We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few things that need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GHL Style Hotel San Diego
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
A TripAdvisor Member
“A few things that need improvement”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Liked:
-Location was convenient for my needs.
-This is one hotel that if I put the sign "do not disturb" they don't. While on holidays I usually sleep all day long, and there is nothing that irritates more (and happens often) than putting the sign and having someone knocking on my door, OR, ringing the phone to see if I still don't want to get disturbed or room cleaned. GHL allowed me to rest, so thumbs up. Room was pretty spacious. AC fine. WiFi worked out fine, and no connection issues.

Major flaw:
- The check in was TERRIBLE. After hours of traveling, unless the receptionist is cute, you don't really want to spend a lot of time in the front desk, well, they were slow, I waited, my turned arrived and receptionist was charging me again TWICE, I explained I paid on full, she didn't believe, that's fine, she went to check, she returns and says she has no record of my payment, so I took out my iPad, searched and showed the receipt in the tablet, she is looking it on screen and says: " I need a print", I guess she was expecting for me to carry a printer too, but was not the case, she insists, then she commands me to email myself, use the lobby computer, and make a print. I said ok, went out of line, went to that computer, and tried to print (thinking: nice welcome cocktail!), I finally print, go back to the front desk, "its in your printer", keeps servicing other guy (keep waiting), she finally makes me a favor paying attention, and says let me check, she goes to the printer and says, sorry it is not legible, make another one, I go back, and repeated the process, but this time the screen froze when sending to print. I explained its not working, (keep waiting), till I needed to find a solution for her, I said, why don't you take my iPad, take a picture of the screen, copy or whatever? (she's thinking), uhm Ok, I'll give your key in a minute, and instead of finishing my check in, she keeps servicing the line! one of the bellboys noticed my face, and with more common sense -intelligence, he approaches her and whispers: pls. complete Mr. F's check in. She was really pushing my buttons, I remained calmed though, but went up to my room upset with a bad impression and sour taste.

Chance for improvement:
An iron in the room pls. I was in a rush and my shirt was wrinkled, wrongly I assumed there was an iron, but no. My mistake that I went out with wrinkled clothes, but would be convenient to have. I wish also they had a smoking floor / section

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Maria A, Gerente at GHL Style Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting in name of all the staff of the Ghl Comfort San Diego Hotel.

We want to thanks for your dedicated time to him to do the survey of satisfaction.

Your evaluation and commentaries are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

We will hope to count again on your presence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ana María Azicri Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    67
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
27
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Excellent hotel located in a safe district, at a short walking distance from charming food courts, and less than 10 minutes taxi from town center (San Antonio, Jardin Botanico, etc.). Staff is extremely professional and careful to our comfort and safety. Rooms are amazingly large (compared to European standards !), with comfortable beds, panoramic views and nice bathrooms (only the shower pressure is problematic, like in most Colombian hotels, with either boiling or cold water). Breakfast is tasteful and very good. Latest check-out is at 3:00 pm, which is very practical.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Maria A, Gerente at GHL Style Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting in name of all the staff of the Ghl Comfort San Diego Hotel.

We want to thanks for your dedicated time to him to do the survey of satisfaction.

Your evaluation and commentaries are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

We will hope to count again on your presence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ana María Azicri Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

From the time I got into the hotel, the Front Desk Staff was very nice and the room was quite bigger than expected. The hotel is located right accross from a shopping mall and is quite accessible. They offered breakfast and it was also very nice. I would highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great value and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesusjruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Maria A, Gerente at GHL Style Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting in name of all the staff of the Ghl Comfort San Diego Hotel.

We want to thanks for your dedicated time to him to do the survey of satisfaction.

Your evaluation and commentaries are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

We will hope to count again on your presence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ana María Azicri Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierville,qc,Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I was at GHL for a week and i just love it. All the employees were very nice even if the language was a little problematic we had a lot of fun. The hotel is a little far from downtown in a industrial part of the city but taking a cab is so cheap, that it does matter. I also felt very secure in the city,but of course i stayed at the hotel at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blad824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Maria A, Gerente at GHL Style Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting in name of all the staff of the Ghl Comfort San Diego Hotel.

We want to thanks for your dedicated time to him to do the survey of satisfaction.

Your evaluation and commentaries are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

We will hope to count again on your presence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ana María Azicri Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great value hotel
Nice and clean
Breakfast buffet included
Convenient location in across from Premium plaza mall

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theptytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaAG, Gerente at GHL Style Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting in name of all the staff of the Ghl Comfort San Diego Hotel.

We want to thanks for your dedicated time to him to do the survey of satisfaction.

Your evaluation and commentaries are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

We will hope to count again on your presence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ana María Azicri Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

The hotel was very good - excellent large room with 2 kingsize beds, large bathroom, very clean. The photos on the website dont do it justice; its much more pleasant.. The service in the bar/restaurant was excellent; the breakfast buffet was a little unusual to European tastes (beans and rice, chicken soup) but also scrambled egg, yoghurt, fruits , bread, croissants, ham and cheese. The only drawback is the lack of soundproofing which meant that the noise from neighbouring rooms and the street can be heard.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croatiabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Maria A, Gerente at GHL Style Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting in name of all the staff of the Ghl Comfort San Diego Hotel.

We want to thank for your dedicated time to him to do the survey of satisfaction.

Your evaluation and commentaries are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

We will hope to count again on your presence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ana María Azicri Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#6 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Florencia Plaza
Hotel Florencia Plaza
#19 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
1.5 mi away
Aparta Suite Torre Poblado
Aparta Suite Torre Poblado
#31 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHL Style Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Style Hotel San Diego

Property: GHL Style Hotel San Diego
Address: Calle 31 No. 43 - 90, Medellin, Colombia (Formerly GHL Comfort Hotel San Diego)
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GHL Style Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GHL Style Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing