We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Medellin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel in Medellin”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great value, the staff was very helpful. The rooms are a good size and clean. The resturants at the hotel are great for breakfast or a quick snack, we did not eat dinner there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC201206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    232
    76
    39
    31
See reviews for
79
215
67
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great Hotel when visiting Medellin.
Room are spacious, nice design, very clean.
Beds are very comfortable, a bit hard.
The hotel have a very nice view from the rooms or the Spa in the roof top.
Great service as well.

The only complain was the Hottub in the roof top. Poorly maintained.
Our legs were hitching for about an hour after using it.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel is unique and interesting by design with themed floors and from a cost performance point of view, it is very good value however there are a few faults.

1. The lack of soundproofing is the top of the list - I could head people clearly talking in other rooms both from the room and the hall and hear the water running in the pipes and unfortunately someone singing in the shower.

2. The restaurant was hopeless for dinner, it wasn't a proper restaurant, just the breakfast area with service from the people completing room service.

3. They didn't have tourist information, not even a map of Medellin.

4. The bathroom is only cornered off my frosted glass, so you can clearly hear the noise from the bathroom and see the light when it is on.

5. The quality of the large blinds were poor, the one in our room was broken and had to be fixed on arrival. Upon use, it was clear why it was broken.

Flaws, aside, the hotel was suitable for the price, the concept is great however the execution is a little off. They do however have a small gym, plunge pool and a business centre which is always a plus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_General_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is fantastic for the price. The rooms are clean, modern & have everything you would expect from a top hotel but still a boutique hotel. The breakfast was also very good. There are a lot of restaurants on site (which we didn't try) & within a 5 minute walk you are in the centre of the restaurant/bar area Parque Lleras. The hotel is in a great central location in El Poblado. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The only thing preventing a five star rating here was the lack of sound insulation. I could clearly hear all conversations and door closings in the hallway, my air conditioner rattled like an old car, and the hydraulic lines flushed right through the wall adjacent to my room. Granted, I am sensitive to noise, so none of this may bother you.

The staff are helpful and courteous, the breakfast is wonderful, and the room is clean and modern. A good value overall.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jonchaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay, CA and Southern Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Before deciding upon a place to stay in Medellin we researched the various options available and also checked with a good friend who had contacts here. We ended up initially planning to stay in a less-expensive small "boutique" hotel also located in the Zona Rosa for the first week of our trip and then switch to the highly-recommended Hotel Diez for a luxury wind-up to our vacation. But after two nights in the smaller hotel in a very cramped room we decided to switch early to the Hotel Diez.

And what a great decision that was! We found ourselves situated in a mini-museum posing as a hotel. Each of the 5 floors of the hotel is decorated in a theme representing a different part of the country of Colombia. We leisurely wandered each floor, perusing the professionally-designed displays and coveting the carefully selected regional items. We enjoyed staying in two different rooms in the hotel (separated by a trip to Cartagena) and appreciated each for its unique atmosphere. And oh, the breakfasts! Each morning we enjoyed a buffet of fresh fruit, a huge selection of breads and sweet rolls, the local hot rice and bean specialty (paisa), and eggs cooked to order, all washed down with fresh fruit juice, coffee and hot chocolate.

The hotel offers not only free wifi, but also free local telephone calls, free public computers, and free printing on a laser jet printer. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is situated an easy 5-minute stroll from the famous Parque Lloras with its abundance of fine restaurants and night spots. We also found the 20-minute downhill walk to the sparkling new Metro station an enjoyable occasion to observe the hustle and bustle of the city, but we must admit to taking advantage of the $.85 bus ride back up the hill to the hotel. Most of the reception staff speaks adequate English, and the bellhops excel in providing local tips in excellent English.

We hope to again visit Colombia in the future and will definitely include another stay in this great hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have soundproof windows, sunscreen curtains, and blackout curtains. The 5 suites, one per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toucanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Nicely situated and quite. There is an ATM right around the block. There is a great dining area within a 3 minute cab ride. The only thing that prevented me from giving this a 5 star rating is the fact that they have theme rooms. This is not a huge problem except for the fact that I did not appreciate the giant sculpture of a snake that protruded from the wall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlytheThruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#13 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#43 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#7 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Property: Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Address: Carrera 10a 34-11, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing