We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, especially for motorcyclists!”
Review of Arcadia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arcadia Hostel
Ranked #28 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I'd like to give a special thanks to Arcadia Hostel in Medellín. If you are riding a moto and looking for a moto-friendly spot, it's a great place to stay because:

--I had moto parts and electronic stuff sent there before I arrived, three packages in all, and they held on to my items diligently.
--They have a large garage you can use to work on your bike.
--They are situated within walking distance of a number of moto stores, including Triumph, Kawasaki, and KTM, and the stores nearby seem to specialize in adventure accessories.

Also, the owner of the enterprise, Spyros, is passionate about his business and works hard to make you comfortable. When they were all out of fans and I wanted one in my room, he purchased one for us to use within an hour. And one of the receptionists helped us with a tax issue for an hour, really going above and beyond in service for us.

And most importantly, try the brownies =)

Their website is:
https://sites.google.com/a/arcadiahostel.net/opcion1/

And the mailing address to put on your precious international packages is:

Arcadia Hostel
CALLE 11a No 31a - 188
Poblado, Medellín, Antioquia
COLOMBIA

Buen suerte!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Arcadia. The hostel has a nice mix of relaxation and entertainment. Most days are quiet, but there was also a costume party hosted the week before Halloween. The party was a good mix of hostel guests and locals. The staff are all very helpful and speak at least two languages. They arrange for tours, provide information about all the activities you may be interested in, call taxis, order delivery and make sure your room is clean. In the mornings they provide for free pancakes and coffee throughout the day. If you need your laundry washed, for a small fee the cleaning lady or one of the other staff will have it ready in a few hours. The owner spends a lot of time at the hostel and on Sundays cooks a Greek style BBQ for the guests. Parque Lleras is only a 5 minute walk which is far enough to keep the hostel quiet at night, but close enough to the action for when you are in the mood to experience Medellin nightlife. For days you may just want to relax in the hostel there is a large screen television, hammock, outdoor patio, two computers and a stocked bar with cervezas for $1.10 (2000 COP). My one suggestion is syrup for the pancakes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_Feenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September with my girlfriend in a private with shared bathroom.

Price was fine for a Colombian city, 50k for our room which was small but had a big window opening onto the communal area, 2 large single beds with hard mattresses (more comfortable than it sounds) pushed together. The pillows and mattresses are covered in plastic protectors - I took it off my pillow for added comfort, and didn´t vomit all over it or anything so no harm done. The shared bathroom was good quality, tiled, with hot water shower that had good pressure. You need to walk through a dorm to get to it though, which could potentially be a bit awkward if it was full or people sleeping - it either had 1 person in it or was empty for the duration of our stay so it was fine.

There is a nice airy common area inside with sofas, a TV, clothes exchange, some games etc, which leads onto a nice outside area with a big table, hammock and some seats where there is a spot for sunbathing. 2 computers with Windows 7 that are free to use.

When we were here, the owner Spyros was in Cali, but Jorge the staff member left in charge was great, always happy to get us beers, crisps, sort out a Pablo Escobar tour, just a nice guy really and attentive to needs.

There´s a well stocked kitchen where you can make pancakes ad nauseam with some mix they make here. Pretty good deal as you can skip out the expensive cafe sandwich thing just by having a pancake before you go out.

Not really any negatives,but they play (good) music all the time at varying volumes, usually very low at night, but on our last night the girl at the desk played it quite loud and it woke my girlfriend up at 2am.

Overall a good choice, check it out

Room Tip: The downstairs private has its bathroom access through a dorm - avoid if you will find this weird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent 3 nights there for the feria de las flores de Medellin in August 2012. We really appreciated the kindness and availability of all the staff, we were also very close from Parque Lleras where Medellin nightlife is at its best !!
In a nutshell a very pleasant stay !!
VERY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hostel is in a quiet street about 10 minutes walk from the zona rosa de Medellin, so in an ideal location if you want to enjoy it but still sleep at night. The hostel is extremely hard to find when you arrived and I walked for about 45 minutes to finally find it, so either get a taxi or follow these instructions: walk along calle 10 (the main street connecting the zona rosa) uphill until you find carrera 35, turn left and walk for about 300 meters until you get to an intersections where the road ends up into 4 roads going uphill diagonally in 4 different directions. Take the a right (not the one sharp right, the next one roughly 90 degrees to the right) and walk for about 10 meters, you will find the Arcadia on the left (the calle is 11A, although there is no real logic to why it is 11A).

The athmosphere of the hostel is bvery chilled and relaxed and the owner is very helpful and can explain to you what to do in the city or organise tours for you (like the Escobar tour).
The big downside to the hostel is that the dorms are really big (8 to 10), expensive but most of all really crammed with absolutely no space to put your bag (although there are large lockers). They put a small couch in my dorm which uses even more space for no real reason leaving barely any space to walk.
They also advertise free pancakes which really means that there is pancake mix (the one you buy in a supermarket) available for you to cook a pancake...not the idea I had when I arrived.

The common area is nice with a large terrace, couches and a flat screen TV with cable.
Overall if you want a party hostel but not too crazy and in a quiet street but convenient for the Zona Rosa and don`t mind living in a claustrophobically crammed dorm, this is the place for you. If like me you need some vital space to move around and prefer smaller dorms then don`t go here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Excellent place to stay in Medellin, close to the action in Poblado, but far enough away to sleep quietly without the noise. Walkable to the metro and in a safe area to walk back to at night. Lovely Greek owner and staff who always make you feel at home. Great communal areas including a nice outdoor terrace. Great choice in Medellin, with free pancakes and fresh coffee too, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0llyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Arcadia Hostel is located in the upmarket Poblado district of Medellin, Colombia. It`s a short five minute walk from the lively “Zona Rosa” area of modern bars and restaurants, but its proximity belies its peace and tranquility.
Situated on a quiet, leafy road, it has a pleasant homely atmosphere enhanced by the spacious terrace area and the sound of running water from the nearby stream.
The friendly Greek owner, Spyros, is extremely helpful and informative and does all he can to make you feel at home. This is not a party hostel, but if it`s nightlife you want he will know where to go and often accompanies you should you like. Every sunday he holds a Greek style BBQ for the guests which is very tasty.
The hostel has all the necessary facilities and boasts an interesting variety of rooms ranging from dorms with bathrooms and nice wide bunks to private rooms and even a suite with a sunken bath ! Everything is clean and modern including a well equipped kitchen.
I would highly recommend this “oasis” of tranquility to relax from the stresses of travel and enjoy this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Chillin District Hostel
Chillin District Hostel
#35 of 239 in Medellin
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 239 in Medellin
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geo Hostel
Geo Hostel
#16 of 239 in Medellin
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Purple Monkey Hostel
Purple Monkey Hostel
#21 of 239 in Medellin
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galeria Hostel
Galeria Hostel
#36 of 239 in Medellin
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caminante Hostel
Caminante Hostel
#13 of 239 in Medellin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hostel

Address: Calle 10a 11a No. 31A-188 | Poblado, 5 min walk from zona rosa, parque Lleras, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: £11 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia hostel is a new hostel in Medellin Colombia the city of eternal spring located just 5min walk of the most exclusive and safe area of Medellin parque Lleras Poblado! The idea is to have really good times in a very nice relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arcadia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing