We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charlee Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charlee Hotels
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Friendly English speaking staff in a fun and cool hotel. Fantastic pool on roof. Saturday pool parties unbelievable. Great rooms designer suites with huge balconies. Perfect location for heading out for the bar scene

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    92
    42
    21
    34
See reviews for
25
110
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very trendy hotel in the Hot Spot part of town. Nice restaurant bar, with good breakfast, fabulous room with HUGE balcony in every room, like almost size of the room, which is fantastic considering how temperate the weather is, and with no bugs, i left the sliding door open. Great gym, pool is a "show" pool, not a "Swimming" pool. Only issue is the hotel is in a very loud part of town, and all room look out over the bars. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in the Charlee last weekend, 7th floor with Jaccuzi on the balcony. The room was outstanding, with great facilities, nice decor and a fantastic view. The spa is very big, and the furniture on the balcony is great. Room service was excellent, the bed very comfortable, and a large shower topped it off. The mini bar is very well stacked and although we had our own champas, when we asked for an ice bucket etc it arrived within minutes. The valet car service was also slick.
The negatives were: check-in literally takes forever. No idea why theyhave implemented such an intensive system but we were there for a long, long time. Breakfast is OK, nothing to rave about at all and the service was a little slow. Would be great to see a decent buffet in a Medellin hotel. The room can be noisy due to the activities in Park Lleras, cannot get around that really.

Security seemed good and you need to swipe your card in the elevator to stop at your floor. As stated before, the Envy bar is great and the gym is amazing.

Room Tip: If there on a night where the have a DJ a mid level room might be the way to go due to the DJ noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicks_medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I booked an Acqua Suite (with the jacuzzi on the balcony) for my wedding anniversary having had a drink on the incredible rooftop terrace the last time I was in Medellin.

I was initially very sad to see that our special trip coincided with the remodelling of said terrace. But the hotel management was so apologetic that they offered us a free night when the terrace opens to compensate for our disappointment. It really is an original hotel. It oozes style and class, with a funky three-floor gym to boot!

HIGHLY recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back to enjoy it in its entirety.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I arrived to Medellin this week and decided to stay at The Charlee based on online reviews. The hotel had a unique facade and lots of artwork. The room was adequate and the service very good. At the top of the hotel they have a pool and a bar/club called "Envy". I found it very enjoyable to grab a drink here and look out over the city. This place should be given a try when visiting this lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPeach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

A very good hotel if you are the fashion kind of traveller. Rooms are good, and pool on rooftop is great. Some models might be around... so check it out. Front desk does it's best but it s not a five star level. By the way iti is not a fove star hotel. More the trendy kind of "place to be". Check out for promo rates on Internet!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I travel often and have stayed in many high end hotels. My stay at Charlee was nearly flawless. At check-in I was greeted in a friendly manner and despite my lack of Spanish the front desk personel handled me in a graceful way, offering me drinks as well. Almost everyone at the front is fluent in English so can only praise them were others on here have had some criticism. I stayed in 501 which is envy suite with the hot tub. It's pretty much a regular room with a larger balcony and hot tub, but the tub works amazingly well and was worth it to me. Bed-comfortable, hot water always, great Internet connection in this room. The gym is insanely nice. Anyone who works out at all would dream of having a gym this well equipped and stylish. I've seen gyms like this only in giant Vegas hotels, and would still consider this nicer. The bar/pool on the roof is a cool place to hang in the evening. It is pricey but you are paying for atmosphere. I loved the Italian restaurant in the lobby. Friendly staff, some speaking English, and the steak there is amazing. Again expensive in comparison but I enjoyed it. I have to put one negative so you know this is a real review and that would be the noise at night. All the clubs and bars near it blast music till 4am. Earplugs a must! If you are a light sleeper without earplugs you will be unhappy. I slept with my ipod buds playing music everynight. Overall I give the hotel a high rating. I put a premium on staying In a safe place and this hotel is in a park which I felt safe at all hours walking around nearby. It is close to bars and restaurants and short cab rides to shopping and other places to go out. I liked riosur for clubbing best. there is a grocery right around the corner as well as a place to change money. Thanks again to the staff at the front and in the restaurant for making me feel welcome. You deserve praise. Will be back to stay again for certain

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#40 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#9 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Park 10 Hotel
Park 10 Hotel
#18 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlee Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlee Hotels

Property: The Charlee Hotels
Address: Calle 9a 37 16 | Parque Lleras, Medellin, Colombia (Formerly The Charlee)
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charlee Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the classic hotel concept, The Charlee seeks to recreate the lifestyle of its guests and visitors, offering a high standard in each of its services, flooded areas of design and a staff that strives to make you feel unique. At The Charlee, art is the protagonist of all spaces. Works by local artists exhibited in the rooms and public spaces, photographs, paintings and sculptures that integrate with the original design and modern atmosphere of the hotel, are part of this sexy and elegant proposal. We are different and have put our own style, which is why we offer a service that goes beyond the expectations of our guests, because we think beyond their needs. It is also why we have since 2015 a personalized concierge service 7 days a week at your disposal. Our visitors are usually young and adults with particular tastes in art, music, lifestyle, sports, entertainment, and culture. We are located in the middle of the most visited area of EL Poblado neighborhood (Parque Lleras) full of social and nightlife, bars, restaurants, boutiques, attractions and meeting. The Charlee Hotels. live. stay. be. unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charlee Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlee Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing