We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential . . .”
Review of The Charlee Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Charlee Hotels
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Charlee hotel is beautiful and has a lot of potential, but unfortunately it comes up short in a few areas.

I'll begin with the good points. The room is beautiful with lots of space. The hotel is incredibly well located. The gym is well equipped and very large.

Now for the areas that could be improved. Both the roof top pool and the jacuzzi on the balcony contain freezing cold water. The jacuzzi has both a hot and cold tap, though the hot water tap doesn't actually have access to any water.

The staff at the entrance of the gym is really rude and their is no AC in the gym.

While the breakfasts were good, the staff is really slow. One morning, we had to ask for our coffee 3 times before finally being served coffee at the end of our meal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Gabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

On behalf of The Charlee Hotel staff, we want to give a very warm and sincere thank you for sharing your travel experience with everyone on TRIP ADVISOR.
We would like to apologize for the issue with the customer service all over the Hotel, is such a shame to hear that we couldn´t make your stay a "lifestyle experience". We invite you to come back to the Hotel and experience for yourself the corrections we´ve made to fix this type of issues. We even have new, helpful and very nice staff working with us.We are also working to consider your suggestions and to be able to have you back at a future occasion
Again thank you very much, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit to Medellin.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for The Charlee Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

The rooms and location are great but the service leaves much to be desired. The staff does not speak English and the hotel does not have any way to assist you with most things you would expect from an 250+ a night hotel such as a bell man and a concierge. This hotel is a great place to party. You can hear music from the street until 4 am. This hotel would be great if the service improved. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandonfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

On behalf of The Charlee Hotel staff, we want to give a very warm and sincere thank you for sharing your travel experience with everyone on TRIP ADVISOR.
We would like to apologize for the issue with the customer service all over the Hotel, is such a shame to hear that we couldn´t make your stay a "lifestyle experience". We invite you to come back to the Hotel and experience for yourself the corrections we´ve made to fix this type of issues. We even have new, helpful and very nice staff working with us.We are also working to consider your suggestions and to be able to have you back at a future occasion
Again thank you very much, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit to Medellin.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

But very nice hotel, nice service, although I was quite disappointed with the breakfast. For such a 5star hotel, the eggs were not good cooked. Coffee had not a good taste. But the rooms are very comfortable. the jacuzzi in the terrace makes you feel very nice with a beautifull view of Medellin. Worth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank yoy for your observations and comments, we sorry for the bad experience that you had in the city, he hope have the chance to have you again in the city and give you the service that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Have had a great experience at the Charlee.
Very helpfull staff.
Room was great and the bed and shower supurb.
The restaurant is very good at night Italian kitchen.
Breakfast was a bit basic but you could order anything wat was made fresh from the kitchen. Like omelette or pancakes.
The best rooftop bar with a small pool.
And a must is the ULTRA gym based on 2 floors.
This is the the best and most completed gym i have ever seen with a lot of classes and great staff.
The best view from a gym as this is situated underneath the topfloor.

I will definately will be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoelofStijnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

On behalf of The Charlee Hotel staff, we want to give a very warm and sincere thank you for sharing your travel experience with everyone on TRIP ADVISOR. It is a great pleasure to share with all the staff the achievements of our efforts in such positive comments like yours.

Again thank you very much, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit to Medellin.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Everybody and everything was s very good expierience! A complete submersion into Colombians culture! Very well located and the decor of every ambiance beautiful, even elevators. The rooms with beautiful terraces, the bar outlooking at the Park and will check the Penthouse for Gym and Disco

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Astrid K,

Thanks a lot for your comments. For all the Charlee Staff was a pleausure have you here with us. We hope you come back again soon and enjoy all the ENVY service in our roof top. We are your that you can live the Charlee Lifestyle Hotel when you come back.
We are so glad to read directly from you that your stay here was a nice moment in the city.

Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at The Charlee last year (June 2012) and it was an excellent experience. The price is totally worth the place. Rooms are nice, service is outstanding. I hear in other comments above some "only English" speakers (I speak both Spanish and English) complain about not getting a good service. That´s weird because i heard the reception and restaurant staff speaking good English to other tourists. The best is: The envy roof top bar. A pool - bar at the last floor. 2 days a week they have parties. We went to one of them and we had a good time. If you stay on a weekend remember that the hotel is at Parque Llera, one of the hottest party places in Medellin. I counted at least 30 bars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Good Morning, Ricardo H

Greetings from The Charlee Hotel, mainly thanks for taking the time to write this constructive review and share it with the TripAdvisor community.
It is really gratifying to realize through your opinion that we have the necessary elements to make our visitors' stay unique and lifestyle. Thanks again for staying with us.
In the same way we will count your comments as points to improve

Regards

Juan Carlos Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Unfortunately, my 4 nights in the premier suite turned to 2 and an early check-out. The main problems:
1. Appalling level of service on check-in - I felt as though I was an imposition.
2. Non-inclusive atmosphere throughout the hotel for non-Spanish speakers. My spanish speaking friend (Colombian) received outstanding service.
3. Phone calls to the front office were left unanswered.
4. Basic breakfast.
5. Significantly over-priced compared to other 5 star hotels I've stayed in.
6. Noise - both external and internal to the hotel. The visitors next door were appallingly noisy as was the endless music outside.
The jacuzzi and view over Medellin were fantastic as was Kristian's relentless efforts to rectify my concerns and apologise for the negative experience. The upstairs pool was lavish with an outstanding view of Medellin but closed when we wanted to use it - it was late though! It's a shame that the service was so poor - Kristian's efforts were appreciated but I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Be prepared for non-inclusive service if you don't speak Spanish! Nothing is in place to assist...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Good morning dear wshane;
Mainly thank you for sharing your comments and your experience in this case not comfortable with all the tripadvisor community.
reading your message we understand that many things went not very well during your stay with us, and it is such a shame that you had to go through frustrating moments or that we could not fulfill your expectations. Actually we seek to improve aspects or circumstances that may impair our quality.
Therefore, we hope you can give us a chance to change this memorie in the near future.
BEST REGARDS
Juan Carlos Rodriguez C.
Gerente General The Charlee Medellín Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#6 of 110 in Medellin
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#47 of 110 in Medellin
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Park 10 Hotel
Park 10 Hotel
#19 of 110 in Medellin
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlee Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlee Hotels

Address: Calle 9a 37 16, Medellin 050021, Colombia (Formerly The Charlee)
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: £132 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charlee Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the classic hotel concept, The Charlee seeks to recreate the lifestyle of its guests and visitors, offering a high standard in each of its services, flooded areas of design and a staff that strives to make you feel unique. At The Charlee, art is the protagonist of all spaces. Works by local artists exhibited in the rooms and public spaces, photographs, paintings and sculptures that integrate with the original design and modern atmosphere of the hotel, are part of this sexy and elegant proposal. We are different and have put our own style, which is why we offer a service that goes beyond the expectations of our guests, because we think beyond their needs. It is also why we have since 2015 a personalized concierge service 7 days a week at your disposal. Our visitors are usually young and adults with particular tastes in art, music, lifestyle, sports, entertainment, and culture. We are located in the middle of the most visited area of EL Poblado neighborhood (Parque Lleras) full of social and nightlife, bars, restaurants, boutiques, attractions and meeting. The Charlee Hotels. live. stay. be. unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charlee Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlee Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing