We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. That is all!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Ranked #13 of 107 Hotels in Medellin
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location. That is all!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is magnificent. That is about all it has going for it. The neighbourhood is full of great restaurants and bars.
On the negative side - there is no noise insulation and you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway or the room next door. Most annoying. The keyboard needs to be programmed every night as it doesn't work when you get back, go to the room and see the dreaded red light on the door lock. I was storing my dirty laundry in a plastic bag in the room and they took it although I had not filled the forms. The most annoying is that they don't lend you an iron and there isn't one in the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank thesaint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    240
    79
    39
    34
See reviews for
84
223
67
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Diez Hotel is located in a reasonable area, with some nearby restaurants, within easy and safe walking distance. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. The bell boys are particularly helpful, though some of the desk receptionists were a little distant, which made our welcome and check out a little impersonal. Breakfast is good, with attentive service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you are a business traveler you do not want to stay here one once simple reason.....they have a ridiculous WiFi system that logs you off and forces you to log in again every time you re-enter the zone. Forget automatic. It drives you crazy because if you lose the signal for a second (like when you are in the elevator) you have to go through the enter process again. Impossible to do business with such arcane security access.

The hotel is aso like a cheap Days Inn and certainly not worth more than $60 in Colombia. There are far better hotels for the money in the area.

That said, the location is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmansown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a great hotel deserving of its 5-star status although there are more luxurious hotels in Medellin. The rooms are fairly large and comfortable and the bathrooms are of a good size. We stayed there as part of a group of 7 people and really enjoyed it. Some of the rooms have a hammock in them. The food, especially at breakfast, was very varied and catered to all tastes. Try the fresh Guanabana which is an exotic local fruit found in many parts of Latin America.

Any downside? Yes - we could not get the hot/cold water mixer tap to give us water at the right temperature.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the corner of he hotel facing the City with a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was my first stay in Colombia. Being semi-proficient in Spanish, I seemed to get by pretty well. I was welcomed with smile as well as made a solid conncection with the chauffers.

Pros: Location (el problado), 5 restaurants/lounges (great variety), security, staff that really looks out for you, the view, the sophisticated ambience.

Cons: the bed was terribly uncomfortable, front desk tried to charge me a fee to bring my friend up to the restaurant? and also, being in Colombia, the prices were a little too high ($12 for a meal at each restaurant/cafe) although breakfast was superb.

Overall, this hotel has its strengths and weaknesses. Depending on the type of traveler you are, you will enjoy your stay here one way or another. For someone venturing the night scene, you are 2 blocks from Parque Lleras, Medellin's version of Bourbon Street. I fit into that category so calm me bias as you may!

Room Tip: Top Floor City View, simply put in the special request when reserving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RookGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was my first time at the Diez Hotel,I must say the hotel is very nice and clean, great service at the front desk , restaurants and through out the whole hotel.Fast check-in. Several staff members spoke English and were most helpful, especially Steven at the front desk. Great location, room was very comfortable, shower had the best water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed in and lots of hot water. a cab ride for the airport is about 60,000-65,000 COP ($30-33.00 USD) each way.The front desk can arrange transportation for you to the airport. The room rate included a buffet breakfast and it was excellent, something for everyone.There is no currency exchange at the hotel so make sure you change a little money at the airport for the cab ride, there is a huge and beautiful mall near the hotel which is about a 6,000 COP ride and there is a currency exchange there which gives a better rate than the airport.The hotel offers Insurance at the rate of about $7.00 USD per night per person, this is to cover you if you need a doctor and is optional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMidnight422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I don't usually write reviews but felt compelled because of my experience at this hotel. One of the maids or someone else that had access to my room stole an expensive Louis Vuitton iPad case from my room. I figured I could leave my iPad out for the afternoon to charge but was wrong. Thank god I had everything else locked in the safe. The manager had the audacity to at first tell me that this was not possible because the maids said that I had a 'do not disturb' sign on my door, and therefore were not in my room. When I informed her that this was only the case in the morning and my room was in fact cleaned in the afternoon, she spoke further to the maids and then retracted her statement and saying even further that now one of the maids remembers seeing it in my room the day before. End result...they acknowledged the theft and no compensation.
Other notes...the other reviewers are correct when they say terrible wifi and no hard wire in the room, beds too short for someone 6'...and too loud to sleep on a Friday or Saturday due to the disco on the ground floor going until 4am.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M_R_802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JairoSDiez, Director Comercial at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Good Day

We would like to inform you that Diez Hotel Categoría Colombia duly conducted the

established internal procedures due to the loss of your personal property. We have tried

unsuccessfully, on several occasions, to obtain your personal information in order to

contact you and inform about the results of our follow-up.

Likewise, we tried to contact your friend Mr. Gustavo Estrada on several occasions via

email and telephone, but unfortunately, our efforts were unsuccessful as well.

Please note that your tablet case was found in the Spa area on a ledge.

We ask for your kind assistance by contacting us in order to provide you with your

personal item, according to the information you provide us.

We look forward to your comments.

Sincerely yours,

Jenny Arcila
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#12 of 107 in Medellin
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 107 in Medellin
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 107 in Medellin
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#48 of 107 in Medellin
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#8 of 107 in Medellin
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Property: Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Address: Carrera 10a 34-11, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 107 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing