We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, terrible gym”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel bh El Poblado
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice hotel, terrible gym”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in great location. Close to good restaurants in a safe neighborhood. Great value. Large and clean rooms. However, impossible to use the gym. Always incredible hot! I made the reservation based on that and was very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerPirozelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioAlClienteBH, Public Relations Manager at Hotel bh El Poblado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest:

We greatly appreciate your comments, we have done several changes in our excercise room in order to have fun and confort for our clients.
Sorry for the inconvenience you had, nevertheless we hope to have your promptly visit again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    63
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
29
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at bh el poblado for 4 nights in March 2014, liked it from the moment i arrived.......Although most of the staff do not speak english it gave me a great opportunity to do what i came for to practice my spanish .... Hector the bell boy was outstanding he even took me to the local empanada shop to try Colombian style food.

The breakfast area on the 11th floor was really good , plenty to choose ,and after i would sit on the roof garden area with my hot chocolate and write up my journal.
The room was bright ,facing Sante Fe Mall with a nice desk area , the bed was the best on my 9 day trip ....high end sheets ... all in all for me an excellent choice .

Room Tip: rooms facing Santa Fe mall Have a great view of the mountains ( room 914 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank panchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioAlClienteBH, Public Relations Manager at Hotel bh El Poblado, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest
We are grateful for your comments and pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at our Hotel BH El Poblado, while experiencing our greatest features such as our location, staff service, comfortable rooms and delightful breakfasts.
It is always in our best interest to provide our guests with a pleasant stay.
Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This is a Best Western/Comfort Inn type hotel in Medellin. Noisy from the street noise and poor insulation so rooms are noisy as well. Someone watched TV the whole night in the room next door.....
Restaurant on 11th floor breakfast buffet is basic, when windows are open and TV on bring your headphones! There have to be better option in the beautiful city of Medellin

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Room is large, but air conditioning is noisy when you're trying to get some sleep. Breakfast is really good, however do not expect lunch / dinner services - you need to order from some restaurant nearby.
Location is excellent, just around the corner of Santa Fe Mall.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tati4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogota
Level Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at bh El Poblado for 5 nights. Hotel is very nice, modern, rooms are spacious with good equipment inside. But service is bad. Every day during our stay ww had problems. Firts was with room service: 50 min to deliver two lasagnas both of them we returned for bad cooking. Then, we had to wait 20 min until breakfast opened. They suposed to open at 7 and finally did at 7:20 (we're in a rush). Seems to be hotel is not prepared to work all days, last night we called to room service at 7:45pm and big surprise, it was closed. No options to eat!! They only gave us one option to order to a closer pizzeria (they only had one menu for all hotel, so you have to wait to see menu), finally we received oir pizzas... they were cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzonjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioAlClienteBH, RRPP at Hotel bh El Poblado, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Google Translation
Estimados huéspedes: Hemos tomado atenta nota de sus quejas con respecto al servicio de alimentos y bebidas en el Hotel. Después de revisar la trazabilidad, hemos realizado los ajustes pertinentes para que no vuelva ocurrir. Agradecemos sus comentarios, fundamentales para una mejora continua.
Esperamos nos den la oportunidad de atenderlos próximamente y puedan experimentar nuestros cambios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have stayed here twice on business. I'm usually a Marriott or Hilton fan, but I was told to stay here while in town. Overall, I feel that you get a good clean hotel along with good value for the money you spend. I've stayed in much worse places that cost me a lot more than the bh did.

The staff of the hotel is very friendly, eager to help, and while not all of them speak English (they will try though), they are more than willing to help you if you need anything in particular. I always felt safe staying here, and the hotel is in one of the better parts of town. Breakfast is served on the 11th floor and has a good selection of everything you could probably want.

The beds are, to me, typical European (meaning very firm). Having said that, the room was always clean and comfortable. As others have said, if you are sensitive to noise try and get a room that is not facing the expressway.

Recommended and I would stay here again. Huge shopping mall right across the street, Hard Rock Cafe is very close as well.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the expressway if sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brown_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the BH for 2 nights as we entered Medellin. The first impression was quality, service, and luxury. We were greated with english speaking staff and were offered juice upon our arrival. The room was large, modern, clean, and sophisticated. Normally we stay in hostels or B&B's and this was a great change of pace for us. There is a great large shopping mall across the street with a movie theatre. Just a bit further down the road were many options for more shopping and dining. The touristy / restaurant / bar area was within a few minutes by taxi. The hotel offers a breakfast on the 11th floor I beleive with excellent views of Medellin.

Any questions about my experience, feel free to reply:)

Room Tip: we stayed on the 8th floor I beleive which was the floor which had the small fitness centerl. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gojrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#6 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
1.2 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel bh El Poblado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bh El Poblado

Property: Hotel bh El Poblado
Address: Cra 43 No. 9 Sur 35, Medellin, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel bh El Poblado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel bh El Poblado Located in the best area of Medellín, on the Avenida El Poblado, in the La Milla de Oro sector. In front of the Santafe and Oviedo shopping malls.When you visit Medellín on a business trip, bh El Poblado is the hotel you should have as your first priority, as we are experts on business hotels. Its design is original, balanced with the prevalence of vibrant colors that emphasize the tastefulness of its interiors. Light is an integral part of the decoration and modernism harmonizes perfectly with the comfort of its rooms. This, together with its personalized service and its great location, result in the ideal place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel bh El Poblado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing