreasgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed here for a few nights in a large group. The staff were extremely friendly and looked after us well. The hostal is clean, has a very cool interior design. There is a great communal area with a big TV, computer and pool. The location is also great for exploring one of the safest districts in Medellin, El Poblado.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Casa Ram is certainly not a typical South American hostel, but a welcome change from the usual fare.

We stayed in the dorm, which is large but was mostly empty for our stay. Clean, simple and in keeping with the rest of grounds, appointed in modernist style. Easily the best shower in 5 months in the continent. Poked my head in an empty private room and was instantly envious.

Handy location to nightlife/restaurants etc in Zona Rosa with the bonus of being tucked away in relative peace on an off-shoot of calle 10. The stream flowing alongside muffles most street noise to make for a relaxed poolside lounging spot.

The communal area, spread out across a leafy courtyard of sorts and terraced pool area feels more like a scene from a trendy music video or a glossy architecture magazine. Kitchen facilities and lounge area all more than adequate. Expensive but well-stocked and westernised supermarket immediately across the road. Jorge, Juan and the rest of the staff are friendly and accommodating.

Won't win any awards for value, as breakfast is not included and rates are on the high side, but faultless on nearly every other front. Try the burger joint fronting on the road and you'll be fighting temptation your whole stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ski_bunny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We landed in rionegro late from sn andres and we asked at the infotourism for agood place to stay not too far from the airport but in medellin wich is 40 mins from rionegro and close to some restaurants she gave me this option for less than the price i was expecting to pay in "zona rosa" medellin, close to poblado park and lleras park, make it perfect for solo travel friends or couples they have all kinds of prices and rooms, they give us a room in the detached house wich had style and a comfortable bed very clean also is kind a minimalist classic-industrial room with a big metal door, this house used to be a boutique and warehouse of ram jeans and teh owner decided to converted.The ambient is very nice and relaxing with the sound of the small ravine nearby, the service is excellent they were very hellpfull all the time, there is a big garden pretty nice with all kinds of plants chairs and tables there is small kitchen where u can cook meals,and also there is a restaurant of delicious gourmet burgers stepping out the door, social area is a open space close to the pool and saturdays they make pool parties with local dj's ,it's a cool place where the staff make u feel like part of their family and the energy of this place will make u feel like u belong to this wonderfull city!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ketsune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

RAM Hostal is a very nice, modern place, in the heart of the fashionable El Poblado district and just blocks from the trendy nightlife hub Parque Lleras.

Now, I have to admit, Parque Lleras is not the place I would normally look to have my base - I can find plenty of trendy nightclubs with velvet ropes and cover charges, blaring techno, and "ladies drink free rum all night" in my hometown, I'm not looking for that in my travels. But for those who are, RAM Hostal is conveniently located next to nightlife ground zero.

I stayed in a great private room with private bath, at 80,000 COP (about $45 US/night). I had originally reserved a private room with shared bath, at 50,000 COP (less than $30 US/night), but I looked around at the different rooms and loved #3, which includes a rushing creek just outside the window, so I decided to upgrade. I took a quick look at the shared rooms, which seemed more bunker-like than the other shared hostal rooms I saw in Colombia.

The hostal itself is very upscale for a hostal. It has a nice lobby and an outdoor pool and bar. Staff is super nice, in particular Juliana. Just outside the hostal is a big, upscale grocery store with a lunch counter, coffee bar, and free wi-fi. Taxis in Medellin are cheap and plentiful, and the metro is about a 10-15 minute walk.

The hostal has free wi-fi, no breakfast, and hot showers. And it's a very quiet place. The neighborhood is lush, very clean and safe - it almost reminds me of being in Miami or something.

All in all, RAM Hostal is nice, comfortable place to stay in Medellin, at a pretty good price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Waking up to the sound of the stream that runs next to the hostal is just lovely, and despite the shared bathrooms (you can also get a room with private bath) it is comfortable and they make you feel at home. You can make your own food in the big open kitchen and walk to all the fun restaurants and bars safely, even at night. Great location and we had a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepingbelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.3 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#6 of 111 in Medellin
298 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#10 of 111 in Medellin
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#7 of 243 in Medellin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hostal Boutique
Los Patios Hostal Boutique
#1 of 111 in Medellin
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galeria Hostel
Galeria Hostel
#36 of 243 in Medellin
147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Paisa City Hostel Medellin
Paisa City Hostel Medellin
#5 of 243 in Medellin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Ram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ram

Address: Calle 11 A No. 42 -05, Medellin 00574, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Medellin
Price Range: £16 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ram 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ram is a an oasis of nature and tranquility just 5 minutes away from all bars and restaurants from 'El Poblado'. Here you can also enjoy the comfort of a hotel at the price of a hostel.We have a large and diverse offer of accommodation suited for budget-wise travelers until private suits from people looking for more space and more intimacy. Everybody can enjoy of our swimming pool during sunny days. We have spacious, design, comfortable common rooms as well as a bar and a restaurant. The central part of the hostel is a large patio where you can discuss with other guests or simply enjoying the sun while listening to the birds that comes to our oasis of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Casa Ram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing